Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joan the Maid
Which is the best film Joan of Arc is one of those questions that film buffs reserve for a good long discussion. I found this one pretty good but not I think the best (for my sins I like the Messenger, so I'll apologise now). However, this manages to give us a pretty believable Middle Ages (everyone is covered in as much clothing as possible) although the American accents...
Published on 15 Mar 2010 by Charles Vasey

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Joan d'Arc
This is not a bad film and can be recommended to anybody who does not know much about this story and would like to get a visual picture of it.

It is well filmed, and the director and the actors clearly respected their subject and tried to do their best.

However, the real story of Joan d'Arc is so astonishingly unique and so full of religious,...
Published on 3 Dec 2006 by Olga A. Baird


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Too many films today have modern sounding scripts that don't work with period dramas, but this one doesn't fall into that trap. A great film and well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best historical, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best historical films I've seen- I dont claim to be an expert but I got a fair few!
The story is inspirational, the religious side isn't overplayed- acceptance of her belief in her religion & country is all important, your personal allegiance(s) arent. As nearly always with historical films, some liberties have been taken, but not anywhere near enough to grumble about.
A fantastic DVD that I've owned for many a year & will keep returning to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
I have wanted this DVD for quite some time and found it at Amazon,it is a great story of a young girl who takes an army to war and wins. She is thanked by being burned at the stake,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning about Dutch release, 14 July 2010
By 
Michael Hood (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the Dutch release being offered on this page and received it today. The box clearly states that this is the full version. On the front is "3 uur" (3 hours), and on the back is "Speelduur 183 minuten". However, the case contains the shortened version, only 134 minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent telling of the Joan of Arc Story, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent and very entertaining retelling of the Joan of Arc story. Granted, it's not 100% historically accurate, but covers more of the story than The Messanger and more accurately. This movie is also more interesting and you find yourself caring much more about LeeLee Soieskis Joan than Milla Jovovichs. Still both movies are excellent and if you buy one you should seriously consider buying the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Joan of New York, 6 Oct 2012
By 
R. C. Ross (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Visually beautiful - the costumes, the sets, the actors, the filming.
But that's about all this film has going for it.

The acting is two-dimensional and never convincing, not even for a moment - no, not even Peter O'Toole.
The dialogue is even less convincing than the acting - trite and shallow in the extreme.
The film is strangely emotionally flat - flat as a sheet of ice.
While the incongurous accents and manners of the leading actors never allow the viewer for one moment to imagine that this is a film about France!

The film does offer a sort of history lesson, in its broad strokes - very broad strokes.
But the account of Joan's life and mission deserves very very much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Droning Joan, 18 July 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review of the Dutch version of this DVD. There are no extras.

Whilst watching this `movie', I sensed that it had been created for television, especially as the large effort made in terms of set design, costume, weaponry etc had resulted in a production watchable in only 4:3 ratio. Digging a little deeper, I see that I was right. This `movie' was initially a CBC mini-series.

That in itself, of course, is no reason to give a bad review, for the result certainly has cinematic pretensions. As well as the aforementioned production efforts, the film does have other areas worthy of praise. But, I'm afraid, there are areas too that give cause for concern.

For a start, the opening lines that we see on the screen inform us that we are in the "Dark Ages" and they mention the "Great Prophet Merlin" (huh?). And the film implies that Joan did have some kind of divine communication, rather than she merely thought that she did. (Luc Besson's film `The Messenger' with Milla Jovovich in the Joan role cleverly implied the latter.)

Having said that, the film plays along more or less with the history of Joan as we know it. The one big departure is to see Bishop Cauchon (played in headmasterly fashion by Peter O'Toole) portrayed as the French king's adviser, when he was actually a supporter of the Burgundians and the English! (For those wanting to explore the original sources for Joan's life, see my Amazon review of `Joan of Arc - La Pucelle' (Manchester Medieval Sources).)

The two main players in this film - Leelee Sobieski and Chad Willett - were unknown to me beforehand; the former was not a good choice, in my opinion, for the role of Joan, but Willett certainly does shine as a very good actor. Sobieski's voice is the main issue, her monotonous New York City drone becoming more annoying as the movie progresses. But also annoying is her clean hair, fresh complexion, and perfect teeth.

The script could have been better. Characterisation is generally in terms of black and white. Lacking much subtlety, it is perforce laden down with much exposition. And twentieth/twenty-first century values and ideas are clumsily superimposed on fifteenth-century events: thus we have talk of `military advisers' and much comment on `liberty'. And the soundtrack is too intrusive, the music not hinting but bludgeoning us to feel in certain ways.

Overall, if I had to choose between Luc Besson's `The Messenger' and Christian Duguay's `Joan of Arc', then I would choose the former. It is a far more interesting piece and Jovovich a far more believable Joan than Sobieski.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vive la france!-with 'american ' accents ---oh please!!, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
This is just the type of dvd that i HATE!I simply cannot understand why this has to be done.i mean,of course,dreadful casting,which spoils the whole thing completely . So,so sorry to be so negative,but it becomes really difficult to concentrate on a film with your teeth standing on edge AND the volume turned down,from the main character.iF the accent is not american,i apologise BUT still the accent doesnt fit.[whatever it is].No need to go into the story of course , it is historic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just dreadful..., 3 April 2013
By 
Ben Soden (Worldwide) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan of Arc [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I love history...and i always (usually) enjoy historical films and TV shows. Master & Commander, Rome, Apocalypto, Seven Samurai etc always leave me fulfilled and happy when i see justice done to a subject. I came to this after enjoying the luc besson version and after reading the 3 huge tomes by jonathan sumption on The Hundred Years War. I must also admit i was a little swayed by the amount of stars this film has (undeservedly!) received.

The good: Peter O'Toole brings his usual force and presence to an otherwise weak cast.
...yes and thats it.

The Bad: The whole thing is shot in an over-dramatic way in a hideous soft focus. It felt like i was watching an episode of Dynasty or Dallas that had quantum leapt into the middle ages.
The dialogue is weak and the delivery is bad, bordering on dreadful at times. I literally felt no emotion for joan of arc (i can totally understand why this 'actress' is absent from any production of distinction), dougie howser Vs John Malkovich in the role of the dauphin is a no contest. The rest of the performances are littered with bit part of actors of little merit trying their best but inevitably failing.
some of the sets are well constructed and believable however some of the armour and equipment looks like it has been borrowed from the set of xena warrior princess.

Summary: I am absolutely astounded that some people have given this 5 stars??? admittedly I did not watch the whole thing to the end as it was so dreadful and 1 of our cats vomited on the floor which to be honest came as a bit of a relief...the cats reaction spoke for us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Joan of Mediocrity', 3 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Joan Of Arc [VHS] (VHS Tape)
There can be no comparison between this film and 'Joan of Arc - The Messenger' simply because the Messenger is well acted, well scripted and well edited. This version of 'Joan of Arc' is not. The previous five star rating is due to Amazon only receiving one review posting. In summary, this film has a made for TV feel, and as such deserves no more than two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joan Of Arc [DVD]
Joan Of Arc [DVD] by Christian Duguay (DVD - 2003)
2.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews