Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game
Dont expect the amazing graphics of the mario games which are out now cos they are nothing like that in this game. However dont let that put you off! This is the first mario game i ever played and i have been hooked to mario ever since! Its a great game to wind away the time when you are bored and dont have any thing else to do. The music to this game is so corny its...
Published on 29 July 2006 by E. Richman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mario at its most exotic.
Super Mario Land could almost be accused of defeating its own purpose. The GameBoy remains touted for its capacity to allow spurts of gaming whilst on the move, and yet Mario Land could hardly be more defiant in denying the maximum fulfilment of this luxury. While the transition from switching the console on to tackling the game itself is remarkably swift, Mario Land...
Published on 9 Feb 2010 by Ladder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game, 29 July 2006
By 
E. Richman "Stitch" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
Dont expect the amazing graphics of the mario games which are out now cos they are nothing like that in this game. However dont let that put you off! This is the first mario game i ever played and i have been hooked to mario ever since! Its a great game to wind away the time when you are bored and dont have any thing else to do. The music to this game is so corny its great! No luigi in this one, but an awesome game though. All the old characters are in this, so for all mario fans out there buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Mario land, 3 July 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
Theres always the thought with a mario game that no matter what game it is , it will always be the same. This is such a sad thought as it is the subtle differences as well as the levels that make this platformer one of the best known games in the world.

When I got my Gameboy all those years ago this was my first game, but also my first encounter with a little man named Mario.

Super Mario land is set in the world of Sarasaland , which is a bit of a mouthful. Inside the world there are the 4 kingdoms you must defeat, Barabuda, Easton , Chai and Muda. So all is peaceful until a strange alien named Tatanga turns up and hypnotises everyone and takes away Princess Daisy ( Later princess peach ) and intends to marry her. So its your noble cause to defeat Tatanga's henchman and save the princess.

Im loving the retro reviews as it takes me back a long time, starting up the game and the up beat soundtrack kicks in, a fun beat and Mario's care free attitude as he chases coins past a pyramid background in the very first level. The characteristic "boing" cant help but bring a wry smile to the face.

The enemy's of the game aren't to varied as their only a handful, a simple turtle enemie ( later become Goomba's ), Lions , Hammer throwers all appear. But a simple jump on the noggin will take out most of your enemies. For those that cant their is the Flower power up, allowing Mario to fire out flame balls to take out enemies from range. There are also super mushrooms to get bigger and the starman to become invincible, all very iconic.

The game was not only addictive because of its utter simplicity , but also because it didn't have a save function. The thought of putting this game down and losing all my hard work was one too much to bear and I often stayed up secretly trying to save the Princess.

Across the kingdom there was 12 levels over 4 areas, looking back this doesn't seem much but when your young it would eat up the hours no end.

The graphics are black and white but still very detailed for its today, looking at it you know exactly what it is. Pipes, Tunnels and enemies are all here and the game didn't try and over do it. People wanted an addictive platformer and thats what they got, Mario just needed a place to run around.

Controls were just the D-pad to move and A to jump, it needed nothing else. Although the jumping could be hard to judge but that is something which has plagued gaming for years and is a issue even now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mario at its most exotic., 9 Feb 2010
By 
Ladder (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
Super Mario Land could almost be accused of defeating its own purpose. The GameBoy remains touted for its capacity to allow spurts of gaming whilst on the move, and yet Mario Land could hardly be more defiant in denying the maximum fulfilment of this luxury. While the transition from switching the console on to tackling the game itself is remarkably swift, Mario Land will--each time--drop you into the same first level, regardless of where the player last terminated their game: the title does not possess a save function.

This inability to save perhaps isn't so surprising in context; Mario Land does, after all, stand alongside Tetris as one of the oldest titles for the machine, seeing release at a time when its latent potential--which has since been sounded out in remarkable fashion by gargantuan feats such as Pokemon and Link's Awakening--was still an unknown. Contemporary audiences won't be forgiving, and will likely lambaste the game's meagre array of levels--numbering 12--and its failure to allow the player to resume their game from their last session; playing through the same stages again and again in order to observe latter worlds will inevitably grate, and the game's audio-visual mastery (it's understated) certainly won't impress enough to sugar-coat this structural failing.

And cynics will return to this point ad nauseam. Not because it is so thoroughly detrimental to the game in light of the GameBoy's on-the-go function, but rather because there really is very little else inherently wrong with the game. Mario handles highly responsively, and his movements are intricate under the thumb--perhaps almost to the point of frustration in cases were slight movements can direct Mario into a pool of acid or bottomless pit. It is this tactile interaction between the player and avatar; this correspondence between action and response that has cemented Mario as such an entertaining franchise and, more than anything, defines the experience.

Yet this familiarity is pitted against so warped a vision of Mario's world. His foes are often unfamiliar, as are the environments, which are decidedly detached from Mario's typical playgrounds, taking him through Egyptian valleys and tombs; oriental surroundings; and even some take on Easter Island. Even the musical score is unshakeably atypical of Mario's other outings, seemingly doing nothing but persuade the player that this is not the stereotypical Mario game. This is a disconcerting gambit, seemingly allowing Mario Land an excuse for its scanty package.

But it's hard to shake the vibe that this sense of unfamiliarity is only too appropriate. The exoticism and inventiveness of the then new GameBoy is communicated in spades through the game`s quirkiness. Mario Land is made a Mario game by its most core component alone. It doesn't have an extensive array of power-ups; it isn't colourful on the GameBoy's monochrome screen; it isn't particularly complex; and it certainly won`t take long to complete. What Mario Land isn't is only too easy to identify from a contemporary perspective. What it does represent, however, is exactly what it needed to prove at the time: that Mario, and all the excitement that comes along with him, could exist on a handheld. And Mario Land never needed to be a vast multi-world epic to prove that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wacky, simple, often frustrating fun!, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
It brings back memories, doesn't it? The original GameBoy, with it's yucky yellow tinted screen, finds no justice with this game. It doesn't push the boundaries of its 8 bit graphics, nor does it offer music that isn't shrill and piercing like a bad front door bell. Yet such annoyances have often provided much fun over the years with this game.

The graphics are that basic that it's hard to tell whether Mario is touching an enemy when you land/jump, and if he does, you'll keep asking yourself the same thing... "How was I supposed to see that?".

Spread across a series of 'Lands' (not 'Worlds', though theirs absolutely no difference), it looks much like the crazy universe of Super Mario 2 for the NES, but without the sophisticated features of magic potions and power-ups. Indeed - most of this game is simply Jump. Jump. Jump. You might say "Duh, aren't all Mario games like this?". They are, but the latter work better on a large TV - just not on a tiny monochrome screen.

It's certainly addictive, and with similar shortcuts and cross-over points as the original Super Mario Bros, you'll no doubt keep putting the GameBoy down, then picking it up 5 minutes later...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 11 April 2008
By 
Ms. Rebecca P. Oliver "Becky" (Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
When I was younger my brother bought a gameboy at a carboot sale along with this game, I thought it was really ace, I would spend hours trying to complete the missions. I recently bought a gameboy advance sp and found mario in the loft. I was suprised to see that I still found it a really amusing game and thought it looked even better in colour. The amazing thing bout gameboy games is how long they last. This game is definately worth buying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 3 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
this is the best ever mario game in the series. It has 4 levels but they're all fascinating with funky tunes and the enemies you see here an there.This in an incredible game of its time and deserves the hours played . It's awesome! The only frustrating thing is that you can't save. overall it is a game worthy of it's place and the first ever game to begin the gameboy era! I can also say that it is still growing and a true hit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mario, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
Thank you Mario you gave me so much pleasure in my youth and still continue to do so. Unputdownable in more ways than one. Simply addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok., 30 Dec 2013
By 
SuziB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
I knew this was second hand & did not come with a box, but was a little disappointed to see the label was half ripped off & it didn't even come in a protective cover (as the other second hand GameBoy game I purchased had). As it was a gift for Christmas I wasn't overly thrilled, had the seller stated that the label was ripped & it looked so tatty I would have purchased elsewhere. I know it's how it plays/whether it works that is the main thing, but I still think it should have been mentioned! I can't comment on whether it works as my foolish child has lost her GameBoy, not realised until Christmas day when she tried to play her game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
great to be able to still get this, my daughter loves the game and so do i, it takes me back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 7 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Land (Game Boy) (Video Game)
I recommend this store to anyone. The game had a problem, i returned it and they offered me 3 extra games. Quick service, very friendly. I wish every store had this type of service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario Land (Game Boy)
Super Mario Land (Game Boy) by Nintendo (Game Boy)
Used & New from: £8.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews