Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Comedy
This really was a great show, that never caught on here in the UK. This DVD does the show a lot of justice. However, be warned as there is a lot of swearing!! Whilst, Garry Shandling and Rip Torn are excellent in their roles as Larry (the host of a spoof talk show) and Artie (his producer), for me Jeffrey Tambor (who plays Shandling's side kick Hank Kingsley), steels...
Published on 30 Mar 2003 by Hunski

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly past its prime
I absolutely loved this show when I was in my teens. In fact I would say it was my number one sitcom at the time (and possibly ever). Unfortunately the production quality of this DVD and, sadly, the material of the show are now showing their age. I think we need to wait for a remastered version to totally appreciate the show; in the meantime just go to YouTube and view...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Comedy, 30 Mar 2003
By 
Hunski (Haverhill, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really was a great show, that never caught on here in the UK. This DVD does the show a lot of justice. However, be warned as there is a lot of swearing!! Whilst, Garry Shandling and Rip Torn are excellent in their roles as Larry (the host of a spoof talk show) and Artie (his producer), for me Jeffrey Tambor (who plays Shandling's side kick Hank Kingsley), steels most of the scenes he is in. Hank you see is a very shallow and paranoid person which has comical outcomes in some of the episodes (Re; Hanks Sex Tape and I was a Teenage Lesbian) which are both included on the DVD. I've been fortunate to see many episodes of this fantastic comedy and it never ceases to amaze me how celebrities and film stars go on the show sending themselves up (or are they really playing themselves?), the beauty is that you never quite know. Don't fall into the trap that the novelty is in that big stars appear playing themselves. The scripts are strong too. It shows how Hollywood can be a very shallow place, and what lengths people will go to in order to make themselves look good. If you are not familiar with this show and can put up with the swearing then this DVD in my opinion is an ideal introduction and worth the investment. My only critism is that it is not in widescreen format, but to me even that is worth sacraficing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting and Brilliantly Funny US Sitcom, 14 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Best Episodes [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
The Larry Sanders Show (a show within a show) is a belly-laugh funny, clever, well-acted comedy, with brilliant characters and an abundance of guest stars. It has the same dark sharpness and wit of Seinfeld, but it is also a frank and often coarse examination of the shallow and the ambitious. The real tragedy is that the Larry Sanders Show has been so badly neglected by the schedulers and the video releasers here in the UK.
Larry and Hank are the two 'stars'. Both are unbearable human beings - insecure, letcherous, selfish, fickle, rude, idiotic - and yet you feel a real affection for them after a few episodes. Their fragile egos are constantly shaken - their flimsy characters are ridiculed and exposed. There is no sentimentality in the show. There is no canned laughter. Let me shut up and give you an example of what to expect:
Larry is told the shocking news that Sid (the card-flipper) has committed suicide. Larry says; "Who else knows about this", Arty (the Producer) says "Everybody," and Larry then says "Good, because I don't want to have to break it to anyone." Then at the after-funeral drink get-together Arty makes a long speech about Sid. Larry follows him and makes a silly joke - no one really laughs. Larry sits down very grumpy indeed, turns to Arty and says; "It's your fault with that speech. You killed the audience."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art imitating life, 4 Feb 2004
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
First of all, let me stress that on comedy value alone, this show deserves 5 stars... but the DVD is a bit of a let down. Still, shamefully, it's the only 'Larry Sanders' available at the time of writing this review, which makes it indispensable... for now. This series charts the trials and tribulations of Larry Sanders (Garry Shandling), a talk show host with a late-night show, which is a show within a show. We see the behind-the-scenes machinations, interspersed with snippets from 'The Larry Sanders Show', complete with real guests and a real studio audience.
GOOD BITS:-
1) The comedy - 'The Larry Sanders Show' is quite simply one of the funniest and most brilliant series ever to come out of the US. It's art imitating life in such a way that it is highly believable and realistic too.
2) The cast - Larry Sanders is but a thin disguise of the real Garry Shandling. Neurotic, self-obsessed, and barely able to hide his contempt for the entertainment industry (and his rivals), Sanders is, however, instantly likeable. Rip Torn plays his producer, Artie, the 'old campaigner' who knows every trick in the book. Despite embodying everything that Larry hates about the industry (double-dealing, two-facedness etc.), he would be lost without him. Many of the funniest lines are reserved for Artie, and Rip Torn's comic timing is simply brilliant. And then there's Hank Kingsley... played by Jeffrey Tambor, Hank is Larry's put-upon sidekick, who is generally not good for much, and not very good at that either. Despite having a minor role in the 'Show', Hank's character is a major part of this series, and again, some of the best lines are reserved for poor old Hank. Indeed, my favourite episode on here is 'Hank's Sex Tapes', which concerns the finding of an illicit video Hank has made of himself with a couple of hookers, which threatens his career and threatens to embarrass Larry to boot.
3) The guests - Despite being a 'spoof' series about a chat show host, 'Larry Sanders' always has genuine guests, usually of the highest calibre. But instead of watching their interviews, you are mostly treated to the behind-the-scenes aspects. You name them, and they have probably at one point or another been on 'Larry Sanders'. Again, you never quite know if a star's relationship with Larry is really that tense (or that good)
BAD BITS (In order of importance):-
1) The picture quality is dreadful. It's like watching a DVD through a net curtain. This is partly understandable because this DVD was made a while ago, but it really looks like someone has put it through Photoshop and clicked on 'Posterize'. Also, the sound quality is not great.
2) Are these 7 episodes really 'The Best Of Larry Sanders'? I don't think so. Don't get me wrong, any Larry Sanders is better than none (and most other comedies as well), but around half of these episodes don't really merit 'Best of' status. Indeed, 'Hank's Sex Tapes' and 'Montana' are truly hilarious and typical of the rest of 'Larry Sanders', but the others are not very well chosen for a disc that most people will buy to get a taste of what this magnificent series is all about. Generally, the episodes do work as stand-alone shows where you don't need to know any background, but some of the episodes in this particular selection are more dependant upon the viewer's understanding of the characters, and as such, may not be a great place to start for the uninitiated.
3) Extras - apart from a trailer for a stupid movie starring Garry Shandling, there are no extra features at all.
4) (A personal gripe!) Why don't Columbia Tristar get off their backsides and give us the full series releases that this award-winning and brilliant show deserves, instead of this 'stop-gap' measure? This disc should really be obsolete, and isn't great value for money.
All in all, 5 star comedy, but a 2 star DVD... but since it's my favourite series, I can't bring myself to give this anything less than 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fugue in insecurity, 22 Nov 2004
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
Granted, it would be wonderful to have all the series on DVD and lots of extras but these episodes still illustrate the show's qualities: more like a one act play than a sitcom.
The complex interdependence of Larry, Artie and that fragile monster Hank is especially compelling: "a fugue in insecurity", as one TV critic put it. It's especially touching to see the way in which egotism and art combine when Larry chooses to watch reruns of himself on his nights off, both enslaved to and (sort of) ennobled by the medium - an artist of sorts. Incidentally, he picture quality is roughly the same as you'd get on an ordinary TV - it's not really a problem, in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of laughs.., 10 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with other reviewers: this collection is by no means the best of Larry Sanders, but it's still way ahead of most sitcoms. I can't recall which were my favourites, but one or two on this DVD were eye-wateringly funny, whilst the others were good and a nice reminder of a series I discovered by chance and grew to love very quickly. Sound quality poor but just turn the volume up....and don't miss those intros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 4 Feb 2001
By 
a.rockach@btinternet.com (Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This is the best comedy show ever! This dvd contains a few of the best episodes of a truly great show. Now we just need the rest of 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius that is Garry Shandling, 26 Nov 2000
By 
K. J. Walker "Kiernan Walker" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Ever since the Garry Shandling show in the 80s, it was clear that the man is a genius. The Larry Sanders show takes the idea a stage further and to new heights. Garry as Larry is paranoid, bitter, jealous, resentful and insecure. Jeffrey Tambor is great in his role as Hank and Janine Garofalou (check spelling) is excellent, but the relevation is Rip Torn as Arty, the producer. Every show makes me laugh out loud and it is a great shame that it has not caught on in Britain, relegating it to late night viewing. The unrestrained cursing may be a contributory factor, but this all adds to the realism and illustrates the awful character of the players. More releases on DVD please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant Larry Sanders, 7 Dec 2002
By 
MR ADRIAN D FOX (Northern England) - See all my reviews
This show - about a show - meticulously unclothes the chat show industry and it is indeed a shame that it did not catch on in the U.K. It is cult viewing and so well made but still with an air of sponteneaity(?). Larry's manerisms, Hank's spoilt child behaviour and then there's Arty holding the whole show together through the chaos. Side splittingly funny with superb contributions from geust celebrities who don't mind revealing their other sides too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NO FLIPPING!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Live on tape, from Hollywood."

The Larry Sanders Show was the best comedy ever.

His friends said that he had intimacy issues - to which he replied that they didn't really know him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest comedy in the history of TV, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Larry Sanders Show: The Best Episodes [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
Meet Larry, Hank and Arthur. Some of the funniest situations and shinanigans in the history of TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Larry Sanders Show: The Best Episodes [VHS] [1993]
The Larry Sanders Show: The Best Episodes [VHS] [1993] by Brent Carpenter (VHS Tape - 2003)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews