Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah....
I used to have an art teacher who sported a magnificent mustache and extremely long "luxurious" hair. In order to create a stimulating working environment in his art classes, he used to put this album on. After two or three lessons I was hooked. I had to get my own copy. The rest, as they sometimes say, is history. That was seven years ago, when I was twelve or thirteen,...
Published on 30 July 2007 by Elliot Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but far too self-indulgent
Focus I think is the key-word here. Damon has some great songs but after several listens of "Hour..." you do tend to find yourself tapping your fingers waiting for the good stuff to come along. You get the feeling that most of the material is here simply because it CAN be here rather than for its musical merit. Like a kid let loose in a toy shop, Damon seems...
Published on 15 Aug. 2000 by wattsa@croner.cch.co.uk


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing, worthy winner of the Mercury Music Prize, 28 April 2003
By 
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
At first glance, Damon Gough (aka Badly Drawn Boy) resembles a one man band - an eccentric with a crochet hat, harmonica and guitar. However his music is unique to the extent that Dylan and Bowie were, in their day.
This is a gentle collection of feelgood songs, sometimes in an old fashioned style, "This Song" having a vibe of Simon and Garfunkel, and a retro disco feel on "Disillusion". It is over an hour long, and although initially confusing, has an alluring naivety to the music.
The tracks have a largely musical bias, and when the lyrics do jump in they are surreal, like "I will never grow older because I drink from waterfalls" and "all we have is an old ball of string, will it reach to the end of this dark labyrinth?" The album proves Gough's versatility, but has no apparent purpose, or focus, in the manner of early Pink Floyd albums which wandered along to see what happened without trying to be any one thing.
Coming back to this album now, after the initial immersion in it while it was new, I am not sure when I would play it or long to hear a particular track. However, it is a pleasant addition to your collection for esoteric moments in your life - maybe this will eventually hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but an aquired taste., 27 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
Badly drawn Boy have produced an excellent album which the smash hit 'disillusion'. However some may find the CD a little too smooth, especially those who like a good beat. Worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very ordinary, 2 Jan. 2001
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
despite all the hype this record has received over the past year it really isn't all that good. None of the tunes are particulary memorable and there doesn't seem to be any real passion in any of the songs. This record is neither really good nor really bad, and praise doesn't get much fainter than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP NOTCH, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
I brought this CD 4 my girlfriend cos she is v special 2 me (tis true). I have heard some of bdb music on compilation albums such as MoS's 'Chillout Sessions' and also on 'The Album'. I think he's an all round great talent and a brilliant performer. The music on this album is extremely chilled, my girlfriend calls it 'hotel toilet music' but it is the sorta music that lets all those daily troubles drift away. Good to listen to on your own as you fade away from the stresses of life or with the 1(or 1's you randy boy) that you love. The tracks are varied but all have a smooth class, with a touch of the Beatles/John Lennon elegance about them. It frees the mind so you can think about the finer things in life, like... (Your personal preference goes here) I've been 'once around the block.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MEDIOCRE, 30 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
This record sounds "lovely" and "nice" and is so intensely inoffensive its almost insufferable. There are only 3 memorable songs here (out of 18). You should buy Bright Eyes 'Fevers and Mirrors' instead, it's by far the best album of 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly Conceived Boy, 12 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
As the winner of the Mercury prize and a much hyped album I was expecting much more than this. BDB trys hard to be quirky and fresh but comes off sounding self indulgent and frankly boring. "Disillsuion" and "Around The Block" are both great singles but are in no way representative of the album . Don't be fooled listen to this before considering a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hour Of Bewilderbeast (Audio CD)
heard 'once around the block' and thought fantastic! must get some of this action. But hugely let down by the rest of the album. another example of one good song selling a collection of also rans. wanted this to be great but now it just winds me up. If you like ''once around the block' ask to listen to the rest first before send your cash on a trip to someone else bank account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hour Of Bewilderbeast
The Hour Of Bewilderbeast by Badly Drawn Boy (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews