Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the funnier seasons
Season 2 of Friends includes some of the more memorable episodes throughout the whole ten series in my opinion. This particular season focuses on Ross and Rachel eventually getting together, Joey making a huge breakthrough in acting by getting the part of Dr. Drake Ramoray in the top TV show 'Days of our Lives' and then subsequently getting killed off and Monica getting...
Published on 19 Jun. 2006 by Ms. B. Williams

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
It's Ok, It Seems Like An Older Version Which I Didn't Notice So Beware! It Has 2- Sided Discs And Thats Kind Of Annoying, On Average 4 Episodes A Disc Soooo... Consider That When Buying
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by WatchingObjects


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the funnier seasons, 19 Jun. 2006
By 
Ms. B. Williams "Beth" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Season 2 of Friends includes some of the more memorable episodes throughout the whole ten series in my opinion. This particular season focuses on Ross and Rachel eventually getting together, Joey making a huge breakthrough in acting by getting the part of Dr. Drake Ramoray in the top TV show 'Days of our Lives' and then subsequently getting killed off and Monica getting together with her father's friend Richard Burke (played by Tom Selleck) and the problems that causes.

The episodes I am talking about which I feel are the most memorable are the ones where Chandler gets a new flatmate called Eddie after Joey moves out. Eddie then ends up being a complete nutcase and Chandler after realising this cannot get rid of him! Season 2 also includes the first flashback episode called 'The One With the Prom Video' where we see Rachel, Ross and Monica as they were ten years ago. That first appearance of Ross with the afro has got to be one of the funniest moments shown on TV in my opinion.

There are loads of cameos in this season including Charlie Sheen as an old boyfriend of Pheobe's, Brooke Shields as a crazed fan of Joey who actaully believes Dr. Drake Ramoray is a real person, Julia Roberts as a vengeful old schoolfriend of Chandler's who proceeds to get her own back on him for flashing her knickers to the school 20 years ago, Chris Isaak as another love interest for Pheobe and Jean Claude Van Damme who plays himself and causes friction between Rachel and Monica as they both want to date him! As stated before we also have the introduction of Tom Selleck in the role of Monica's boyfriend Richard Burke which does end up being a recurring role as he comes back in later seasons.

The one thing I have noticed with Friends and this is with the benefit of the DVD box sets is that they seem to reintroduce characters who have played parts earlier as other people. For example, I noticed that Joey's agent Estelle actually appeared originally at the end of Season 1 as one of the midwives at Carol's giving birth. Also, Pheobe's brother who first appears in Season 2 actually first appeared in the episode where Pheobe resorts to busking after losing her singing position in Central Perk to Chrissie Hynde from 'The Pretenders.' He tips her with a condom!!

Anyway, as I have said before, Friends is a wonderful series but again I have had to take off one star for the double sided DVD's which is what I did with the first season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of the Manhattan -based show, 30 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I don't know why it happened in the second series, but I really think that Pheobe , Joey, Ross, Rachel,Chandler and Monica just seemed funnier in these episodes than any other. How could anyone forget the dark and mysterious Richard and his rollercoaster relationship with Monica, the breath taking scene of Ross and Rachel's first kiss, and the sound of U2's soft melodies as Rachel sits,heartbroken by her huge rain-splattered window? A must-see series for all loyal friends fans.In fact ...I think I'll go and watch it right now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With or without friends, 16 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
The 2nd season of friends is in my opinion the best season of Friends.
The writting is fantastic. Here we can watch the twists and turns of Ross and Rachel's relationship, from the time that Rachel realizes that she is in love with Ross but finds that he is dating Julie. There is a great scene, when Ross is talking with Julie on the Phone, and Rachel... Well, You better see it.
We can also see the how Ross finds out that Rachel likes him, their first kiss, and the famous list that made them break up for the first time.
You can't also miss the prom video, with the first appearence of fat Monica, and Rachel's pre-surgery nose. And last, but not the least, the first time where Ross and Rachel... You Know.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great season, 14 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
As series 1 series 2 of friends has some great episodes we start where series 1 ended where Ross is returning from china with new girlfriend Julie played by Lauren (Futurama) Tom and rachel is waiting for him at the airport to tell him how she feels about him only to get the shock of seeing Julie so starts the story of how Ross and Rachel get together also this series we see such stars as Tom Selleck appear a few times also special guests such as Julia Roberts and Jon Cluede Van Dam who plays himself appear in a special 2 part story about what happened to Marcel the monkey.

1 great series and a must have for any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The One With the "Smelly Cat" Video, 28 Dec. 2007
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
When we last saw our Friends, Rachel (Jennifer Aniston) had gone to the airport to meet Ross (David Schwimmer) who was returning from China. She'd gone to declare her love for him. What she didn't know, however, was that Ross was returning with a girlfriend, Julie (guest star Lauren Tom). Naturally, that means we get plenty more complications to the Ross/Rachel relationship. Will they ever get together? Find out in "The One with the Prom Video."

The other four Friends are experiencing trials of their own. Monica (Courteney Cox) loses her job and winds up searching for work. On the plus side, she starts dating Dr. Richard Burke (guest star Tom Selleck). The down side to that relationship is that Richard is old enough to be her parent. In fact, he is Friends with her parents.

Joey (Matt LaBlanc) and Chandler (Matthew Perry) go through the breakup of their relationship when Joey moves into his own place and Chandler gets creepy new roommate Eddie (Adam Goldberg). Meanwhile, Joey is enjoying the rise and fall (literally) of his career when he lands a part of the soap opera Days of Our Lives.

Phoebe (Lisa Kudrow) is the one character with the least in the way of story arcs this season. Not to say she doesn't get some funny episodes, like the one where she is possessed by a dead woman's spirit. We also see the debut of her signature song "Smelly Cat." And she starts trying to track down her father and gets half brother instead.

As you can see, there's lots going on in this season. The show was still new with lots of ground to be explored. And it was still at the top of its creative game with plenty of laughs each episode. I especially love the conversations where they are talking about one thing, but it sounds like they are talking about something else.

If you are a fan of Friends, this is a great season to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh Christov, my friends..., 2 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
An absolute MUST for all Friends fans, old and new. This is one of the finest seasons and as such features some of the finest episodes of the shows history, with all the characters firmly settled into their roles.
TOWT Bullies is probably my favorite episode of this season as it has some of the tightest dialogue and finest jokes. TOWT Two Parties sees Rachel's birthday going awry as they set-up two parties... one for her dad and her, and one for ehr mother and her. The antics and frantic action makes this a squeamish and nail-biting episode!
All in all, a great box set that all Friends fan will definatly enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Friends Series 2 - brilliant!, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Mason "Wit and Wisdom" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is the second series of the hit sitcom Friends, and it could in my opinion be the best of all ten series.
There are plenty of great laughs, great storylines, good acting etc. At first I found the double sided dvds a bit annoying but you get used to it; the only thing is that you have to get up and turn them over like tapes which is irritating if you're really comfortable! On the other hand, they take up less space which is more important in my tiny house.
This is the series where Monica and Richard date, Phoebe sings Smelly Cat, Rachel and Monica's weird neighbour Mr Heckles dies, Joey gets the part of Dr Drake Ramoray...the characters get more developed and it's easy to see how this show became a worldwide hit!

My verdict: buy it! I loved it and I'm sure you will too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Friends, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Contains many classic episodes including when Ross and Rachael get together and the first flash back to high school. Monica goes out with Richard (Tom Selleck) and there are many famous guest stars. My personal favourites are the Eddie ones. The picture quality had improved slightly and if you play it through a blu ray player that up scales dvd's and a HD tv then it is
of even better quality. Arguably in the top 3 seasons of the whole ten years. I am disappointed that there is no real extra's
and it is really annoying that you can not see which disc is which as there is just tiny writing saying "friends" and the year it came out, major annoyance as I have all ten seasons and have to keep loading them on to the blu ray player to see what episodes they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series., 12 July 2010
By 
Jingleman "ChasDude!" (Irvine, Scotland, Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Season 2 is, in my opinion, not the best of the ten. I am not, however, in any way saying it is bad. There are still some very funny and memorable moments, such as the fight that ensues after Joey licks a spoon and puts it back in the drawer and Joey and Chandler asking Carol about breast-feeding.

BEST EPISODES
Disc 1 Side 1: The One With Phoebe's Husband
Disc 1 Side 2: The One With Five Steaks And An Eggplant
Disc 2 Side 1: The One With the Lesbian Wedding
Disc 2 Side 2: The One Where Ross And Rachel... You Know
Disc 3 Side 1: The One Where Dr. Ramoray Dies
Disc 4 Side 2: The One With the Bullies

Rating: 4/5
Next: Friends: Complete Season 3 - New Edition [DVD] [1995]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars catching up with old friends., 20 April 2011
How I have enjoyed once more wallowing in the fun and friendship shown between this group of young people. It's a great show and makes me wonder what it would be like to have such close friends. A group who,no matter what, will be there for you.
I would heartily recommend this dvd to anybody who is in need of a pick-me-up. It will leave you laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995]
Friends: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [1995] by Jennifer Aniston (DVD - 2004)
£23.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews