Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man just on making great music
Discounting a few CD reissues and live recordings, this is the first Man release for some half a decade. It was eagerly awaited by the band's fans.
The opening track "Conflict of Interest" gives notice that this is not just a further dose of traditional Man music. It sounds more like Patrick Moraz or Vangelis than Man. The song evolved back towards more...
Published on 3 Nov 2000 by John Peter O'connor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It has its moments
By far the best bits are the Ashton-Lord-Paice tracks, it's a shame this set didn't last a lot longer. The Whitesnake set is good, except for Robert Hart on lead vocals, he is awful. It's like he hasn't learned the songs properly, and at one point he's totally out of time with the rest of the band, but they very professionally bring themselves into his timing to correct...
Published 16 months ago by M. Cochrane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man just on making great music, 3 Nov 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
Discounting a few CD reissues and live recordings, this is the first Man release for some half a decade. It was eagerly awaited by the band's fans.
The opening track "Conflict of Interest" gives notice that this is not just a further dose of traditional Man music. It sounds more like Patrick Moraz or Vangelis than Man. The song evolved back towards more familiar style but still with a new slant.
This theme is maintained throughout the rest of the CD. While the music is recognisably Man, there are new sounds and styles to prevent things from getting stale.
My personal favourite is "Face to Face" it has everything that makes up the best of Man songs. Great music, surreal lyrics and a setting that gives plenty of scope for extended improvisation when performed live.
I must also mention the sleeve notes. As usual, when Deke Leonard is on form, these are almost worth the price of the CD by themselves. Commenting on the latest of the band's line up changes he notes that "Drummers are rather like underpants. - you have to change them regularly."
If you are new to Man, I'd not recommend this CD as an introduction. Their classic "Be Good to Yourself at Least Once a Day" is really the best way to get to know them but if you have, and appreciate some of their earlier work you will be very pleased with this demonstration that old Welsh rockers don't die, they just keep on producing great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album from one of the UK's premier bands, 13 Jun 2000
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
Conflict Of Interest (formerly Do It) opens the album and whilst obviously the same songs as was premiered on Star Club, it has developed from a very good songs to an outstanding one. The funky riff is led by Phil on keyboards rather than the guitars, and it's got a groove to die for. This represents Man playing as an ensemble at their best, and it contains the first of a number of outstanding guitar solos as well. Popemobile follows, and whilst I think this will be a long standing item in the live set, I'm not sure it works so well on the album particularly with some of the company it is living with. Another corking guitar solo is inlcuded here - the Jones boy is on top form throughout the album. Micky takes the vocals on Saints And Sinners which is one of three tracks which are fairly atypical of Man. The chorus is harmony heavy and the underlying feel is light latino - I love it although it's the type of track that will doubtless split opinion. Face to Face which follows has Deke singing and it a real slow burner - the lyrics abd delivery are dark and brooding and the song proceeds at a sombre pace. "All that glittering gold melts when you sell your soul" - obviously directed at you, EW! . An excellent extended keyboard/guitar solo in the middle. Interestingly, not a song favoured by all the band if the comment in the last TWC is anything to go by. The next two tracks are the others that are atypical of what we would recognise as Man. Hanging On is very upbeat and driven by Martin and Bob punctuated by Phil's keyboard. Also lifts a line straight from Dream Away - but, as Deke says, if you're gonna steal you may as well steal from the best (of which, more later). Also, yet another fine guitar solo. The only comparison I can make is with Go West (!) but's it's a grand track and lifts the mood wonderfully after Face To Face's more measured pace. Said mood is brought back down again by Tie Up The Wind which is, for comparision's sake, this albums Rainbow Eyes.......except that it takes said song, eats it up, chews it over, spits it out and any other such references you may care to make. This was the song that had Micky playing accoustic and is breathtakingly beautiful. It's not typical Man fare, but stick with it - it'll be worth the effort. Micky's singing is simply outstanding (as it is on his other two vocal performaces) and the song has a wonderful Beach Boys-y (or, more accurately, Brian Wilson'y) section in the middle. This could get played on Radio 2 quite easily, and that is not meant in any way disparagingly. The previously mentioned Victim of Love follows and it fits in better because of the contrast with Tie Up With The Wind but is still the weakest song on the album. The whole feel is a bit lumbering, and comes over as too much of an "ordinary" song for my liking. Mind you, there's any number of bands out there who'd love to be able to come up with something as good as ordinary. The closing number is Love Isn't Love which is uptempo although introduced by a keyboard/guitar moody intro. This is destined to be a stage favourite for some time to come I would reckon, and bounce along very merrily for a song which appears to be about the (weary) acceptance of what life has to serve up. The Brian Wilson influence appears at the end with a wonderful code taken straight from Good Vibrations on which the song fades out - a wonderful moment for a Brian Wilson fan like myself and a completion of the circle from the harmony days of the Bystanders. This is, all in all, an excellent album and one that will grab my attention for some time to come. There always seems to be an element of debate about Phil's involvement (cf. the discussion about TWC) but I think the balance on Endangered Species is right on the button. The playing and singing is uniformly excellent but I think pride of place has to go to Micky. His singing and solo'ing are truly exceptional, and this album has done well to capture the live feel of his solos which previous albums have not always done. Out of ten points, I'll give it nine - but that's only so the guys feel they've still got something to aim for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardy perennial Welsh Rockers Strike Back, 5 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
Hardy perennial West Coast influenced Welsh rockers Man return to life after a 5 year hiatus with a slow burner of an album. Their previous offering, 'Call Down The Moon' was arguably a more immediate sounding affair containing instantly digestable riffs and twin lead guitar harmonic lines throughout. This time around Man have paid due deference to their 1976 opus 'The Welsh Connection' combining a more laid back flavour with the vocals more prominent throughout. The opening funky feel of 'Conflict Of Interest', (formally entitled Do It), and the salsa rhythms of 'Saints And Sinners' are the exception rather than the norm of this fine record. The alternating vocal talents of Messrs Jones, Ace and Leonard lend themselves in varying degrees of success depending on one's personal choice. This is symptomatic of all Man albums and can sometimes produce less than even results that may have ultimately been a thorn to their endeavours to reach a bigger audience. Whilst Micky Jones continues to soar to new heights of guitar excellence complemented by 'new boy' drummer Bob Richards , Martin Ace and Deke Leonard seem to be going through the motions with little inventiveness that has so characterised their previous work. Criticisms aside however Man once again provide the listener with a valid demonstration of their ability to juxtapose long instrumental passages with tight vocal harmonics epitomised on such tracks as 'Face To Face' and 'Hangin' On'. The album loses a star however as the rather unfinished feel of the last track, 'Love Isn't Love' detracts from the more polished feel of the rest of Endangered Species. Surprisingly a highliht comes in the form of a beautiful ballad, 'Tie Up The Wind' with Micky Jones displaying probably his most emotional vocal contribution to the Man catalogue. Endangered Species is a strong contributor to the musical works in the history of Man and exemplifies the stubborness of thes guys to contines in the face of continued U.K. apathy. Endangered...? maybe...but musical treasures they are!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Tribute to the Late Great Tony Ashton, 3 Jun 2009
By 
C. A. Poustie (Pakret, Nonthaburi Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
This CD/DVD combo far exceeded my expectations, which were pretty high given that I had waited 9 years for its release since being at the gig in 2000. The packaging is very classy, wonderful multi-panel digipak with superb design, very attractive and very modern. Nothing like the "budget" packaging you often get on the more obscure releases...and which you might expect given the incredible value for money of this Double-CD and DVD combo. The whole production is real quality.

The DVD is a revelation. Having been at the gig, I was hardly aware that the concert was being professionally filmed. I had noticed a guy at the side of the stage with a camera, and what I assumed to be a fan in the crowd with another camera, but for those two cameras alone to capture not only the spirit of the gig so perfectly, but also capture pretty much everything going on onstage, was quite a pleasant suprise. Perhaps less is more camera-wise, because some big budget concert DVDs (Whitesnake?) with a multitude of cameras, are sometimes nauseating to watch with the constant flicking between camera angle.

As you might expect given that it was recorded at Abbey Road, the sound quality (I was listening in 5.1) is absolutely first rate. The picture quality is also of a very high quality, shot using state of the art equipment for the time, by film director Mike Figgis. Most of the show is shown in crisp colour, but there are also artsy black'n'white "atmospheric" shots interspersed.

The concert itself was a magical event and the DVD captures the vibe perfectly. The first few opening acts were an enjoyable aperitif, but for me, it all starts in earnest when Ewan McGregor introduces the main man himself and Tony and his band perform their set. The three-song set is highly enjoyable, showcasing Tony's wonderful talents as pianist/vocalist and showman and also featuring some lengthy jamming and great improvised interplay between Tony and his excellent guitarist (Laurie Wisefield). Tony is in fine form and seems to be enjoying the occasion. The audience, which at this point had just filled out, comes alive and the atmosphere rises up a few obvious notches.

Following on from the Ashton set we get the reformed version of the classic late 70's / early-80's formation of Whitesnake (Jon Lord, Ian Paice, Bernie Marsden, Micky Moody, Neil Murray, and some other chap handling Coverdale's duties). Much as I love DC, this band is a zillion times better than the current US version calling themselves "Whitesnake" and in my mind is a much truer version of the band. Not surprising really given that this is made up of five/sixths Whitesnake veterans whereas Coverdale's band is really just one/sixth. Anyway, griping aside, these guys dish up a set of crowd-pleasing favourites from yesteryear that really give the old afficianado's in the audience exactly what the doctor ordered. It is sing-along galore during the likes of Ready'n'Willing, Aint No Love and Here I Go Again. My only disappointment perhaps, and it is very small, is why did Lord play Here I Go Again on the piano when he had the Hammond by his side?

Well up to this point we'd had the aperitif of opening acts, we'd warmed up with the brilliantly entertaining Ashton jazz set, and we'd enjoyed the nostalgic Whitesnake reunion sing-along. But what happened next would turn an otherwise brilliant night into legend!

Since childhood my all time favourite album has been Paice Ashton Lord's one and only release: Malice In Wonderland - released in 1977. The idea of this doomed band ever getting back and reforming, even for a one-off, had never even entered the realms of possibility - not even in our wildest dreams. But when this gig was announced, this was what I, and many others there that night, had been daring to hope for.

And dreams do come true. Opening with the classic "Ghost Story" and continuing into "Sneaky Private Lee", the band, featuring Howie Casey in the Brass section and the original Backing girl vocalists, do a fantastic job of belting out the songs, true to the original, albeit with Bernie Marsden handling the vocals, with Ashton unaware that the reunion would take place. When Resurrection Shuffle, Ashton's signature hit from the seventies cranks up and Ashton takes over vocals, the party well and truly begins with the band and audience celebrating what had been a really fantastic evening. Ashton decides to launch into "Why Don't You Stay", which seemingly had not been rehearsed, and proceeds to shout out the chords to the band, which pick it up instantly and put in a stellar performance. It really is a lovely and emotional ending...with Ashton signing-off in style.

I would highly recommend this CD/DVD to all Tony Ashton fans (obviously), as well as any fans of the original Whitesnake and Paice Ashton Lord. Fans of Deep Purple should enjoy this and general fans of British rock/jazz/blues should appreciate it. List of featured artists are below;

Pete York
Eddie Hardin
Zoot Money
Jaz Lochrie
Johnnie Johnson
Dave Williams
John Entwistle
Zak Starkey
Gary Nuttal
John Bundrick
Tony Ashton
Len Skeet
Laurie Wisefield
Nigel Portman Smith
Chris Barber
Ian Paice
Jon Lord
Bernie Marsden
Micky Moody
Neil Murray
Robert Hart
Howie Casey
Geoff Whitehorn
Jeanette McKinley
Sheila McKinley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting tribute to Tony Ashton, 21 Jun 2009
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
Fabulous and highly awaited release.

Filmed and recorded at Abbey Road Studios at the Tony Ashton beneficiary show his friends put together for him in 2000 after he was taken seriously ill in the late 90s.

Featuring Tony Ashton himself with his `mate and old mentor' Jon Lord plus Ian Paice, Bernie Marsden, Micky Moody, Neil Murray, John Entwhistle and many more, it includes a lengthy and highly enjoyable jam session with Tony Ashton's own band.

The evening also saw two reunions; Whitesnake's classic lineup got together for the first time (Lord, Paice, Marsden, Moody, Murray - without Coverdale) and so did Paice Ashton Lord for a couple of songs from the Malice In Wonderland album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent jazz-rock fushion., 2 Feb 2002
By 
N. K. Ridley "nickrids" (LANCASTER, LANCS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
I bought this cd purely on the basis of the presence of the Little Feat rhythm section in the shape of Kenny Gradney and Richie Hayward. They certainly don't disappoint! Not really knowing what to expect, the music at times reminds me of Robben Ford type fushion with great guitar solos and hammond organ fills covering over the funky rhythm of the Little Feat duo. Although an instrumental cd may not be to everyones taste, this is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute to Tony, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Roy Matthews (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
A bit of a mixed bag here. I didnt like the way the video was filmed with all the odd and 'clever' angles but it does calm down after a while. The performances on the 2 cd's are hit and miss but mostly very enjoyable and everyone involved looks like they are having fun. It comes accross that there was a lot of love in Abbey Road that evening for Mr Ashton who although never reaching the dizzy heights of rock n roll stardom certainly lived the life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last , but not least., 2 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
This is the last of the studio Man albums that has Micky Jones on it, thus making it the last of the Man band albums IMO. As this topic is much discussed on [...] let me say that it is very good. The playing is tight and a genuinely new sound had emerged. This is Man for the 2000's, not a tired rehash of 70's grandeur. Never a band of great vocalists, both Deke and Mickey sing within their range and ability and this works well. Stand out songs for me are Conflict of Interest(also known live as "Do it") Face to Face and Saints and sinners. Even the trite words of Stuck behind the Popemobile are worth overlooking for the sizzling guitar work. I really do rate this album as being very consistant and very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It has its moments, 27 April 2013
By 
M. Cochrane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
By far the best bits are the Ashton-Lord-Paice tracks, it's a shame this set didn't last a lot longer. The Whitesnake set is good, except for Robert Hart on lead vocals, he is awful. It's like he hasn't learned the songs properly, and at one point he's totally out of time with the rest of the band, but they very professionally bring themselves into his timing to correct his error. Always good to see Marsden and Moody together (and they are on top form), and to have Paice, Lord and Murray with them, there's only one persion missing from the equation. All in all though, this product is not really worth the buy, you can already see the best bits on You Tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars their best album this century, 25 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Endangered Species (Audio CD)
Their best album since their last great guitar filled experience, Call Down The Moon. If you never heard any of their 600 other albums, this would be a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Endangered Species
Endangered Species by Man (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews