Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the greatest game in the world!
You need the original Metal Gear Solid to play this game, so if you dont have it, buy that first, because that is the main game. There is no additional story in Special Missions, only VR missions.
Sound and graphics are similar to the original, and the music are remixed versions of the 2 first (quite unknown) Metal Gear games. The only bad thing about the original...
Published on 7 Mar 2004 by Snake

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't work! is Sony working on it thou?
It doesn't mean I didn't play the game. When this was first released on the original Playstation, my friend invited me around to this place and I able to play this game. The popular training mission found in the first game are heavyly expanded upon and offer a more wider challenge with a bit more depth. It was fun because it allowed for alot more movement considering that...
Published 7 months ago by Londoner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the greatest game in the world!, 7 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
You need the original Metal Gear Solid to play this game, so if you dont have it, buy that first, because that is the main game. There is no additional story in Special Missions, only VR missions.
Sound and graphics are similar to the original, and the music are remixed versions of the 2 first (quite unknown) Metal Gear games. The only bad thing about the original game is that it is to short. When you finish it you only want more, then this game is what you need.
Lots of crazy missions here, some examples are: BIG soldliers, "bowling" with enemies, find the murderer, play as Grey Fox!, photo mode with Naomi and Mei Ling.... and so on.
You might get frustrated some times when you have problems with a level, but it feels even better when you manage to complete it.
If you didn't like the original, you won't like this either(as if its possible to not like the original). The replay value is somewhat less than in the original, unless you are very interresting in getting the best times ever on all the levels(300 levels).
So, if you are like me, and can feel truely alive only on the battlefield. You need this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Impressive snake...", 7 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
Metal gear solid..... undoutably the GREATEST game every produced for the sony playstation. it had flare, it had style, it had guns, guns and more guns. not to mention metal gear itself. this "sequal" if you like is simply hundreds of VR training missions packed onto a disk, and it doesn't stop there, oh no, it goes on, hands up who always wished they could play as the ninja in the original? well now you can, along with many other characters. you can perfect all your skills in this and then go on to absolutely thrash the game (again) without taking a single hit. it is just as fun as the real thing (but withoit the plot) and i highly reccomend it to all thoser solid snake fans out there. happy gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more thrills than you could hope for., 6 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
A great add on for a great game.you take the role of the famous solid snake as you go through 300 vr missions it has all the guns from the first plus for the first time you even get to control the ninja.The fisrt was a classic the second is a master piece.Well adviced to bye for many reasons you wont be dissopointed i garante it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't work! is Sony working on it thou?, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
It doesn't mean I didn't play the game. When this was first released on the original Playstation, my friend invited me around to this place and I able to play this game. The popular training mission found in the first game are heavyly expanded upon and offer a more wider challenge with a bit more depth. It was fun because it allowed for alot more movement considering that Metal Gear Solid had a lot of potentials but the games short story somewhat limited what the player did despite offering a lot to do, so Special missions is there to expand upon offering what players can do using the same tools of the trade in the game.

MGS: Special Missions is a mission pack of Metal Gear Solid, It doesn't work because you will need the original Metal Gear Solid disc to run this disc and this and the Playstation 2 and 3 doesn't allow anyone to run these games despite the game disc telling you to change the disc after swapping it.

The disc print are very nice. They match the original Metal Disc solid game and even label this disc number 0.3 in an attempt to match the original disc game of the series, giving me another good reason why this game should run.

I'm even more annoyed that currently the Playstation Network sells this game for 15 pounds via digital considering something like Grand Theft Auto London works on their Playstation 3s using the same method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ......................................................, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
One of the greatest games ever made: Metal Gear Solid. And there's an 'expansion pack' to it. You can't go wrong.

Those of you who are a bit too 21st century, I tell you now, buy the original game and the Special Missions then MGS 2, then MGS 3 then MGS 4. Play them all! You'll be surprised.

A game that has it's own genre. A true classic. Buy NOW! (literally, BUY IT NOW!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A*, 24 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
Simply had to buy as i remembered it from my child hood. This game brings back memories which make you feel excited and so happy inside you can't put the controller down. I used my PS2 slim to play this game as the PS3 wouldn't recognise the disc? I cannot put into words how amazing metal gear solid games are and to have this tops your collection off by not just a margin but by a mile! BUY BUY BUY amazing quality amazing game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to a Great Game, 14 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
As a follow up from the first Metal Gear Solid, I feel that this 'second edition' is an amazing way to gain a different prospective throught the use of different and extensive VR training levels. This includes different levels for different subjects, for example, Time Trial, SOCOM, Level 1.

I love the fact that there is such a vast amount of different levels to do which keeps you interested in the game, and in my opinion the old school graphics are still awesome!

It's a very fun game to play and if you enjoyed the first Metal Gear Solid, then purchase Special Missions as it has a great range of extensive levels and features to do/take part in.

Overall, an amazing game, amazing additional levels and features, a definate 'must have!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest & most remarkable slices of entertainment ever made., 12 Dec 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
I remember rushing out to buy this on its release, many many years ago - This along with Final Fantasy 7 on Playstation were the games that really pushed the idea of big budget gaming as a story telling and entertainment concept equal to movies (if not surpassing them!).

The story is fantastic while taking atmospheric hints from John Carpenter's 'Escape from New York' and other classic movies, Solid Snake is a 'Kurt Russel'like hero who is brought back on a mission by his superior officer (like in the second Rambo movie.). A new threat to world peace has emerged (The gigantic Metal Gear robot/thing!) and some terrorists are going to use it for their own evil purpose!

The game has great playabality involving stealth, combat and spying (and some romance)- a brilliant control system which has only been matched or improved by its sequels. It has you sneaking, crawling, climbing, fighting and shooting bad guys.

The graphics and storyline are amazing - and when I say interactive movie - this is probably the closest anything ever got to one at the time this was released -

If you haven't played this - then you owe it to yourself to get this at the price here its a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good follow up to MGS, 19 Feb 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
Enjoyed it- completed it in 5 days. You get 300+ VR missions, then get to play as the Ninja for 3 levels. They could have done more with it though, added a story mode for the Ninja, etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible with PS2, 25 July 2002
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS) (Video Game)
If you only possess a PS2, do NOT buy it since it won't load any of the MGS discs needed to play it: "ERROR : Wrong Disc".
On the other hand if you still have a PSOne, no problem, go ahead, refer to the previous reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid Special Missions (PS)
Used & New from: 3.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews