Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and Multi-purpose!
Well what can you say about this? The official visual memory unit is used for storing your game saves, but during gameplay the screen can display useful information (ammo remaining, radar, stats of player etc.) which is very useful in some games. Some DC games allow you to download information to the VMU and play mini-games which can unlock secrets in the main game. So...
Published on 6 Jan 2002 by Mr. Daniel Glenfield

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wrong colour
it clearly states it comes in white and i received a blue memory unit instead? delivery was spot on, that's the only reason i gave it a two.
Published 16 months ago by Jamie Revill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dreamcast's Best Friend, 18 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
I brought two of these due to them being so cheap plus it gives more space to save games. The color however is different. It is blue and comes in a brand new box. I also brought this because I'm going to start collect Sega Dreamcast products.

Reasons to Buy:

+ Its Cheap
+ More Space on Dreamcast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Memory Card Around, 18 Nov 2001
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
This is a revolutionary designed memory card from sega that incorporates an lcd display.great for saving your games with the 200 blocks of space. the lcd display also displays logos and hints during games and can also play mini-games when your not on the dreamcast...amazing idea sega
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars USEFUL & LONG-LASTING!, 25 Sep 2009
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
These are excellent value if you still play your old DreamCast as I do!

These are neat, easy to use, have loads of functions, and are robust little things! It has a good LCD display that is big enough to read and very clear, and which surprisingly does not drain the batteries! They actually last ages! Every time I get my DreamCast out I expect them to need changing, but they never do!

These are now SO cheap, I bought some 'spare' ones, (that judging by my first will probably never need!) as they were simply too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best memory card out there, but..., 30 Jun 2007
By 
K. Bashford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
This is an awesomely intuitive memory card. The LCD screen, capable of displaying animations and even playing games while you are not on your Dreamcast is the best idea I've seen in years. The only problem I have with this, however, is that the capacity of the VMU is too small. Very often you will run out of room to save your games which is a shame. I would like to see an 8MB version of this or something like that, although I see it as highly unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Dec 2001
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
You can save up to 15 games on the vmu and the LCD screen enables you to see additional game info whilst playing. You can also download games onto it and use use it as a tiny handheld console! More still you can personalise it with your own icon on the LCD screen. On the downside the batteries run out pretty quick, one tip - **always unplug the controller from the dreamcast when you finish playing** - this will conserve battery life. Still, it's more fun than your average memory card - thumbs up from me ;-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VMU's 4 eva!!, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
VMU's rock!, they're easy to use, and when you play a game for instance GTA 2 it shows the weopon your using! also you can get hold of down loads so that you can play games on the VMU. However it dosen't really holod that much game play, so you'll be forever buyin new ones, I'm already on my third, and have only 8 games. Other then that a wicked little machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
As an old fogey Mum, all I know about this thing is that it's vital for game play on the Dreamcast, and that it works just dandy! That'll do for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading images, great product nevertheless, and the price was great too, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
Great original product. It says on the box that it's the NTSC version, but had no problem working with my PAL controllers.

Only problem: it's transparent blue. Nowhere in the description is this stated, and the product photo shows a white model. Not a big problem, but could have had the whole 5 stars if the true color was described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THe original and best, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
This VMU is the original one and it works best. You want nothing else for your Dreamcast! Buy with absolute confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars no dust cap, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
no dust cap which was advertised in the description.
not really a big deal but still should have been with the vmu if advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast)
Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) by Sega (Sega Dreamcast)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews