Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Is This A Worthwhile Film?
I think it is near impossible describing the feelings that the film puts you through. A range of emotions sweeps at you once that disc is in your DVD player. Is it crap? Is the story good? What are the animations like? These won't be the last questions you'll be asking once the film starts and finishes. This movie is no pushover; it is a serious piece of work about the...
Published on 31 May 2005 by Gary H

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bizarre
Well I've just been on wiki to try and make sense of this film.

I understand now, but honestly had no idea what was going on. There are so many conflicting and incompatible scenes I had no idea when i was watching paranoid delusion, dream or reality. It isn't helped by the fact that Mima's on screen character is going through the same physiological conditions...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Mr. J. P. Allen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Is This A Worthwhile Film?, 31 May 2005
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I think it is near impossible describing the feelings that the film puts you through. A range of emotions sweeps at you once that disc is in your DVD player. Is it crap? Is the story good? What are the animations like? These won't be the last questions you'll be asking once the film starts and finishes. This movie is no pushover; it is a serious piece of work about the life of celebrities (though a bit exaggerated with the illusions and all) and is focused on one individual. Mima, who decides to have a career change. Her actions are explained but vaguely. The story revolves around her and her fans. One of the fans is an obsessive person willing to do anything to protect her image which leads to catastrophe. Mima has to combat her own 'ghost' and 'doubt', she worries about her actions and how it will affect other people's opinions like all the other celebrities that we see and thus leads to her doing almost anything to try and not disappoint the people around her.
The special features are different to the usual DVD format. It is styled into Mima's Room a website in the film. It includes a studio clip of the Cham singing and a music video with clips from the actual film itself. Interviews with the English voice cast gives a better picture of the whole plot and it contains some pretty good trailers of other animes too. Other features include links, credits and gallery.
The film succeeds in conquering the world with its influential aspect (everyone wants to know about celebrities nowadays), it is the general interest that attracts so many viewers to its attention and aura. Plus it is animated with an excellent cast of voices bringing the emotions of the situation to you strong and inevitable. No one should leave this anime out of their mind. If you aren't 18 yet then turn away quickly as the temptation to see it is overwhelming, but if you are allowed though with parental permission....... WATCH IT NOW! DON'T WASTE TIME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illusions don't kill..., 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
When it was first released in 1997, it was the realism that made Perfect Blue stand out from the science-fiction, horror and genre Japanese anime that we had been accustomed to up to then. That was not so unusual in manga comics, where the range of topics is rather broader, but to see an animated film of this calibre treated like a serious drama in a feature film was groundbreaking. Looking back at it now in the light of what would follow from this director, particularly Millennium Actress and Paranoia Agent, those qualities are still evident and the loss of Satoshi Kon last year is now only even more deeply felt by the cinema world, and not just anime.

What stands out now in Perfect Blue is not so much the realism that puts it closer to a mainstream live action film than your typical anime feature or series, nor even the clever techniques that Satoshi Kon would refine to an even more impressive degree in his later works, as much as the layered depth of the characterisation and the film's incisive premonitory exploration of the world that it is set in, looking at worrying trends in modern Japan and the underlying cracks in a disturbed society.

The film deals with Mima, a singer in a wholesome teen pop band, idolised by fans, who leaves her old image behind and tries to break into acting, but finds an obsessive fan is stalking her and seems to know more about her than she does herself, publishing a fake diary about her private life on the internet. The film questions the nature of fame and celebrity, examining the impact it has on Mimi as an individual caught up in the business, but Perfect Blue (as also in Paranoia Agent which would expand the theme) has wider implications on what it says about the Japanese society that voyeuristically buys into it, obsessively and in a manner that leads to dysfunctional behaviour and even violence.

This is handled just as seriously and as effectively as anything by Michael Haneke (Code Unknown, Hidden), Satoshi Kon likewise confusing the viewer by blurring the lines between fiction and reality to the extent that we are never sure whether the violence we are seeing is real or part of a cop drama that Mima is acting in (Satoshi Kon would refine this technique even further in his masterpiece Millennium Actress), at the same time tapping into the potential of the Internet and how it could be misused in a dysfunctional society.

There are certainly horror elements in the drama relating to split personalities and mental disturbances, but Satoshi Kon likewise uses these familiar genre conventions and puts them to the service of a serious drama that is treated realistically. There's perhaps nothing here consequently that couldn't be done just as effectively in a live-action movie, but the greater control that the director is able to exercise over every element of the design, the look and feel and the characterisation allow him to get to the heart of the subject and at the sickness that lies within in a manner that is completely that of Satoshi Kon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality animated thriller., 17 Jan. 2011
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
When a pop idol called Mima decides to leave her group and pursue a career as an actress little does she realise the affect that would have on the people around her. Some of her more obsessive fans are less than pleased with her new career choice.

Initially Mima receives a threatening fax but the taunts soon escalate and before long she even ends up as the recipient of a letter bomb.
She also discovers a website that is made to look as though she is the writer but this isn't the truth. More worryingly, the writer of site seems to know a lot about Mima's daily life.

After filming a scene for a TV drama in which her Character gets raped, this appears to have an affect on Mima's personal life when Mima begins to suffer from halucinations. Then the murders start.

This is a very good thriller with a clever story and good animation.
It kept me guessing till the end as to if the murders were the result of Mima's apparant failing sanity or if they were the result of the stalker that is following her around...or even if the stalker was a figment of Mima's imagination.

Well worth repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of anime, 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Satoshi Kon's debut film is a stunning and complex psychological thriller, reminiscent at times of Hitchcock. The central character is a young pop-idol who has decided to embark on an acting career. As the film progresses, a fan website which seems to know far too much about her and a growing conflict between her old and new identities begin to blur the line between fiction and reality in a powerful and effective way. The fact that the film is animated helps this process, and the animation, generally, is stunning - despite some slightly dodgy bits near the beginning. An excellent film, which shows the range of genres that animated films can successfully inhabit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intense anime, 30 May 2007
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I agree that this is no jolly ghibli like experience but then who says that all anime must be. This is a truly deep and dark delve into the human mind in a way that is relevant and very brave. The artistry and overal structure of the film is sublime and as a live action would have won acclaim, yet animate it and people get very uncomfortable. The disturbing moments that do dipict rape are very much fundimental to the reasoning of character development and are not i believe the whim of a director trying to shock. If you can stick with this film and open your mind to see the truth of this film you will be greatly rewarded by what I consider to be the bravest anime out there. You will have to watch a few times to grasp the whole picture of the storyline but thats a bonus in my opinion as who wants to buy something that they get bored with first time through? The only reason that this is not rated a five is because I found it to be a very uneasy experince that Understandably will limit its audience..NOT FOR KIDS..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 14 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
You will either love it or hate it. This is deep psycoligical thriller with amazing animation, voice acting and story. I watched this with my girlfriend we were both glued to the screen. It is terrifying on some levels and shows a side of celebrity lifestyle that would send chills down your spine. Everyscene opens up a new layer of plot and introduces scenarios that make you feel paranoid and confused. You end up feeling just a little insane wondering what is happening. The website and constant threats make Mima nervous and afraid of what she is becoming. Ends up losing her frigging mind you are left wondering who was responsible up until the very end you are dealt a swift punch to the gut. Everything wraps up in a bloody climax and its just chilling how messed up things can get. This was obviously exagerrated but for the most part its believable. Like watching a japanese britney spears on an acid trip (That aside britney spears shouldn't act ... ever!). I would call this a cult classic. Nothing in the anime world is as real and brutal as this. Giant robots and samurais just don't cut it (lol cut it). Being an anime fanboy I gotta say its been a while since I was this impressed not since End of Evangelion.

If you are tossing around the thought of watching this I say watch it alone. Its not a family movie and for some parts with my girlfriend there and her mother you'll just end up feeling awkward. Seriously get a microwave dinner and kick back its the kind of movie you need to focus on. All in all I say give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A psyco thriller!, 7 Oct. 2002
By 
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Usually, when you here the word Anime, you automatically think, some kind of sci-fi or mystical film of some kind. Well Perfect Blue is an actual thriller movie. It is true that you will get confused from time to time, but this film will scare you. The graphics are at a great standard, even the horrific scenes where you see a corpse will look realistic.
I won't give the story away, but if your feed up with the usual animes and fancy a change, give this one a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 10 Nov. 2001
By 
E Parry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
...(sorry to show off), I have just over 80 videos and a few DVDs and this one is still one of my favorites, in fact, I bought the DVD when I got my player even though I had the VHS already. It's never quite as good as the first time you watch it, because you have no idea what's going on until the end, and the plot twists are very surprising, but when you watch again, you notice more, and that's one of the things that can make a film great. Even when you know what's going to happen, it's still pretty to look at and the characterisation is well thought out so you appreciate it more on repeated viewings. It's not the easiest film to watch, as it has some disturbing and/or violent scenes, which are quite realistic for animation, and one or two sexual assualt scenes.
The animation is pretty good, and the drawing style is interesting. Satoshi Kon is clearly director too look out for, and this is his debut film, which means hopefully there'll be more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trippy!, 15 Jun. 2006
By 
Natalie Oughton "Natalie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This is most definitely one of the strangest films I have seen in my life! I still don't understand it and I must have seen it atleast 20 times!

You spend the first half an hour thinking, 'What? How on earth could this be even slightly relevant.' Perservere because you will spend the rest of the film thinking, 'oh my gosh yeah, with the... and the, where the..' It is strange!

This isn't one of the best drawn animes. The characters aren't particularly beautiful. There are some interesting images that really make an impression on you.

This isn't a sit back and half concentrate film. It's edge of the seat, full attention stuff. Really really fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the greatest film I have ever seen., 21 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect Blue is easily one the most powerful and evocative films I have ever seen (anime or otherwise); I ran through the whole gamut of emotions while watching this one. The drawing and animation style is extremely crisp and unqiue, the direction is consistently outstanding (particularly during Mima's mental 'descent' in the latter half of the movie), and the story is absolutely gripping. The film clocks in at around 80 minutes, so it's not a long production, but I think it's better for it, rather than run the risk of letting things drag on (and indeed, making the viewer even more confused). As for the DVD itself, the picture and sound quality are excellent, and it has a decent array of features too. A thoroughly deserved 5-stars for a truly exceptional film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD]
Perfect Blue [1999] [DVD] by Satoshi Kon (DVD - 2000)
£12.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews