Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly right!
I have wanted and needed a good easel for years, I have great respect for WN, but did searched others, prices were similar as were reviews, but I played safe and went with a name that I am accustomed to using, and was not disappointed. The easel is very sturdy, easy to assemble and use, and very light to move when loaded. it is a good size, for the floor space available:...
Published on 24 Nov. 2011 by Lizlass

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toy or serious piece of kit?
Before I could write this product review I had to rate it as a 'toy' which was odd for artist equipment but unexpectedly apt considering its minimal specification. A professional studio easel would be much more robust and - more significantly for a mass market 'toy' - expensive.

I am always surprised how the magic words 'Winsor & Newton' can bump up the price...
Published 23 months ago by H. W. E.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly right!, 24 Nov. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
I have wanted and needed a good easel for years, I have great respect for WN, but did searched others, prices were similar as were reviews, but I played safe and went with a name that I am accustomed to using, and was not disappointed. The easel is very sturdy, easy to assemble and use, and very light to move when loaded. it is a good size, for the floor space available: 51cm wide and will take a take large canvas length, It has taken a metre wide canvas, which was secure enough, but have not tried anything over that width so cannot say if a wider canvas would be comfortable on this easel. I have low ceilings so can only extend the height to 2mt 40cm, which is high enough for me. Horizontal position is handy and easy. In all: A very worthwhile purchase that I am happy to have made.

PLEA TO OTHERS: Could you please consider asking Amazon to re-categorize Art materials/equipment!, these items are not TOYS!!. Apart from making browsing/searching Amazon for Art items, it would limit the danger of parents buying for children, what we know to be unsuitable for children due to some toxic materials and dangerous equipment.........and highly insulting to Artists/craft people!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality - Oil/Acrylic easel, 1 July 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
Really solid once assembled (probably a two person job), built to last a lifetime. The overall height is substantial, the height in use is dictated by how high the base of the canvas is from the floor and NOT the size of the canvas itself, so if you want to stand for a small canvas you will be near the maximum height quoted, check your ceiling height before purchase! There is an extra holding screw / plate on the main beam which is not on the instructions - make sure you put this in before assembly or you will have to take it out again like I did. Overall I am really happy with this.

PS Amazon please introduce a hobby category, this is a serious studio easel NOT a toy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what I wanted, 31 Jan. 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
This studio easel is just what I wanted to provide a sound working base for my art work. It was well packed and arrived on time. It was as described and easy to assemble. All round a brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
Fabulous piece of kit! Easy to set up and understand. Quality wood and fixings. Lovely ratchet system to raise/lower the board holder. Sturdy and solid but light enough to move around if you need to.This will last me a lifetime.I'd reccommend to anyone for use in the studio. Not for mobile use out and about as it is too big. You will need a reasonable height ceiling as it is designed to take large boards. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio Easel, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
Having looked around at various options, I finally settled for this one. I am really pleased with the stability and the quality of it. I am currently working on a 90cm x 100 cm canvass and it copes no problem. Would definitely recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to assemble with instructions and appears robust and well ..., 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
speedy despatch and safely arrived. Easy to assemble with instructions and appears robust and well made. Others have mentioned the constraint of having a low (7 ft) ceiling with the high central support. The reason is due to the lower cradle for the canvass being an integral part of the longer central support -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will do the job nicely, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
Great easel, nice and sturdy it was a replacement for my old one. I'm sure This one won't need replacing for many years if at all. A good solid construction and lives up to the Winsor & Newton reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
This was a gift and was far too big to wrap but its great, what a good buy, well made, lovely wood and perfect for the job. Very much cheaper than in the shops too, a brilliant buy. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic easel. Does all it promises to do, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
Fantastic easel. Does all it promises to do, is well made and easy to set up. Accommodates my largest and smallest canvases at any angle and height I like and does not take up the whole room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
Ms. N. Whannel "niki1l" (Dumfries Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel (Toy)
Really robust. Really happy with this item. I was a bit worried ordering over the net. I though it might not be heavy enough. It was a quality brand and when it came it was just what I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winsor & Newton Shannon Studio Easel
£110.00
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews