Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Throw the Strogg down the bog
STORY
You assume the role of a marine named Bitterman, taking part in ‘Operation Alien Overlord’, in a desperate attempt to protect Earth from an alien invasion. The marines launch a counter-attack on the home planet of the hostile Strogg civilisation. It falls upon Bitterman to penetrate the Strogg capital city alone and assassinate the Strogg leader,...
Published 3 months ago by A2Y

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Comparisons to the pc version for interested fans
I bought this because i was interested to see how it was different from the pc version so here it is

- Textures are blurrier

- Sound is lower quality and less varied

- Levels are all original but are smaller and shorter, lacking the ability to backtrack like the pc version

- Animations are faster and jerkier, and enemies have...
Published on 8 Mar 2009 by Lord K1tten


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Throw the Strogg down the bog, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Quake II (PS) (Video Game)
STORY
You assume the role of a marine named Bitterman, taking part in ‘Operation Alien Overlord’, in a desperate attempt to protect Earth from an alien invasion. The marines launch a counter-attack on the home planet of the hostile Strogg civilisation. It falls upon Bitterman to penetrate the Strogg capital city alone and assassinate the Strogg leader, Makron.

lt’s typical space marines fighting a hostile alien race; all very uninspired and serves as a faint backdrop to the game’s overall production values. There are no characters to remember, no jaw dropping plot lines or interesting story mechanics at work here.

GRAPHICS & SOUND
Environments aren’t too diverse; they will begin to look the same as the game goes on. Quake 2 does boast some solid level design and rarely forces any kind of corridor-shooter construct on you. Levels can be open with multiple routes to checkpoints, which is great for enemies to use alternate attack patterns. The weapons definitely take on a very high tech feel, the double shotgun; ray gun and hyper blaster have all been lovingly crafted. The sound effects hold up very well, the weapons sound meaty and it’s even more satisfying to hear the squish of flesh tearing when you blast apart some unfortunate alien. The soundtrack is sure to get the adrenaline pumping, a mixture of hard rock and thumping beats provide some much needed atmosphere to the game.

Some of the texturing can look a little washed out and certain character models have been simplified. However, these were necessary cuts to make in order to compensate for the PlayStation’s processing power. Loading time can be a bit of a pain too; having to wait 20-30 seconds will be a recurring theme.

GAMEPLAY
Quake 2 is all about running and gunning, keep moving forward to your next location and blast any aliens into tiny pieces along the way. Thanks to the excellent Dual Shock controller, the control scheme is very good and button input is responsive. There is mouse support, but why would you want to do that when you can just play the PC version instead. The objective is simple; keep killing the Strogg all the way until the end.

Thankfully there are plenty of weapons available, you’ll start off with a wimpy little blaster, but from there on you’ll pick up some very cool guns. The energy weapons are by far the most fun to use, the pulse cannon will fire energy bullets at an extremely high velocity, and the BFG will fire a large power ball, which will toast any enemy in its path. Armour, health and ammo are generously scattered about the levels. Enemy A.I. is pretty good; there are certain enemies who can use melee attacks if you decide to get too close to them.

Quake 2 fails to provide enough boss fights, the final encounter is actually pretty good, but it isn’t enough to truly let your weapons off their leash.

MULTIPLAYER
If you have a multi tap handy and three extra Dual Shocks available, then the multiplayer aspect Quake 2 will keep you going for quite some time. If you don‘t have the aforementioned items then an extra controller will provide great two-player action too. There are plenty of maps to choose from, some provide you with verticality and plenty of vantage points, where as others will confine you in tighter areas and ensure that the body count remains at a lightning pace. There are three modes in the game: Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch and Versus. Versus is a last-man-standing affair, where you and three friends get extremely trigger-happy until the last one standing remains.

OVERALL
Quake 2 is a very solid shooter and the transition from PC to consoles has been a worthwhile move. If you already have it on PC then there may not be any point getting it again. The story is space marine gibberish, visually it holds up extremely well and the gameplay will hook you instantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will leave you Quaking in your boots!, 3 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Quake II (N64) (Video Game)
A superb transfer from a P.C. game with terrible graphics to a gloryfied gore fest! While not having the best AI in the gaming world this does not matter as it does not focus on stealth, and instead, supplying bucketloads of blood and lots of guns! Multyplay is limited on it's arenas (unlike Goldeneye!)But if you are looking for an all out frag fest which contains exiting and tough combat then this is the game for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quake 2... you should have waited!, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Daniel J. Roebuck "Roadbloc HD" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake II (PS) (Video Game)
I love this game! I was addicted to it on my dad's PC. As soon as I heard it was on the PS... I bought it.
A bit like some Doom ports to different consoles, this game differs slightly in order and amount of levels. It even has some new levels, never seen on the PC version. The music, by Sonic Mayhem just totally reflects the mood of the game, it's a good play.

I just wish wish wish wish.... that ID games had waited for the PS2. The graphics are terrible compared to the amount you can get on pc, using the analogue sticks is very difficult, and the controls without them are confusing. Waiting for the PS2, this game would have been amazing, the graphics much better, the game as long as the PC version, if not longer and possibly even a multiplayer.

But seen as well I cannot change ID's decision, I'm grateful that ID saw a market in this. It's a good game, brings back memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Comparisons to the pc version for interested fans, 8 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake II (N64) (Video Game)
I bought this because i was interested to see how it was different from the pc version so here it is

- Textures are blurrier

- Sound is lower quality and less varied

- Levels are all original but are smaller and shorter, lacking the ability to backtrack like the pc version

- Animations are faster and jerkier, and enemies have fewer unique animations.

- Bodies and gibs dissapear within about 5 seconds.

- Weapons are basically the same other than grenades only firing from a launcher

- Special effects (such as explosions and blaster/railgun particles) are simplified.

- Controls are not as good, but acceptable for the controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quake, an old game but still with its magical flow, 4 July 2006
By 
Jonathan Kilgallon (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake II (N64) (Video Game)
wow, i havn't had such a sensation of gameplay since i played jomes bond golden eye!

The game features very good graphics, and still surprising even today, the gameplay although similar is just what some one needs to satisfy boredom. The enemys and some of the weapons are regenerated into quake 4, but it's great to see there original desighn!

The game is more complicated then doom 1-2, not only by its improved graphics, but it's small primary and secondary missions and objectives make it a fun game to play!

There are alsorts of physics like dynamic lighting, location damage on enemys and walls, and real impact that engages you more tham any other game made at that time.

It's fun and very satisfying...a real bargin for one of the worlds most famous vidoe games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake II (PS) (Video Game)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have a Quake ;), 14 Feb 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quake II (N64) (Video Game)
Great great game, really enjoyable! One of my all time favourite games. Started rebuilding my N64 collection so this game was essential for that! Purchased from Konsolenkost (my favourite N64 stockist)... arrived promptly & well packaged, so happy to have this game again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quake 2, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake II (PS) (Video Game)
quake 2,old school game that really gets me in the shoot em up mood,now playing on ps2,well worth tracking it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as id hoped, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake II (N64) (Video Game)
Without an expansion pack, its best avoided.

However, if you do have an expansion pack, its worth adding to your collection. Can get tedious in one player mode, multiplayer death matches are where this shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I had expected!, 8 Sep 2012
By 
John Roberts (Barnsley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quake II (PS) (Video Game)
To me shooters should stay as far away as humanly possible from the PS1. The controls are clunky, the graphical capabilities are shoddy, the sounds are terrible and the framerate is poor. But that isn't the case here.

Quake 2 made a rather positive and instant impression on me that I hadn't felt, even in the surprisingly refined Duke Nukem. It doesn't try to overcomplicate it's mechanics, nor does it pack in too many objectives and places to explore. It's simple shoot 'em up as we like it, with the odd room to route around in and the occassional enemy. While I'm not a huge fan of the control, and not being able to aim and move like one would a shooter on the PS2 or further generations, I still think it's great.

Plus, it's developed by the makers of DooM, iD, so you really can't go wrong.

Amazing game that I recommend to all the PS1 fans out there, especially if you loved DooM and Duke Nukem on the same console. Get under £20 if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quake II (N64)
Quake II (N64) by Activision (Nintendo 64)
Used & New from: £3.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews