Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capturing the Beauty of the Summer Sun, 21 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
A true artist can re-invent themselves, stretch themselves and shatter the labels others have pinned on them. It doesnt matter what this Albertan songstress has done in the past, her voice, that effortless breezy voice, blows you away. My favorite track has changed with each listen (always a good sign!). Listen to it in a rolltop under the summer sun (not currently available in England) cruising some backroads and you will feel the power of her craft. Forget your prejudices, just listen to it first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding magnificence of an incredibly beautiful woman, 29 July 2000
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
How can anyone fail to be impressed with this CD. I've waited a long time to hear her voice again. Boy! has it been worth the wait? You bet it has. My happiest moments have come during listening to this sweetest sound. Take a deep breath and imbibe yourself with some powerful vocals. Excellent. Brilliant. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kick back and chill out with a happy k.d.lang, 17 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
Summer may not have actually happened in the UK but KD Lang is determined to make it happen in your CD player. After the underated All You Can Eat and the patchy Drag, Invincible Summer is a fairly new direction for Ms Lang. The lovely voice and country heritage remain but this is a more commercial version of the singer. Her new personal happiness is so blatant within the music that at times it's overwhelming. Songs such as Extrodinary Thing and Summerfling grab the theme of romance and run with it. Her knack for a memorable melody remains especially in When We Collide and Curiosity. With such lush arrangements and with such a big smile on her face the album does veer towards sickly but the murky nature of love's great ocean and the quirky funk of it's happening with you serve to redress the balance. So an enjoyable reminder of how sweet love can be as well a musical delight. However it remains to be seen whether I'll be listening to it between the months of October and May.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, sumptious and satisfying, 4 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
Well, k.d's in love. And she wants all of us to know it. Honestly, I was worried that, after the brilliance of All You Can Eat, this would disappoint.
I needn't have been.
One of k.d's great skills is her ability to re-invent herself. From cow-punk rockabilly, to old fashioned and then new-fangled country, to lush, knowing ballads via angsty-torch - kathy dawn is never how you'd expect, but somehow exactly what you need.
And there's the voice, which is as warm butterscotch smooth as ever.
The songs, well, "the consequences of falling", "extraordinary thing" and "when we collide" stand out immediately - and "summerfling" (along with the aforementioned "extraordinary thing") has to be one of the more radio-friendly things she's recorded.
The whole album is a sparkling summer sound-track to bring joy even in the depths of winter.
Buy this album and grab yourself a nice big slice of gorgeous loveliness with a cherry on top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's hope people get to hear this album!, 4 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
It's OK! You're forgiven! It's been eight years since kd lang had her last global hit. It's easy to understand why you've forgotten how unique her strong-yet-vulnerable, chocolatey, country-tinged voice is. At times it plucks at your heart strings, at times it makes you want to skip through a field of barley.
If I have a problem with this album, it's the occasionally tacky blippy beepy noises, but most of the songs are beautifully crafted and if any one of the five or six potential singles gets any airplay, this album will be bigger than Ingenue.
If you liked the David Gray album, get this one. And vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush lush music, 20 Sept. 2007
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
Whilst I've admired the vocal work of K D Lang for a while, I was only moved to buy one of her albums when I heard the title track of this album on Radio 2, driving home in the car. And I'm glad I did. All the songs on this track evoke summer and the sun. They are full of life and not C&W at all (not that C&W is a bad thing). Think constant craving but more upbeat.

I'm no musicologist, so I'm not really qualified to tell you about tunes and mixing and what have you, but I did really enjoy this album, it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Voice, Winter, Summer, Spring or Fall, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
"Invincible Summer," k.d.lang's 2000 release, was perhaps her most sultry, a collection featuring bossa nova beats and dreamy, looping electronics. And then there's "The Consequences of Falling," the playful showstopper with which the singer opens the album.

On this album, lang, who has a mezzo-soprano range, provided the vocals, of course. What's more surprising is that she wrote, or had a hand in writing, most of the songs: all but "Consequences," in fact. Damian LeGassick, who backs her on guitar and keyboard, produced; the album carries work from virtually a full-sized pop orchestra.
The song stylist has won both Juno Awards and Grammy Awards for her musical performances. She has contributed songs to movie soundtracks and has teamed with musicians such as Roy Orbison, Tony Bennett, Elton John, Anne Murray and Jane Siberry. This recording catches the Edmonton, Alberta, Canadian-born thrush in fine voice, at roughly the midpoint of what has now been her 25 year, multi-award winning career. She first appeared on the scene in kitschy cowgirl outfits and spiky hair; in the clip I first saw of her, she's hopping continuously; I felt like yelling at the late-night television screen, "Sweetheart, you've got one of the greatest voices I've ever heard. Leave the hopping to Herman's Hermits." But lang seems to have figured it out anyway, by herself. Her early cover of Roy Orbison's "Crying," jump-started her career and remains one of her signature songs; "Constant Craving" is her biggest, Grammy-winning hit; "Miss Chatelaine" was also a sizable hit.

The performer, who has come out as a lesbian, is also a vegan, animal rights, gay rights, and Tibetan human rights activist. She is a tantric practitioner of the old school of Tibetan Buddhism. She performed Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" live at the opening ceremony of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, Canada: she had previously, performed at the closing ceremony of the 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary. The Times of London once said: "It's a quirk of the music industry that one of the sexiest, most sensual voices in all of pop music comes not from some raven-tressed siren in a glitter-dress but a middle-aged woman with a utility haircut and a penchant for male tailoring." And so it does. Furthermore, she's a singer who can deliver finely phrased pop, a bit of jazz, a bit of country, a bit of a Latin touch. And nobody can match her when it comes to belting out a hot torch song.

lang frequently appears with the marvelous veteran jazz-pop crooner Tony Bennett, with whom she recorded the 2002 WONDERFUL WORLD duets album. Bennett just might be her number one fan; he once told the press "She's the best singer of her generation." I am lucky enough to have seen this pair present the WONDERFUL WORLD repertory in person, at New York's Radio City Music Hall, in the most striking of circumstances. Late September, 2001, about two weeks after the 9/11 destruction of the World Trade Center, and so much of downtown Manhattan. I had bought my ticket over the summer, and anxiously watched the papers to see if they would keep the date. They did, and so did I. So did most of the ticket holders, I believe: there were empty seats, but not that many. Took ages to get through security, of course. You can believe that emotions ran high in that theater, on stage and in the audience: you could describe it as a love-in. As it happens, I'd gotten the Radio City Music Hall ticket because I was just a bit nervous about seeing her in her more usual venues, with her more usual fans, in their hearty appreciation of her work. Never mind, we all do just love that voice: it's wonderful winter, summer, spring, or fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Languid Lang, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
What more do you want ? The dulcet tones of kd lang wrap themselves around a new set of songs. If you've never listened to her, why not ? Buy this and you'll be converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Brian E. Viercant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
Part of a whole bundle of albums I purchased from this seller, very good condition and well packed. A good selection of albums are always available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so glad i found it again, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible Summer (Audio CD)
my old copy was pretty worn by now and wanted to replace - very happy to be able to do so, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invincible Summer
Invincible Summer by K. D. Lang (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews