Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People of Wisconsin might be offended
I'm Catholic, and I loved this film. should anyone be offended, it is people of Wisconsin, not us Catholics. The film is full of clever lines referring to Christian mythology and theology, and despite the disclaimer which says that it is merely a comedy, there are some referrence to issues that dog modern catholics. While it is not 'religious film' per se, it certainly...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by A H Kobayashi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dogma
I'm not a big fan of this film. I found it a bit boring and i thought it was saved by Jay and Silent Bob and also Alan Rickman as Metatron who is the highlight of the whole film.
Published 8 months ago by dozza


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buddy Christ!, 3 July 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is great for so many reasons!

Alan Rickman was a great surprise for me, his delivery is just perfect as Metatron. The 'wings unfurling' is one of my favourite film moments as is the gory end which I feel is such an eerie and strangely stirring image.

Ben Affleck is one of those actors who has been viewed as a bit naff over recent years, which is a shame as he is one of the best actors around. Although his performance in this isn't as career defining as the one in Chasing Amy, he is still a strong actor who helps to confirm this as a classic film. His performance compares nicely with Jason Lee as Azrael, who also manages to act his knackers off to make the character truly believable.

The plot is simple(ish) and is not intended to mock Catholicism, instead it mocks the modern culture of rebarnding and selling what we already have. In this case "Buddy Christ" the new hip and trendy idol for the masses is introduced to attract more people to the church. Set with moral dilemmas of abortion clinics, and a holy war which could destroy the world - this is a funny and yet thought provoking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dogma: Classic? I think so, 11 Aug 2002
By 
Billy Davidson (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Dogma shows exactly how far Kevin Smith has come from the days of Clerks and Mallrats. Critics say that while Smiths writing is all in all pure brilliance, his direction is still lacking. This is a lie! How anyone can say that Dogma was poorly directed is beyond the powers fo my simple brain. The Boardroom scene at the Mooby Headquarters is one of the best directed none oscar winning scenes of all time! And anyone who disagrees is just wrong. Very wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY FUNNY!, 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This DVD is great. There wasnt much fuss about it at the time i watched it but it was well worth the money and is one of those films i like to watch again and again! Religiously it was fine and strengthened beliefs rather than weakening them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this DVD, 16 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest films I have ever seen!The twists to modern beliefs should please anyone, no matter what their religion.The bad language may put some people off, but the plot is just too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alanis isn't God, Kevin Smith is!, 17 Jun 2001
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Every time Kevin Smith makes a film it gets better. The thoughts and idiosyncrises ('scuse spelling) that are in all his films make you remember him and are every present in this film. If you haven't sen it, why not!. This is one of my top 5 movies, get your butt 2 a shop and get this film. It is an essential for any collection. Plus Jason Lee in a white suit, your unconventional image of a demon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOGMA, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] (DVD)
C**p film. Would not recommend and im a fan of Matt Damon and Ben Afflick. Thank goodness that i didn't buy this new( no problem with sellers...just the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Controversial Movie That Just Wasn't So, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I first saw dogma when it came out in the cinema - told from my friends that it would offend my Catholic sensibilities; expecting an american trashy hollywood production which gives you some of that mushy stuff, some buddy-stuff and of course some skin-stuff i was not disappointed, it hardly qualifies as a religion movie and it really isnt offensive - how could it be; the baddie is killed by a golf club blessed by a roman catholic bishop; despite the 13th apostle bs and yarn about how wrong the catholic church has it; stigmata anyone? its fine for a two hour entertainment and if u really have never thought about religion yes it will make u think, but only till u round the corner to that haagen-dazs place, dont expect too much and u wont be dissapointed by this comedy-action hollywood classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dogma is the best, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
i have seen dogma and its really good especially when metetron comes (played by the wonderfully alan rickman)all the cast are kinda funny and some bits are not and i would advise you to buy it on video as i am going to dolater this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I watched this film on the reccommendation of a friend, a fellow Atheist skeptical of organised (and diorganised) religion. Maybe I expected too much from it, maybe I missed a few jokes (because, let's face it, I'm not the most clued up on Catholicism) but it didn't really do anything for me.
The constant violence and bad language becomes tedious throughout the film, and it's only saving grace (I believe) was Alan Rickman's portrayal of Metatron, the Voice of God. He really should stick to comedic acting, he's so much better at it.
Although this film is filled with stars, it is frankly quite disappointing. Yes, it got a few chuckles out of me (I don't know why, but God doing a handstand up a tree and falling over was one of the very few moments that I found amusing...doesn't say a lot for the film, really, does it?),but nothing stood out enough for it to be a great film. It's just OK.
And as for it's claim to be controversial and provocative, well, I didn't find anything in it to upset anyone, really. The script lacked, I think, because the actors used what they had as best they could, they just didn't have a lot of ammo.
Could've been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth it., 22 Jun 2010
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I bought this DVD to watch only to realize I'd watched it before as a kid. Well, as a kid, I loved it. As an adult, well, the movie gears towards commical weird view of Christianity but I'm sorry but its just stupid.
I mainly bought it cos of Ben Affleck and Matt Damon's involvement in the movie but well, they were young too.
If you still want to get it, sure, but its not worth it. Maybe in those days, but not now. Just not interesting as much as it tried to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dogma [VHS]
Dogma [VHS] (VHS Tape)
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews