Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars73
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2005
Stunning album: quirky, pastoral and yet modern, this is like Nick Drake reborn into the 21st Century - with a sense of humour. The cover is a great clue as to the contents...buy it for Once Around The Block and discover a tapestry of deftly woven tunes. The only distraction is that a few of the tracks come across as audio vignettes - incomplete, promising fragments. Nonetheless, this is a debut well worthy of its critical acclaim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
18 cracking tunes. Instrumentals to break things up and some superb songs. When the songs are this good, mediocre vocals just don't matter and the strength of this album is its consistency. If you like soft, melodic rock you will not be disappointed, however, this is Badly Drawn Boys best album by a country mile so be careful with the alternatives. First three albums superb but very hit and miss after the third!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2001
After all the great publicity this album has received I was slightly disappointed with it. It is overall a great album with some really memorable tunes, but I feel that what lets this album down is the lack of fluency and the inclusion of a few tracks which don't belong there. Overall a great album and one worth purchasing, but not a classic like many people believe it to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2001
I knew who Badly Drawn Boy was, and his accomplishments across Atlantic. I just couldn't hear any of his songs or even buy this album here in the U.S. Finally after BDB concert was announced for Chicago, the album became avaliable in most record stores. I bought it right away and played it in my car on the way home. WOW! What a great, soothing sounds from a very begining. At first I was afraid of 18 songs concept, how could all be good, but they are. I am listening to it non-stop since yesterday and every time I do, I love the music more and more, discovering new sound elements every time. Every song takes me on the separate journey all the way to the fantastic "Epitaph". Badly Drawn Boy created an album of the highest quality and here in America it's such a great escape from all the crap that is played here on the radio. Badly Drawn Boy proved again that right now UK artists produce best music in the world, and they are far ahead of all American loud-mouthed metal-rappers and bubble gum boy bands. The Hour of Bewilderbeast is a must buy for a true music lover.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2001
One of the best albums i have ever heard. I remember seeing 'Once Around the Block' on MTV and MTV2 and finding it extremely annoying, i used to turn it off. Then 'Disillusion' started to appear and i thought u know this is pretty good... Eventually i bought it and i absolutely love it. It is an amazing album with so many stand out tracks and, what i have decided, is my favourite guitar solo of all time (almost) on Disillusion. This album is emotionally powerful with some great slow songs (The Shining, Magic in the air, this song, pissing in the wind) and some great funkier ones (Once around the block, Disillusion). Everybody's stalking really grows as well. I recommend this to ne one really, especially indie fans. Buy it now!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2004
The first time I heard this album was on board a flight to Cape Town. I then had the riff of Everybody's Stalking running through my head for the next fortnight! That and Stone on the Water are the most immediate tracks, but this is a surprisingly subtle album, full of delights. In particular, BDD's backing band is remarkably excellent - almost under-used in places, but excellent playing.
In fact, it would be one of the finest debut albums ever launched, though the studied eccentricity adopted by Mr. Gough towards his loyal audience. His attitude at live gigs is perverse in its cynicism - but this at least there is one way to appreciate the talents of this strange and shy artist. Buy and enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
This album is one of those that tells a story. It needs to be listened to from start to finish. I never get bored with it and have played it hundreds of times. Hammock music is how it's best described. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2001
Ever wondered what Kurt Cobain would have sounded like without the anger? This is as good a representation as you are ever likely to get. Now, I don't often buy chart albums, and certainly not usually on the strength of just one song, but along with that gorgeous cover comes eighteen, sepia-tinted, melancholic delights... so go on, spoil yourself.
The shame here is that many of these tracks appear to be experiments rather than discrete songs, but excellent nonetheless. I would guess that's what detractors are harping on about when they are less than complimentary about this album, but these experiments are many times better than the polished, sterile tat currently clogging up the album charts. And yes, if you get frustrated at Nick Drake's finite output then you probably will be thanking your lucky stars that this album exists.
It's certainly a grower, don't expect to be captured on first acquaintance because this is one of those collections of musings skillfully put to music that politely request your attention several weeks later whilst you're busy doing something else. Amazing, and quite unique, thank God there are still some singer-songwriters with imagination and a bit of integrity.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
A bit of song writing genius. I need say no more as the other reviewers have covered all the bases. Just buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2001
If you want to buy an album with a collection of radio songs, this isn't the one for you. "Hour..." flows much like Damon Gough's live shows, with songs, instrumentals, experimentation and viginettes included. This is a very lovely album with 4 or 5 really good songs, 2 great songs ("Camping Next to Water" and "The Shining"), and pleasant pieces of sound thrown in between. I give it four stars because I doubt whether this album has changed many lives or will prompt legions of devoted fans and future documentaries... it's simply not a "Low", "Loveless", or "London Calling". There are a lot of excellent elements to the record, but it's not really breaking NEW ground as much as it is revisiting old territory- from Pavement and Nick Drake, etc. You should still go out and buy it and expect even better things from Badly Drawn Boy in the future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.11

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)