Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues-rock band
This compilation covers the period 1967 to 1972 and contains the best tracks from their most famous period. They have recorded some interesting music since then, most notably the album Boogie 2000, which I've already reviewed.
Here you can find all their big hits. On the road again, my favorite track, was a UK top ten hit and an American top twenty hit in 1968. Going...
Published on 22 Feb 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction
There was a lot of blues around at the time of the beat boom but by the time Canned Heat emerged it had mostly become supercharged by Cream and Hendrix, psychedelicised by the likes of Jefferson Airplane or bludgeoned into submission by high-volume bands like Blue Cheer. Consequently, they sounded slightly dated and overly purist at the time, especially since their music...
Published on 3 Jan 2005 by Lozarithm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues-rock band, 22 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
This compilation covers the period 1967 to 1972 and contains the best tracks from their most famous period. They have recorded some interesting music since then, most notably the album Boogie 2000, which I've already reviewed.
Here you can find all their big hits. On the road again, my favorite track, was a UK top ten hit and an American top twenty hit in 1968. Going up the country became a top twenty hit on both sides of the Atlantic. Let's work together was Canned Heat's biggest UK hit, reaching the top three although it was only a top thirty hit in America. Bryan Ferry later covered it as Let's stick together and also had a huge British hit with it. Country singer Dwight Yoakam also recorded a great cover of the song, proving that a great song can be adapted to any style of music and still sound great.
If you remember and enjoy On the road again, Going up the country and Let's work together, then you will surely enjoy the rest of the music here, as those songs are typical of Canned Heat's style. The other songs are somewhat obscure but among them are a minor UK hit (Sugar bee) and a minor American hit (Time was).
If you enjoy blues-rock music, Canned Heat should appeal to you. This compilation contains all the essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 3 Jan 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
There was a lot of blues around at the time of the beat boom but by the time Canned Heat emerged it had mostly become supercharged by Cream and Hendrix, psychedelicised by the likes of Jefferson Airplane or bludgeoned into submission by high-volume bands like Blue Cheer. Consequently, they sounded slightly dated and overly purist at the time, especially since their music harked back to the more acoustic, less fashionable blues of Henry Thomas, Cleveland Crotchet and the Memphis Jug Band, to name just a few covered on this collection. I only knew their singles, so was pleasantly surprised to discover the longer, more experimental pieces like the twenty-minute Parthenogenesis and the live favourite Fried Hockey Boogie. Furthermore, they now sound a lot less dated than many of their contemporaries, due to the sincerity and integrity of their approach to the blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy birthday dear Dangermash, 27 July 2004
By 
dangermash (Hartlip, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
Just got this for my 40th birthday. Happy birthday to me. Hurrah!

I'd had it sitting on the wish list for a few months because I liked the first track (On the Road again) and the various Best Ofs on amazon.com were getting good reviews. Maybe there was a bit of me expecting to be disappointed. But I was pleasantly surprised. My kid sister has managed to pull out a winner.

You know how you sometimes buy a cd and find that there's a track on it that you know and like but didn't expect to be on there? Happened to me this time. That older grittier version of Bryan Ferry's "Let's Stay Together" with different lyrics that comes up on adverts on the telly? It's here. Track 9. I'm well chuffed.

The rest of the tracks were new to me but strangely familiar in places. Amphetamine Annie sounds like The Hunter in disguise, My Crime (I think it was that track) sounds like Hoochie Coochie Man in disguise and Fried Hockey Boogie sounds like the intro to La Grange by ZZ Top. Most of the album in fact hits well developed pleasure spots.

The cd insert was lousy though. No lyrics, no listing of band members and no track times. Given that 13 of the tracks are standard 2-3 minute fare but that track 11 (the ZZ Toppy one) goes on for 15 minutes and the final track for 20 minutes you'd have thought they'd say something.

That last track (Parthenogenesis) is one that I'll be skipping in future. 20 minutes of what can only be described as "experimental" music - the sort of thing Pink Floyd did between the Sid Barret days and Dark Side of the Moooooo.... when they'd have 7 minute tracks of people cooking breakfast.

On balance, though, 4 stars. Tracks 1 and 9 are classics and only one (long) track of filler.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

August 2008 - Worth adding that Going to the Country is currently featuring in an ad on the telly for a supermarket (can't remember which) where there are 100 or so people going for a picnic with a giant picnic blanket. You know the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars comes out of the can cold, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
Two great tracks - Going Up The Country and On The Road Again both reworkings of old country blues featuring the ethereal vocals and pan pipe playing and harmonica of Alan Wilson . The rest is pretty awful - mainly old blues numbers not so much dusted off as given a lick and a promise . Not what it says on the tin .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thet were Good Enough for John Lee Hooker- who played with them., 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
A good collection of one of the very best white blues bands. John Lee really enjoyed them and I love playing this time and again. Their tracks are played by countless other gigging blues bands and this CD is great in the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
I heard this band on a mixed cd and could not believe that I had forgotten them
So that's why i bought this cd it was a blast from the past and very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars America at it`s best !, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
Great songs, especially "Let`s work together" and "Going up the country", as the song says - I`m going to a place where the water tastes like wine, You can jump in the water, Stay drunk all the time - Classic !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
It is the best of Canned Heat, they like most bands of the time pedalled music for the sake of it to keep their place in the psyche of the fans, I like most of the tracks on this though there are a couple I do skip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
Takes me back to my youth. Forgot just how good Canned Heat were. Good listening to while driving with the windows down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Canned Heat Very Best, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Canned Heat (Audio CD)
Just sit back and listen to the bears vocals throughout the album. Canned Heat do not get the same airplay as there contemporaries of the era but don't let put you off, if you like this try listening to the Grateful Dead another of the cult 60's bands that deserve more notice and recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Canned Heat
The Very Best of Canned Heat by Canned Heat (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews