Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars102
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2000
This, deftone's third album is probably their best to date. The album blends the extreme hardcore (elite) with the beautiful and gentle (teenager). The power and emotion in some of the songs on this record is incredible. The best song is the single 'change (in the house of flies)', which is a very intense song with a infectious chorus. Other highlights on the album include knife Prty, Passenger (featuring a killer guitar riff and vocal duet between Chino and Maynard James Keenen), Pink Maggit, Korea and digital bath. The last three songs in particular are pure class. White pony marks a natural progression in the Deftones sound. It is more rounded than 'adrenaline' or even the excellent 'around the fur'. Virtually every song is excellent on this record. Treat yourself!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
The album starts with the newly added Back To School, which is just one of the best songs I have ever had the plasure of listening to. Feiticeria, is an oddly written song, in the way tere is no apparent chorus and verse structure, but it sounds great. Digital Bath, RX Queen, Knife Party, Change and Pink Maggit are all not typical of the Deftones, but are again songs which you will want to listen to again and again. Elite, Street Carp, Korea and Passenger are more of their usual blend of metallic riffs and heavy drumming, which have made the Deftones popular in the past. With Chino, Stef, Chi, Abe and Frank writing new songs with a different approach, they are getting better and better. A softer album by their standards, but by far their best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2006
As clichéd as this sounds, here's an album that changed my outlook on music. Not in the asteroid-smashing-against-earth way, but in a slowburning, creeping manner. I never subscribed to 'nu-metal', with the Korn's, Stain'd, Limp Bizkit's and Incubii, etc, but I did love Faith No More's music, and in Deftones the ideology and execution actually marry perfectly, while still having their own identity. Plus Chino Moreno can actually sing.

This album is their definitive. While the new one (SNW) is 5-star quality and more catchy, it's still nowhere near the scope present here. This album feels like a concept, plays like a greatest hits, and treads the fine line between heavy and melodic throughout, as opposed to purely heavy or purely melodic tracks.

For newcomers, don't start here! Leave this and SNW 'til last, or work it chronologically - they do evolve quite naturally...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2001
White pony sees Deftones guiding the dying horse that was metal into a new arena of limit pushing emotions. Each song tempts and seduces the emotions from the tender acoustic heartbreaker that is Teenager, to the rip roaring grindcore of Elite, to the 7 minute song of the new millenium that is pink maggit which starts with genlte melodic notes and transforms into a chord crushing pogo wonderous pop chorus to end with a baby's heart beat, in a word breath taking. When you first listen to th CD sit in a dark room with your head ohones plugged in and close your eyes and be ready to take an emotional ride on the White Pony
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2000
Some people might complain tht this album is not "heavy" enough. They obvioulsy haven't listend to it much. This album is just so good because it's varied. Since they blew us away with their last 2 albums they have refined their sound. Not only does this album include there most mellow songs, it also has their most heavy. Elite will blow you away and you'll keep coming back for more. Chino use his voice as an instrument which compliments Carpenter's excellent guitaring. A lot of effort has been put into this album and it shows.Expect all your friends to want to borrow this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2000
Since Deftones released their debut album in 1995 they quite frankly blew me away. The harsh riffs and melodic vocals combined to make an outstanding platform in musical evolution. So as soon as the second album was released I snapped it up, it was probably the best CD i had ever purchased. Although still heavy, it also showed that deftones had progressed so as not to fall into the recesses of metal stereotyping. Before White Pony was released though,i did download some pre-release clips and was not greatly impressed so i did not initially buy the CD. But a friend lent me the Ltd Edition Black version and recommended that I listen again. My initial thoughts were the same, until I heard 'Passenger' featuring Maynard James Keenan of Tool Fame. This track is one of the most intelligent and inspiring pieces of songwriting to vibrate my eardrums. After that White Pony shot to the top of my personal hierachy, each track having it's own unique vibe, from sending shivers down my spine with 'Teenager' to a spine shattering 'Elite'. This album is full of passion and energy and deserves higher recognition than it is given, I gave it full recogniton and that is why i bought the double vinyl set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2001
I got bought this album, and initially really did not like it much, apart from the single. I put it away for a month and listened to it again and suddenly thought WOW!! The music and lyrics are very well put together and the sounds the band produces are truly brilliant. If you buy it don't like it straight away, don't send it back, leave it and play it later. You won't regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2000
Not even the amount of stars in the sky would do this album justice, it is truly fantastic. This was one of the most anticipated albums of the year, and when it came, it delivered to all of our (well mine anyway) expectations, chilled out guitar melodies from Stephen Carpenter wrapped up in the warmth of the emotional blanket that is Chino Moreno's voice, yet even with the chilled out melodies there is still bucket loads of distortion that just pins you to a seat and makes you listen, and then on occation you are hit with trouser wetting riffs like elite. This band has evolved from the angry begginigs of songs like 7 words (from the album adreniline), the have become a much more complete band, and this album is a testiment to that fact. I'm not going to say 'If you like the other two albumbs you'll love this' because it is completely different. I'm just going to say, you'll love this album, it's brilliant. Buy it.
(p.s the game on the limited edition cd is cool)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2002
to all those limp-loving, linkin-adorers, do NOT buy this record, but to all those who need good music in their lives, then buy it. This is the deftones finest album, though not as heavy. The reason that it is their finest is beacuse they have produced amazing songs with amazing lyrics. I know every girl (and guy) needs their thrash tunes, but as Chino (my man) said, "this is an album for all moods, we rock heavy, we rock lightly. This is something which you can fall asleep to, which we haven't seemed to have had since Janes Addiction". As well as rocking live, this album captures that energy and Chinos voice is more beautiful than ever. Lets give a big round of applause to deftones, for they have made a truely great thing. From passenger, with its great chorus, to the sleepy melody of teenager it rules. This album pretty much changed my life, i love it and live by it. Listen to Change (the greatest song in the world) and you will know what i mean.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2000
The Deftones sound has matured since their previous album, Around The Fur. This is real music, the liquidity of Knife Party, and the beautiful riff in the middle of Korea being the best part in this silver masterpiece. The new mini maggit(back to school) is also worth buying as it is an improvement on the album version. BUY THIS ALBUM. Complete with neat multimedia consisting of a deftones version of pacman in which you are a white pony galloping around a maze to collect musical notes, pursued by band members heads. Also you can find lyrics in mixed up scrawls and clever effects, also some interesting pictures of the band. So after you have played this CD through a few times on your Hi-Fi and started to love it, shove it in your CD Rom. You'll soon be addicted to our dear Deftones...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)