Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and Multi-purpose!
Well what can you say about this? The official visual memory unit is used for storing your game saves, but during gameplay the screen can display useful information (ammo remaining, radar, stats of player etc.) which is very useful in some games. Some DC games allow you to download information to the VMU and play mini-games which can unlock secrets in the main game. So...
Published on 6 Jan 2002 by Mr. Daniel Glenfield

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wrong colour
it clearly states it comes in white and i received a blue memory unit instead? delivery was spot on, that's the only reason i gave it a two.
Published 18 months ago by Jamie Revill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and Multi-purpose!, 6 Jan 2002
By 
Mr. Daniel Glenfield (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
Well what can you say about this? The official visual memory unit is used for storing your game saves, but during gameplay the screen can display useful information (ammo remaining, radar, stats of player etc.) which is very useful in some games. Some DC games allow you to download information to the VMU and play mini-games which can unlock secrets in the main game. So it's like having a mini-gameboy in that sense.
As for saving I for one have never come across any problems, such as corrupted data, with the official memory cards (and I have three!). Very reliable saving system.
If there's one gripe it's that the batteries wear down too quickly, but despair not - there is a trick to preserving their life. Keep the tiny plastic tag that is pulled out to start the VMU, and when not in use insert it again. This breaks the contact and keeps the batteries from draining!
To surmise, this is the best memory unit around and each DC owner should have at least one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More then just a memory card, 16 Dec 2000
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
Okay, where to start. First of all this is official, made by Sega which means its the highest quality Memory Unit money can buy.
But it does a lot more then just save game data! It has a small LCD screen which is used to show data from games such as ammo and life, in some titles, little games and virtual pets can be loaded on to it.
It can be used to download small files off the Internet, it can also be played with out the console being on, the top comes off as-well so it can be linked up with a friends VMU to swap save data and fight some one pokémon style. If you get a Dreamcast this is your first essential purchase.
~james
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best mem card on dreamcast, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
The vmu is a great little device functioning as both a memory card and a portable games unit as well as a hidden screen in your cotroller (for example in nba2k you can change tactics using the vmu screen without your opponent knowing). However two annoying features about the vmu are that the memory capacity is to small (128k) split into 200 blocks for example putting a mini-game in can take up around three quarters of the memory which dosen't leave much room for anything else. The other thing is that the batteries don't last long either. At least it won't corrupt data like mem cards made by other companys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love my VMU I do, I love my VMU, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
The one problem with the dreamcast is that unlike the wonderful Sega Saturn, the Dreamcast doesn't have it's own built in memory for saving games. Still niether did the PlayStation and looked what happened to that. This is where the Visual Memory Unit comes in. Costing just under 20 quid may get you thinking that it's a bit expensive but don't forget that when the PlayStation was released, the memory cards also cost £20.
Right now the important stuff. It comes with 200 blocks of memory but they're much smaller than the blocks on the PlayStation memory card. this means that where as on a Playstation Memory card, memory was wasted with games that perhaps took up 2 blocks actually took up just over 1 which meant memory was lost. This doesn't happen on the VMU. I suppose one gripe is that the games don't tell you on the back of the case how much space you need so you could have 38 blocks free but the game might take up 83 meaning you have to edit the contents on the card or buy a new one.
As for the mini-games? Well not many Dreamcst games utilise this feature which is unfortunate for both us and the battery companys. (VMU's eat up batteries like a sumo wrestler at a sushi eating contest - i.e. they last only about 3 - 4 months). Games of note that utilise this feature are Pwer Stone and Sonic Adventure among others. You can also download picturres and games to it on the internet (although quite how this works I don't know).
All in all the VMU is a funky little machine and is vital for all Dreamcast owners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wrong colour, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
it clearly states it comes in white and i received a blue memory unit instead? delivery was spot on, that's the only reason i gave it a two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's what I call a memory card, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
Another gimmick that persuades you of buying the DREAMCAST instead of PS2. The VMA is just great a second monitor which gives you plenty of information during a game. E. g. you can use it as a health monitor during Resident Evil: Code Veronica, no more switching to the item selection screen during your gameplay. Although the memory is not that plenty, o. k. one has to admit this, it's plenty enough for gameplay. Secondly you don't have to buy a gameboy. Plenty of games offer a mini-game wich can be played on the VMA. And not to forget you can swap game-progress with your friend, just connect your VMA's. Just a cool invention. Try this with a memory card for PS1 or PS2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an essential purchase, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
If you own Sonic - this is an essential purchase - you can download tiny Chao creatures from the game and take them away and help them grow - the memory card is a bit like a mini Gameboy that interacts with your Dreamcast. Plug it in while you're playing and faces and characters from the game appear on the screen. Plus, it's essential for saving levels - there's nothing worse than starting from the beginning all over again every time you restart a game. If you've got a Dreamcast, you'll need one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High quality memory card - now with a screen!, 11 Aug 2000
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
With the Dreamcast allowing you to access the internet, the Visual Memory Unit offers endless scope to enjoy your time online. Now only can you download games from the internet for your VMU such as Snake, you can download save game files if you can't be bothered to complete the game! (A bit of a cheat I know, but it adds to the variety!)
Because of the unique way that the connectors are shaped, it is simple to plug in two VMUs together to share saved games with your mates, or even games you have downloaded from the internet.
With mini games hidden in several Dreamcast games, downloading them to your VMU is essential for portable gaming with a twist - the unit is only about the size of a credit card!
Overall, another high quality product from Sega. The build quality is almost as sturdy as the Dreamcast itself, but with a little hook so you can hang the VMU round your neck (?). With the only problem that the batteries will only last about three months at a time. the VMU is an essential buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful...good product but not as described...., 5 Dec 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
The memory unit comes in blue which was a surprise as I wanted and expected it to be white as in the product photo....

There is no dust cap included as in description.

Good value for money but I believe that with on line shopping and especially with trusted sellers like Amazon you should get the product exactly described in the product description. I would have returned it but can't be bothered with the hassle and for the price it is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 24 April 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) (Accessory)
This is an official product so that is good, every dreamcast should have one and it arrived very fast for me. One problem, the actual product (at least for me) is transparent blue, not the solid white which I was expecting (it doesn't say this anywhere and the picture was misleading), bit of a nostalgia kill!

Never the less it serves its purpose like it did when I first got a dreamcast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast)
Sega Visual Memory Unit (Dreamcast) by Sega (Sega Dreamcast)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews