Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more like it!
When Optimum released Besson's films on BD a couple of months ago, they made a huge mistake with The Big Blue, releasing a film that was originally filmed in English with only a dubbed French soundtrack. Many people, myself included, sent their copies back in disgust, and I am delighted to say that "people power" has worked for once, as Optimum have seen sense and...
Published on 13 Nov. 2009 by S. P. Long

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just got the disc - going to send it back - only French soundtrack!
I've been waiting for this BD for the last two months, just to discover now that it's coming with the French dubbed sound track.
They did film this movie in English, so it's really disappointment that the original English sound track is not an option.

Buyer beware!
Published on 14 Sept. 2009 by Gilad Hinberger


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIND ME THE FRENCHMAN, FIND ME JAQUES MAYAL�, 16 July 2004
By 
Cyril Klopper (BELLVILLE, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Blue [Version Longue] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
PLOT: A young man (Jean-Marc Barr) with virtually no interest in human society is persuaded by a friend from his past (Jean Reno) to enter into a free-diving competition. The young misfit soon receive the tender devotion of a American girl (Rosanna Arquette) but his inability to reciprocate her love is compounded by his obsession with the sea and his gentle bond with dolphins.
THE DISC: Extras consist of a Theatrical trailer only. Very disappointing were it not for the Extended version of the film featured on this disc. The extra 50-odd minutes detract a little from the 'mysterious feel' of the theatrical version but its good to see the friendship between the Jaques and Enzo characters being further developed. The previously unseen footage in the diving-bell is a hoot!
CONCLUSION: A fantastic film! Very deep... excuse the pun. A must see for everyone who has a romantic heart and a knowledge of loss. The music is beautiful and the photography stunning. It is a film with very few equals.
WARNING: The lead actor and actress do little for the film and its' only the beautiful photography and irrepressible presence of Jean Reno that make the film stand out as it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dubbed in french, 25 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Big Blue [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
So disappointed by this new edition, no english soundtrack, only french available, dubbed !!!!!
Do not buy it !!!
d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good dvd, but could be so much better!, 8 Nov. 2009
Finally, after the cretinous September 2009 release, which featured the extended Director's Cut in a dire French-language dubbed version with English Subtitles, we get the original and proper English-language version!

The film is excellent, and the picture quality is beautiful. However, the sound is only Dolby 2.0 Stereo, and there are no extras of any kind on the DVD version. (Blu-Ray owners who buy this film, get the option to also view the original 1988 theatrical cut, running to around 2 hours, plus two trailers, and a "Making Of" featurette,but not the one mentioned below!)

In all honesty, the film is still worth purchasing, but why oh why did Optimum not do a really good quality multi-disc box-set release including:
Disc 1) The original Theatrical Cut, in English, with a DD 2.0 Surround soundtrack (with optional French-language soundtrack)
Disc 2) The Director's Extended Cut, in English, with a DD 5.1 soundtrack (with optional French-language soundtrack
Disc 3) The 90-minute making-of, complete with newly-translated English subtitles (as the soundtrack is in French) that exists on the French double-disc DVD edition (available on Amazon.fr), plus all the trailers too?
Discs 4/5) The complete double-CD release of the Le Grand Bleu soundtrack score, by Eric Serra, AND
a reprint of the lovely A5-sized full-colour booklet/brochure that came with the original 20th Century Fox VHS release of the Director's Cut too.

Now, THAT would have been a truly great version of the film worth buying! Maybe one day, someone will release this in a nice, deluxe set, like that I've mentioned. Until then, I guess this will have to do. A great movie, but how it could have been so much better if someone had just done a little bit of research into the film and what materials exist out there!

ADDENDUM: The Amazon listing is wrong: the running time is definitely 164 minutes, and not 115 (which applies to the Theatrical Cut only, and that is only on the Blu-Ray release)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Blue - Big Disaster!, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
Fraught "G" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
Can't believe this Blu-Ray disc has a dubbed version of the film! Talk about a terrible decision! I've just handed my copy of the film back to the shop... i've still got the DVD... that'll have to do!

I'm very sad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What The ..., 24 Sept. 2009
By 
L. Nezar (Pretoria, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My most favorite movie of all time has been raped! I can't believe that a movie that was shot in English is being sold to the English population in dubbed French, without even an option to listen in the original English, this is travesty of everything pure and original (Something even the French understand). The Amazon UK description does not even mention this to the unsuspecting public. Did they print too many French release Blu-Ray's and now don't know what to do with them? The purpose of Blu-Ray is to enjoy the hi-def scenery, not concentrate on subtitles. I feel cheated and am sending mine back in protest, all the way back from sunny South Africa, and believe me; I'm losing a lot of money in doing so (duties/shipping).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eye candy galore in this cinema du Luc, 15 Dec. 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Big Blue [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Luc Besson's The Big Blue is perhaps the best example of the French 'Cinema du Look' genre. This is defined as style over substance or spectacle over narrative.

It all looks absolutely gorgeous, from the stunning marine cinematography to the picture-postcard perfect travelogue material in Sicily, Italy and Peru. The Blu-ray transfer is extremely clear too, putting many more recent movies to shame. If you can stomach the cheesy 80's synth soundtrack, audio is very good too, with extensive surround sound effects.

Why then just the three stars? Well simply because not a great deal happens, and when it does, it happens slowly and quirkily. The plot centres around the rivalry between two childhood friends (Barr and Reno) who meet again as adults and strive to outdo each other as the world's greatest free-divers. Love interest is provided by Rosanna Arquette, who seems to be channelling Goldie Hawn at her scattiest and who falls for Barr's cute little merman charms. No-one seems to take matters that seriously - the characters are little more than caricatures and much of the acting is outrageously hammy (or should that be ironic?). Even when tragedy strikes it's all done in a whimsical, dreamy manner. Despite my criticism though, bits of The Big Blue stuck with me (notably the underwater champagne toast and the moving if ambiguous ending) and I realised I was watching this movie with a big silly grin on my face half of the time.

At just 12 minutes short of 3 hours, The Big Blue threatens occasionally to overstay its welcome and it took me two sittings to get through it but, ultimately, I'm glad I did. For feel-good, whimsical fluff that looks terrific, this is hard to beat. Oh and the dolphins are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Terrible Release, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Michele Neylon (Carlow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When the film was released on bluray in the French market I grabbed a copy and was disappointed to discover they'd opted for the French dubbed audio version. I was annoyed, but as that bluray was only aimed at the domestic French market I could almost understand the logic behind the decision. However when I got my copy of the UK release today I was shocked to discover that they'd made the same stupid choice of audio track! Rosanna Arquette and most of the cast are dubbed! I'd also echo someone else's comments about the overall "deal". If you get the French BD release you also get Atlantis, whereas in the UK market you'd need to fork out for a separate full price disc.
All in all Gaumont's gain is our loss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressed, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
T. Marshall "Tim Marshall" (Warrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Appalled that this is the horribly dubbed into French version and annoyed the site didn't mention it. Talk about getting the short straw in the UK, the US version of this I believe is the version I was expecting and also comes with Besson's Atlantis thrown in for good measure. Here in the UK we get the awful dubbed version and barely any extras to speak of.
I'm gutted as I love this film and whilst it looks brilliant it is sadly unwatchable in this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Apalling, 14 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Blue [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I was looking forward to receiving Luc Besson's 'English Language Debut' only to find it is the French Dubbed version with English subtitles! This version has been available for years and for much cheaper than this new release. I have returned my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sea our great regressive mother, 6 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Big Blue [Version Longue] [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Luc Besson is the most surprising person in the cinema industry. He is able to transform any banal, ordinary, simple, even superficial story into the deepest mirror of human fate. Here he deals with the sea, this mother of us all. A young boy loses his father who dies when diving for a living, to exploit the natural fauna of the deep sea. The angry mother the sea took the father away since the mother of that child was no longer here. The sea provides him with a new surrogate father : the world champion in deep diving. This new father is going to guide him onto a way that leads ever deeper and ever longer under the water. These scenes are fascinating because they are short and they stir in our minds all kinds of fear, fright and fantasm. But this fate that calls him to the sea becomes a dilemma because the sea provides him with a new family of dolphins, with their language, their playing games, their grace and beauty, their call for the deep, for joining the sea and merging into it. What happens when a girl comes into the picture and reveals to Jacques his male genetic fertility ? That’s the drama. The angry mother the sea strikes again and takes the surrogate father away in a crazy challenge to go too deep and die there. Then the call of this angry mother is too strong. Then the call to go back to the cocoon of the fœtus is too strong. Luc Besson reaches here in simple images and poignant scenes the mythic level and we can hear in the back of our cultures all these episodes about the survival of humanity after the big flood, Noah is here with his Ark, Moses with his crossing of the Red Sea, but also all the other myths from all over the world that have to do with this sudden unexplained rise of the ocean level. And then Luc Besson produces a cult film that will probably never die and is as universal as Oedipus.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Université Paris Dauphine, Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Blue [Version Longue] [DVD] [1988]
£4.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews