Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Emperess of Blues
Miss Dinah had a perfect blues diction and a salty, bitter, gritty voice that distinguished her from her contemporaries, matching her turbulent, novel worthy life, that showed in her interpretations. She was both worshiped and disliked, probably in equal measure during her life. What is surprising is how she is still overlooked as one of- if not the best- blues/ jazz...
Published on 16 Dec 2009 by Ms. S. M. Menezes

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential? Whatever they say
No doubt Dinah Washington's Big Long Sliding Thing is not included here as its one of the rudest songs ever-and is not about playing the tromboone!
In fact its more about the real Dinah Washington who was not only a husband beater but 6 ex husbands were unable to satisfy her.
How did this person get to be considered anything like essential?
Still she wasn't...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Emperess of Blues, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. S. M. Menezes "Susana" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
Miss Dinah had a perfect blues diction and a salty, bitter, gritty voice that distinguished her from her contemporaries, matching her turbulent, novel worthy life, that showed in her interpretations. She was both worshiped and disliked, probably in equal measure during her life. What is surprising is how she is still overlooked as one of- if not the best- blues/ jazz singer of all times.
This compilation goes a long way to showcase her talent and because it was remastered, it lost that scratchy sound quality- or lack thereof of the original recordings. So kudos there. It should have included, though, one of my favourite Dinah songs: "I wanna be around". Man! Never a bitter broken heart was so well sang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 3 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
I have often heard Dinah's music on TV and in restaurants, but was unaware that it was her. Classics such as what a difference a day makes, mad a bout the boy for example. There are also songs that I hadnt heard before but now love such as cry me a river.
I would recommend this album as it is interesting to see where current artists such as Amy whinehouse for example get their influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dinah at her finest !, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
This is one of the best hit compilations from Dinah Washington I've heard, the CD covers many different styles all sung in Dinah's individual style, there are many all time classics on this CD all done in her impecable style. A great easy listening CD, with Jazz style undertones - a good listen all round !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
The basic album, great music, excellent vocals. Essential in the collection I bought to introduce a friend to something different
My friend is thrilled with the relaxed feeling she gets listening to this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant voice, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my friend who having heard my own copy loved it so much I had to buy her a copy as well. Great listening for lazy days, driving the car or partying with friends. Every song is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make like this anymore!, 17 Aug 2009
By 
M. K. Gebbie "kiwi" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
This is a truly lovely CD and what a voice. I can listen to this over and over again. 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like the title says..Essential, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
A good introduction to Dinah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential? Whatever they say, 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION (Audio CD)
No doubt Dinah Washington's Big Long Sliding Thing is not included here as its one of the rudest songs ever-and is not about playing the tromboone!
In fact its more about the real Dinah Washington who was not only a husband beater but 6 ex husbands were unable to satisfy her.
How did this person get to be considered anything like essential?
Still she wasn't the only pill popper and drunkard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION
Diva: THE ESSENTIAL COLLECTION by Dinah Washington (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews