Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine retrospective from one of the true great bands.
This is a fine collection from one of rock`s greatest ever bands. At their best they were untouchable, releasing great album after great album and putting on killer live shows. Sure, the past couple of albums have been patchy, but this CD contains enough to cement Queensryche`s place in history.
From the early days, "Queen of the reich", "Warning" and "Take hold of...
Published on 14 Oct 2002 by U Dick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars typical queensryche?
disappointed in this album,it's not bad fi you really like queensryche but has i say disappointing for a lot of their fans.
Published 11 months ago by troutmaster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine retrospective from one of the true great bands., 14 Oct 2002
By 
U Dick "heavy-duty" (Stevenston, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a fine collection from one of rock`s greatest ever bands. At their best they were untouchable, releasing great album after great album and putting on killer live shows. Sure, the past couple of albums have been patchy, but this CD contains enough to cement Queensryche`s place in history.
From the early days, "Queen of the reich", "Warning" and "Take hold of the flame" are far removed from the Priest/Maiden clone rubbish often levelled at the band. There are lots of great ideas and potential in these numbers, and it would be unfair to lump them together with the many sub-standard copyists of the era. "The lady wore black", though, sounds a bit histrionic and repetative and slightly dated. Come the "Rage for order" tracks, "Walk in the shadows" and "I dream in infrared", it is clear that the boys have found their own thing. There is still nothing like the sophistication Queensryche brought to the pompous end of heavy rock of the mid-eighties, even now. The arrangements and performances remain spine-tingling in execution.
Next up are the big hits of "Operation:Mindcrime" and "Empire". It comes as a shock that only two "...Mindcrime" tracks are featured, as it is still regarded as the definitive QR album. "I don`t believe in love" and "Eyes of a stanger" are both bona-fide classics, however, they could have fitted "Revolution calling" or "The mission" in somewhere. They got the balance right with the "Empire" tracks. "Silent lucidity" will always be one of the greatest ever rock songs, up there with "Stairway to heaven" and "Comfortably numb" (which was obviously an influence) in the use of production and dynamics. It is a beautiful piece of songwriting. "Empire" remains as menacing and powerful as the first time I heard it and "Jet city woman" is a great pop-rock number with a brilliant catchy chorus.
"I am I" and "Bridge" from `94`s "Promised land", my personal favourite QR album, are still either loved or hated by fans. Gone are the pompous playing, high-pitched vocals and fantasy lyrics, replaced by more introspective and socially aware songs. "I am I" is the viewpoint of new born baby, backed with a Led Zeppelin styled riff while "Bridge" is a heartfelt song about Chris DeGarmo`s disfunctional relationship with his father. The final three tracks knock one star off the overall mark. "Sign of the times" from `97`s "Hear in the now frontier" is a good song, but too far removed from the classic Queensryche sound. "Chasing blue sky" is a throwaway bonus track also taken from that album. "Someone else?", from "Promised land", is spoiled by excess instrumentation. Originally a piano and vocal track featuring Geoff Tate`s best ever singing, the emotion of the song is buried under layers of big guitars and drums. This is another bonus track which was only deemed good enough for release in Japan. They should have included the original "Someone else?" along with "Real world", from "The last action hero" soundtrack and one of the aforesaid "...Mindcrime" songs instead of the final three tracks.
That would have been a true five star release. As it is, it only merits four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential metal influence, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great band, great collection. Different songs, once you hear them, you understand their influence and other (later) metal bands , and you can actually recognize it (if you are interested in metal, of course). For those who does not know a lot about metal, that's a band to start with. Really great strong songs, music and lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you have only just discovered Queensryche then this is a good place to start. Queensryche are a little different to most rock bands with their own unique sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars discovered gem, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have been a middle of the road rock fan for years (I am nearer 70 than 60) and recently came across this album by Queensryche. Having listened to them on YOUTUBE I felt that I had to get their greatest hits album and am very glad I did. Musically they are faultless and the lead singers voice is amazing. Have a listen and enjoy as I have. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars typical queensryche?, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
disappointed in this album,it's not bad fi you really like queensryche but has i say disappointing for a lot of their fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agreat place to start, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have followed queensryche since 19 83 and buy all there albums but if you don't have many of them this is a fine place to start also sign of the times the 2 cd version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... had bought this in my younger days I would like it, but the vocals have stopped me playing, 20 Sep 2014
By 
Nigel Melvin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
maybe if I had bought this in my younger days I would like it, but the vocals have stopped me playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprise., 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this album in error but after listening to it i descided to keep it for a rainey day, not my kind of stuff but okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of excellent, dated and average, 15 Sep 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The early tracks are somewhat embarrassing, sub-Maiden, very 1980's, screechy vocals and I suspect the band members themselves do not like them very much any more either.
The best tracks - by common agreement - are the Mindcrime and Empire tracks. These are inventive, melodic and intelligently crafted, with some lovely guitar playing. Geoff Tate singing as opposed to doing his mock opera impression.
The later tracks pale by comparison a bit. Shame 'Best I Can' and 'Real World' are not on the CD.
Much as I like this band, and this CD collects the majority (but not all) of their best moments, their time has been and gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 26 Oct 2011
By 
K. M. Smith "gpaudit" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I purchased this album in error, I had never heard of this group but I must admit the whole album had grown on me, worth a buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Queensr˙che (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews