Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventies soul group popular in Britain, 20 Dec 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Looking at their chart history, it seems that Tavares were more popular in Britain, where they had four top ten pop hits, than their American homeland, where they had just one. Exactly why this should be so is not clear to me, but although Tavares were by no means the most important group of their era, they recorded some great songs.
This compilation includes all except one of their American top forty pop hits (Remember what I told you) and most of their ten UK hits, including a remix of Heaven must be missing an angel but not the original. While I would have preferred the original, the difference is not as dramatic as it might have been.
Heaven must be missing an angel, Don't take away the music, Whodunit and More than a woman (a track from the Saturday night fever soundtrack) were all UK top ten hits that made the American top forty pop chart. It only takes a minute was their only American top ten pop hit – it was a minor UK hit in 1986 having missed the chart, or maybe not been released, back in the seventies.
The mighty power of love (top thirty) and One step away (top twenty) are other UK hits included here, while Check it out was an American top forty pop hit. Other tracks include a cover of the Hall and Oates classic She's gone.
If you are interested in seventies soul music, Tavares are definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Oct 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I've bought this a s a stocking filler for my lovely other half for Christmas. We went to see a concert with Tavares in not too long ago here in Liverpool and they were still brilliant although a few of them have gone a little stiff over the years! They've been going since 1959 so that can be well forgiven I think!

This is a great cd with the Tavares songs we all love and know including More Than a Woman, Whodunnit, Don't take away the Music and of course Heaven Must be Missing an Angel! Brilliant. They started out as 'Chubby and the Turnpikes' They were even an opening act for The Jackson 5 in the 70's so you know they were great.

Great cd that'll have you dancing away with your lovely other half in no time! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tavares - Greatest Hits?, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought this on vinyl record years ago, so thought I would update to CD format.
All the hits you would expect from the brothers are here.....my only disappointment though is the eighties remix version of 'Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel'. Would have been good to also include the original version.
So many classic tracks have fallen victim to the drum machines of the eighties.............and sound so dated and lifeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally excellent but with one disappointment, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great compilation but as another reviewer has mentioned " Heaven must be missing an Angel" has been molested! The problem with this remix version is that it is "over percussioned" to the extent that at times it sounds like something from the Rio Carnival !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 2 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A great collection of timeless evergreen classics, from the days when singers relied on singing ability and not studio technology to sound good!

I love all the tracks on here, but was really disappointed to find that what is arguably Tavares best known song, "Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel" is not included. Well at least the original isn't included, what is offered in its place is perhaps one of the most dreadful, tacky 80's re-mixes I have heard. It sounded like Stock, Aitken and Waterman's collective mothers had been let loose in the studio!!!

I would love to know who makes the decision to include this kind of garbage on an otherwise great collection. Re-mixes are usually added to albums as bonus tracks, not replacements for the original. I still love the rest of the music though, but shame on EMI Gold for this travesty of taste!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Love this album, has all of their hits on here and some others that I haven't heard before, well worth getting this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Always loved tavares. This doesn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like some of the more up tempo tracks but some ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Like some of the more up tempo tracks but some are a bit cheesy which is typical of the era. Growing on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 9 Jun 2014
By 
H (England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tavares - The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Received the cd within a couple of days, it's sent me back to my youth... if only ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tavares - The Greatest Hits
Tavares - The Greatest Hits by Tavares (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews