Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars88
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2007
For fans of the genre's thriller, mystery, and horror, this is a movie that their collections should NOT be without. Profondo Rosso (a.k.a. Deep Red) is one of Dario Argento's greatest works and it rightly deserves its spot in the IMDB top 50 horror movies of all time.
The movie's plot sees an American freelance pianist named Marcus Daily witness the murder of a famed female parapsychologist, who also happens to be his neighbour. Following what Marcus witnesses he becomes obsessed with the murder to the point that he decides to figure it out who the killer is himself. Little does he know however that by doing so he will put both his and his friends lives at risk as the killer (who is extremely brutal when it comes to murdering their victims) soon turns their attention to Marcus.
Within the movie there are many scenes that you are unlikely to forget, for instance the table of objects scenes which are accompanyed by a catchy goblin music score, or the mechanical dummy's appearance, or the movie's climax etc.
Profondo Rosso is a movie that is guaranteed to keep you gripped from beginning to end with its unforgettable story, superb matching soundtrack by Goblin (their movie debut I believe), great acting performances and amazing directing by Argento.
I would also like to suggest that instead of purchasing this edition of the DVD that you instead go for the Dario Argento Ultimate Collection (also from Amazon). The reason being is because for just around £3.00 extra (at the time of writing) you get the same DVD except with five other Argento movies, these being The Bird with the Crystal Plumage, Cat O'Nine Tails, Demons, Demons 2, and Phenomena. This suggestion may however only apply to those who don't own the majority of those movies already.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
In my opinion this is Argento's best film.
It successfully straddles both the giallo and horror genres combining the two into an intriguing, creepy film.
Normally I would have bought the Arrow Video release as I like the packaging and poster that comes with their releases but sadly their transfer cannot hold a candle to this one, the Blue Underground version (which is region free and will play on any Blu Ray player in the UK).

The disc contains both the English and the longer Italian version of the film in a pristine quality. For a film shot in 1975 "Deep Red" has never looked better than it has on this disc.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
A British musician called Marc Daly (played by David Hemmings), who is living in Rome, witnesses the brutal murder of a woman. With the help of a feisty reporter (Daria Nicolodi), he decides to try to find out who the killer is as the dead bodies start to pile up....

Another World Entertainment from Denmark have released Dario Argento's famous 1975 giallo film on DVD as a special two disc package. This film has been released on video and DVD many times previously so what is so special about this particular DVD release?

Well, for a start, you get two different versions of the film - the longer Italian version, Profondo Rosso, on Disc 1 and the shorter export version, Deep Red, on Disc 2, as well as some extras.

Profondo Rosso is presented uncut (126 minutes) and in its correct ratio of 2.35:1. This version has been digitally remastered so the sound and picture quality are excellent and the correct credits and music have been reinserted at the beginning and end of the film. You also have the choice of Italian or English language options and an optional commentary track (in English) by Argento expert Thomas Rostock. There is however one major flaw with this version.... If you select the Italian language option, you only have a choice of subtitles in Danish, Norwegian, Swedish or Finnish. There is no option of English subtitles. This means that, unless you speak fluent Italian or any of those Scandanavian languages, you can only select the English language option if you want to watch this film and understand what everyone is saying. Even the English language version still includes certain scenes in Italian (subtitled in English) as these scenes in the longer cut were never dubbed into English anyway. I think this is a massive oversight by AWE not to offer English subtitles on the Italian version because if they had have done then this version would have been the definitive DVD release of Profondo Rosso.

Anyway, onto Disc 2 which contains the shorter version in English language, known as Deep Red (105 minutes). This version has been restored and presented in its correct aspect ratio (2.35:1), with no censorship cuts. The correct English credits have been reinserted at the beginning and end. To be honest I think that the shorter export cut is actually more enjoyable than the longer Italian version and this DVD of Deep Red must be the best version to date.

Extra features include the documentary "An Eye For Horror" (which has been released separately before on DVD and as an extra on other DVD releases of Argento's movies), trailers, biographies for David Hemmings and Dario Argento, filmographies, trivia and a slideshow.

So, if you can live without the English subtitles for the Italian language version of Profondo Rosso, then this double disc set is definitely worth buying if you are an Argento/giallo fan.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 June 2008
This is a minor classic from director Dario Argento. An excellent thriller with horror elements thrown in that make the current wave of 'torture porn' movies look decidely second rate (which most of them are).

In the leading role David Hemmings plays a pianist who witnesses a murder and starts investigating them himself. Now why he would do this I don't know, but once you allow for this artistic licence, the film moves by with great pace. Full of atmosphere, tension, odd camera angles as well as the trademark roving camera for which Argento is well know. You can still also detect the influence of Hitchcock in this film. But Argento has moved things on to a different level.

Listen out for the music score by the Italian prog rock group Goblin. They worked with Argento on a regular basis and their pounding music scores added a little extra to Argento's films.

This disc contains 2 versions of the film. An English version which runs to 100mins and an Italian version that is 123mins. My advice is to watch the Italian version as this is in widescreen. The English version is panned and scanned. However your view on this will be affected by your attitude to subtitles and dubbing in films. In the English version of course David Hemmings isn't dubbed and there are no subtitles.

Argento is most famous for Suspira, which I was never a huge fan of. Buy this and 'The Bird with the crystal plumage' and in my view you'll own his two best films.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2007
This is one great film. It's a whodunnit that gets better and better every time you watch it. even once you know whodunnit its great fun to watch the clever story unfold. its packed with great violent murders, each treated with incredible style and accompanied by a fabulous score by the prog rock group Goblin. Deep Red is a great piece of cinema and if you are interested, the best introduction to Italian horror and its king Dario Argento. Next stop Suspiria. you have been warned.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2002
I watched 'Profondo Rosso' for the first time during my year abroad in Italy. I don't normally enjoy horror films,to me they're just senseless, tasteless gore, but my friend Paola practically nailed me to the sofa and said WATCH THIS! So I did. I was pleasantly surprised, well, I can't say pleasantly, I was 21 at the time and I had nightmares for weeks! Argento has such an inate talent for not only scaring the hell out of you but messing with your mind, and that to me is the most scary of horrors. My favourite scene - without giving too much away - was the one involving the bird....this film gave me the creeps and stayed with me when I wanted it to go away like another film, 'Don't Look Now', incidentally set in the foggy sidestreets of Venice. Watch it and experience a real Argento trip.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a gem of a horror movie with its many moods and dimensions. The feeling of terror starts early when a clairvoyant giving a demonstration suddenly experiences a panic attack and lets out that there's a murderer in the audience. From then on, the terror takes many forms as we see glimpses of the past in an old house with a sealed room. The eerie children's singing and beautiful photography contribute towards making this more than just another horror flick. A true art movie (without being self-consciously so) but don't underestimate the sense of menace and doom that is maintained throughout.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
For me this is Argento's best film, and probably my favourite horror film ever. It was actually much more creepy the second time I saw it (at night, alone), so much so that I had to wait until my partner returned home 3 hours later before I could go to bed. The soundtrack by Goblin, which first time round I thought detracted from the supense, is absolutely top class. Unlike other Argento films, there is a coherent and dramatic plot, and it doesn't contain weird 'arty' shots just for art's sake, although it is visually stunning. Daria Nicolodi easily steals the show as Gianna the journalist.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
I wouldn't consider myself one of these Dario Argento buffs, raving about colour and chiarascuro BUT......
.......he does grows on you. The more you watch, the more you want. Not just the films, but the characters and the collection of bizarre moments and shocking clarity too.
I started off thinking the whole 'Italian horror genre' thing was overrated. I got Suspiria on a whim and before I knew it I'd bought and watched Profondo Rosso too.
Its that Argento never seems to play straight.
There are moments of brilliance, style, suspense with genuine oddness but then some real rubbish: cheesy 70's dialogue and awful dubbing - but you can forgive all that and at least the music's not as intrusive as it was in Suspiria.
The editing from one scene to another is very abrupt too. Does he do this deliberately? Or is it a question of taste?
Every time you pin him down he confounds you- like he says on the DVD commentary- he tries to conjure up a dream with twists and turns.
I mean, fancy having slapstick farce in the middle of a very disturbing hacker movie?
The film gets more intruiging as it goes on. Same storyline as a million others but it's the ways its done. Visually splendid, with stunning scenery/sets, framing and his shot selection is second to none.
The opening shot which is in fact part of the credits is VERY disturbing. Don't miss it!
Well worth watching and never boring.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2004
I didn't know what to expect with Profondo Rosso, I thought "maybe something like Halloween", but this is a gorgeous film in it's own right, it is rich in content and thought, it has an old school story telling feel about it, fantastic music by "Goblin" (who also scored the zombie classic "Dawn of the Dead" by George Romero) it is shocking and suspenseful, whilst showing some glorious cinematography (Luigi Keveiller).
I have mentioned "Halloween" by John Carpenter, "Dawn of the Dead" by George Romero and "Goblin" (music score) and they all have an affinity for the work of Dario Argento.
(don't watch it alone with the lights off, especially the secluded cottage bit.........) :)
One scene involving a mechanical doll, nearly made my heart stop, I wont give it away but it's one of those scares that makes your brain work overtime to reassure you that you're ok !
Brilliant, Dario is unique and this is my favourite film of his, and one of my ALL time favourite films.
A wonderful initiation into the world of Giallo.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)