Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steal of the century!
What an album! I bought a copy before Xmas from market place for 3!!!!! I haven't stopped listening to it yet!
I had first seen the 'tones live in '97 and they were great! They simply are the most underrated band of our time. For those in any doubt get this album or go see them live!
Published on 5 Feb 2005 by B. Hayes

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An uncommon stumble
I love the Bluetones. I should make that clear. Expecting to Fly is, in my opinion the best album of the so-called "britpop" era.

However, I'm simply stunned by the glowing reviews for Science and Nature on here. Don't get me wrong, it's not a terrible album and far better than most of the pedestrian rubbish that's being put out under the banner of...
Published on 8 Aug 2006 by hobbes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steal of the century!, 5 Feb 2005
By 
B. Hayes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
What an album! I bought a copy before Xmas from market place for 3!!!!! I haven't stopped listening to it yet!
I had first seen the 'tones live in '97 and they were great! They simply are the most underrated band of our time. For those in any doubt get this album or go see them live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Returning to solid foundations, 28 July 2004
By 
Mark Thomas "physics_mark" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
Following the slightly iffy meanderings of ... Last Chance Saloon, Science & Nature finds the Bluetones back doing what they do best - mixing pop rock listenability with smart lyrics, catchy tunes and just a pinch of heavier guitar strumming to dampen the sweetness of Mark Morris' sugary voice. There's clearly some slick production gone into many of the tunes here, and old and new vibes are fused fairly seamlessly into a competent whole. The result is a varied, splendidly entertaining CD that would benefit even more from having a bit more vigour to stir up some of the calmer tracks. Nevertheless, it's high quality stuff, and deserved to be plugged more than it was at the time of release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rather good, really...., 15 Mar 2004
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
I don't own any other Bluetones albums, and only know a handful of songs which aren't on this album, so I can't compare it to other stuff. All I can do is tell you about this album, and it's pretty damned good.
Two of the singles, Keep The Home Fires Burning and Autophilia, are still my favourite tracks, but throughout the album Mark Morriss' distictive vocals soar out in melody driven music which is generally delightful on the ears. It's hard not to like Last Of The Great Navigators and Tiger Lilly, and the closing Emily's Pine is beautiful.
This is one of those albums you get that you can't really fault. There are no 'bad' tracks on it, only ones that are 'less good' than the best ones. And so I would recommend it to you. It's hard to think of comparable artists, as The Bluetones have a distinctive sound (perhaps mostly due to their singer's voice), and this album sticks in my mind so much as an invdividual record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never heard of the bluetones until I saw them in support, 12 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
I went to see the Beautiful South where the bluetones were supporting. After this I went and bought a few of their albums. Science and Nature is excellent. A great mix of sounds that complement each other. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album that was criminallt ignored on release., 29 April 2008
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
Far more laid back that last chance saloon and more varied than expecting to fly, science and nature is a little eclectic. The title was meant to reflect the nature of the songs and it is pretty apt too. The iopening song is pretty straight forward pop, not a classic but a decent song none the less. the first single released from the album was keep the home fires burning, which may account for the albums lack of sales, it is an ok song but not a classic. Autophilia is a great pop track as is mudslide. Emilys pine and slack jaw are great closers, while ]tiger lily and last great naigator are just class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blend of songs, 10 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
I've owned this CD for a few months now and absolutely love it. It is a very impressive collection of songs - each different but still forming a very distinctive sound. Each has a lovely rolling style, each is very accessible and each is performed by a band seemingly at the top of their game. The vocals are exquisite, the guitar work typically creative of that Bluetones/Charlatans style. Personal favourites: Last of the Great Navigators; Basement Song and the brilliant Emily's Pine. Highly recommended and a great example of classic British indie/pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All over the place...but i like it, 22 May 2007
By 
P. Loraine "LFEE" (Gateshead-UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
There only album as a 5 piece and the additional member (Keyboards) shows with a few minor nuances. More gentle and laidback than their previous two albums but still showcasing their ability to write memorable songs. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute brilliance., 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Science and Nature (Audio CD)
This album is incredible. After the poor response given to the bands Western-Inspired 2nd album 'Return to the Last Chance Saloon', 'Science and Nature' sees the band return to their melodic roots. Lyrically and musically it is exceptional and right from the start of the album, The Bluetones show off their versitility. The opening track, 'Zorrro', is the heaviest (with possibly the exception of the instrumental 'Blood Bubble') and is reminicent of early Manics (only better and more uplifting!). Through the progression of the next ten songs, the Bluetones show that they can Rock, Roll, Swagger and Swing, whilst still retaining their indie credibility. Of the two import only bonus tracks, 'It's A Boy' with its 'Chaz ands Dave'esque piano and harmonies is the most impressive and is well worth paying the extra money for. The singles 'Keep the Homefires Burning', 'Autophilia' amd 'Mudslide' are all included and make 'Science and Nature' a Must-Have for any Bluetones, nay, Indie/Rock/Pop fan. There are songs to make you laugh, songs to make you cry and songs for when you just feel the urge to rock-out. Trust me, you'll be very, very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Form, 25 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
After the slight wobble that was the second album Return to the Last Chance Saloon, the Bluetones return with a beautifully crafted third act. To judge the album on the singles released is fruitless; just as the first album, the pleasure is derived from listening to the whole. The fact is this album swallows you up for it's run time and finishes on such a brilliant high, you just have to start it all over again, is a testament to how easily the Hounslow boys get under your skin. The standout tracks are "The Last of the Great Navigators", "Emily's Pine" and the beautifully poignant and criminally short "Slack Jaw". Also of note is the tremendous instrumental "Bloodbubble", just watch "Spaced - Series 2" to understand... Curiously, the weakest tracks are the two of the singles, "Keep The Home Fires Burning" and - the stretched beyond a joke - "Autophilia". But you just have to give in when placed inside a body of work so effortlessly enjoyable. Once again, Mark Morris' vocals are not pushed beyond their limits, but when he writes such beautiful and clever lyrics, it hardly seems to matter. The Bluetones aren't going to change the world any time soon, so just treasure them and play the album till you're old and grey, or it just warps and you have to buy a new copy to keep that smile on your face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musis Guide, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Science And Nature (Audio CD)
After the American-country-rock-meets-the-Stone-Roses sound of the Bluetones' sophomore release Return to the Last Chance Saloon, press on the band indicated they were up for a change in image and sound. Most suggested that the band's new sound was somewhat influenced by new wave, a seemingly bizarre and somewhat intriguing suggestion. What was produced, however, was considerably different. One track, the excellent paranoid rocker "Mudslide," which is complete with a new wavey keyboard hook, did sound like articles had hinted, but the rest of the disc was, well, more Bluetones. On every Bluetones release, they seem to get close to creating an excellent and truly memorable album, and then they end up coming up just short because something about their music just doesn't quite seem right. That is exactly what plagues Science and Nature from start to finish. There are excellent moments, such as the country-influenced single "Autophilia (How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Car)," but much of the album is composed of pleasant, but unspectacular, material similar to what made up the first two Bluetones albums. Granted, the material is much more concise and there is a bit more of a pop leaning, but at its heart, Science and Nature is pure Bluetones from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa335c834)

This product

Science And Nature
Science And Nature by Bluetones (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews