Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Masterpiece, 18 Nov 2006
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
Yes, finally the classic soundtrack gets the treatment it deserves. The original was re-recorded and adapted, but nowhere near as entertaining. This version is much more enjoyable. It plays from beginning to end in order. Lots of unreleased tracks including the piano led Father and Son and The Empty Raft which was left off the original LP, is one of the highlights of this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have the complete soundtrack at last, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Bobby Martini "Bobby Martini" (The Great British Countryside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
Its wonderful to hear John Williams score in full at long last.

This also includes a really nice booklet with some great pics and info.

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAWS: 25th Anniversary edition, 14 Aug 2011
By 
E. Williamson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
Some years ago i obtained a recording of the original soundtrack which came out not long after the film was first released in cinemas, it was very disappointing as i found that it was not the original score but a lacklustre re-recording with lots of the best sections of the score missing. This is the REAL soundtrack as originally composed, it contains all the music from the film including segments that didn't quite make it. My favourite tracks are The Great Shark Chase and Father and Son. Also contains a booklet with some great photography and interesting insights from Williams and Spielberg. It is also very cheap so i would get a copy asap, soundtracks seem to have a habit of fluctuating greatly in price. Excellent, a work of pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
I still love the music from the original soundtrack and it hasn't diminished over the many years since the film was first released. Those few chords still send a shiver down one's spine, especially if near the sea at the time. A very clever piece of musical score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for Father and Son alone, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
Jaws is brilliant and part of its brilliance is John Williams' score (as is the case for so many Spielberg films). Although attention tends to focus on the notorious "Jaws Theme", for me my favourite tracks are "Promenade (Tourists on the Menu)" (called "Montage" on this CD and not as long as Promenade), the lilting harp/piano finale of "Hand to Hand Combat" (the last 40 seconds of Blown to Bits) and the End Titles as the heroes swim to shore. However, one glaring omission from the original soundtrack was the missing theme from scene between Brody and his youngest son. The good news is that it is now available on this collection.

it is a shame that "Montage" cuts short the previous version of "Promenade", so I will keep the original version, but this is an excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly first class, 1 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
"Jaws" along with "Star wars" surely must be John Williams crowning glory. Williams can do no wrong in my opinion outclassing virtually all opposition over the years and there have been many fine glorious composers to rival Williams like John Barry, Jerry Goldsmith, Lalo Schfrin, James Horner to name a but few but Williams talent for melody and hooks in virtually every score he does is unparalleled.

The "Jaws" soundtrack is a masterpiece of film composition from start to finish, Williams transcends delicate subtle pieces to brash danger cues in the same track with effortless ease whilst completely enveloping you in it's sheer brilliance. One of Jaws early test screenings was missing John Williams music from it and when the studio head left the theatre he was asked what he thought of the movie? He answered that it was "just ok".... Jaws producer David Brown commented sometime later that of course it was "Just ok" it was missing Williams score! That is the power a great score can bring to a movie and this one is easily in the top 5 soundtracks of all time in my opinion.

At last the Jaws soundtrack has been remastered and extended,so you now get the complete score in it's entirety!. The original release was missing some great cues like the "Father and Son" one from the scene where Brody( Roy Scheider) plays with his son at the dinner table so this is all very welcome indeed.

I can't praise this enough. I think both the "Star Wars" and "JAWS" are masterpieces in film scoring so do yourself a very large favour and get this asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you'll ever need, 21 Sep 2010
By 
ymo1965 (Peterborough, Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
If your looking to purchase the jaws soundtrack then the anniversary release is definitely the version to go for. There has been other versions released over the years, but this is the one you'll be needing. I can't stop playing it and it still manages to send those shivers down your spine, even after all these years. Powerful and simply a work of genius. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars glorious, 28 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
How lovely it is to hear the complete score to this great movie presented in this way. unlike most soundtracks this CD has the feeling of a symphony about it. Indeed in his notes Laurent Bouzereau says that Williams wanted this cd to be experienced almost as a suite. What you get is all the music, well cued and edited, flowing together in practically one glorious whole. And if you don't know Jaws certainly isn't all dum dum dum dum... there are some wonderful tunes here, my favorites being the sweeping 'the great shark chase' and the haunting 'Quint's tale'. Remastered from original master tapes this is for anyone who dreams of owning a bigger boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Williams' best = THE best ever, 8 Sep 2007
By 
Imarsay "elec ian" (scarborough.n.yorkshire.england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
The most flawless, compelling, emotional and entertaining soundtrack ever devised. Period. John Williams shows he is the greatest composer in the world with this soundtrack. 5 stars is not enough!

Buy it if you love John Williams or Jaws. They don't make em like this anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic soundtrack created by the best film composer ever!, 24 Oct 2001
By 
Morten J. Solberg "Morten Solberg" (Haugesund Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
John Towner Williams!
It was after Williams did Jaws that he really got famous when in the movie scoring buisness. Before Jaws, he had been composing music for TV shows and news broadcasts, but that was not to last long. ;)
Williams' score for Jaws is truly fantastic. It's hard to explain how good it is, but in my opinion, it gives Superman: The Movie and Star Wars some hard competition! The tracks are filled with great action, drama, happy and sad music. The music that plays when Quint, Brody and Hooper are following the shark at sea, using barrels to hold him up, is my, and hopefully many others favorite musical moment in Jaws.
The Main Theme is also a very classic piece of music. If you ask a friend or just some stranger which film this music is from, and you go like this: dum dum dum dum dum dum dum dum dum di dum dum dum di dum dum, I'm almost positive he's gonna say Jaws. The music for the main theme has been used in many other horror creature films. Mostly shark movies, though. It fits perfectly into the film. Spielberg thought Williams was joking when he played the main theme for him, but he kinda got used to it after a while. I'm glad he did and so are many others!
Jaws is a brilliant soundtrack filled with music that will keep you entertained for hours. Go buy this soundtrack now and discover what a great movie composer John Williams is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4f031c8)

This product

Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition
Jaws: The 25th Anniversary Edition by John Williams (Composer) (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews