Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars46
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2006
After listening to all of HIM's albums, I have to say, (while 'Deep Shadows...' comes close) this is the best of the lot. One of those, again, with something for everyone - some heavier and some softer songs, all individual and not samey like some albums tend to be, and all really rather beautiful.
'Bury Me Deep Inside Your Heart' stands out as a particularly lovely song on this disc; Valo's lyrics and vocals are full of emotion in this track and whenever I hear it, I can't decided whether to smile or cry.
However, the best track by far (and possibly HIM's best song so far) has to be 'Razorblade Kiss'.
I'd highly recommend this to anyone just getting into HIM's music, as it really is the band at their very best. An absolutely essential purchase for any fan.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2005
It's no suprise that this album is good HIM (in my opinion) are probably the best songwriters in the business they have had the consistency in every album. The lighter sided tracks are as always superb and the rocky ones are just as good.
The best tracks are Sweet 666, Poison Girl, Join me in death and Right here in my arms though the rest are definately not fillers.
For people wandering if it's as good as Love metal you will feel right at home.
No-one can give this album a bad rating.
I would suggest not to buy the greatest hits but to buy every album instead half of the songs that aren't on the greatest hits
are just as good as the ones that are.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2001
This is 1 of the best and most amazing albums released. Now it has a bonus disc with live tracks from the tour last year. HIM are amazing in the studio but that's nothing compared 2 hearing them live! There's so much passion and Ville's stage presence is wonderful. I think this is great and if like me u saw HIM the extra disc could bring back memories!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2000
After the release in 1997 of their "666 Greatest Lovesongs" Album, I personally thought that HIM could not better their debut effort, that is until hearing Razorblade Romance. This album shows a band developing both musically and also in their performances as a live act. Those of you who have been lucky enough to catch this great band on tour in Europe this summer will know that the future looks bright for this act who combine catchy tunes with Gothic/Metal undertones. The most obvious songs such as the hit singles " Join me" and "right here in my arms" are brilliantly haunting while still avoiding the cliches so many other bands seem tied down in.
HIM are huge in Northern and central Europe, it's aabout time they hit the big time in the UK too and took their rightful place among the other rock greats. Take it from me, take a risk a buy this album, write to me at ronmoger@hotmail.com if you do, I'd be glad to hear your opinions.
Ron Moger, UK
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2004
I bought razorblade romance after puchasing And love said no. i wasn't sure at first if it was worth buying for just 5 more songs.How wrong could i have been. Not only does it have all the great songs like Gone with the sin and Right here in my arms but the other 5 songs are not album fillers. Razorblade Kiss has a wicked beat and a tiny yet brilliant drum solo. Bury me deep inside is sweet and is also one to sway along to. Death is in love with us is just delicious. Ressurection has to be a favourite because of the beautiful chorus which is magical. Heaven tonight is absolutely enchanting and I love you is atmospheric. And these are just the song's they didn't release!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2006
This is the album that threw HIM right up there into the lime light. Recorded when Ville was only 19, in the same studio Black Sabbath recorded their debut, this abum captured the whole band when they were at their fresh faced and bushy tailed peak.

The album features re-recordings of the hits Sweet 666 and Wicked Game (these will be the ones you hear on TV and the radio) as well as a debut from drummer Gas with the band. This album is full of hits, with any track being single material. Favs for me being the gorgous Gone With The Sin, the jubilent Right Here In My Arms, and the beautiful Heaven Tonight. If you can get the American version, you get two extra tracks Sigillum Diaboli and One Last Time (also known as the 9th Circle), though the art work is not as well layed out in this version. You wont be missing anything with out these two tracks, but theyer something to collect if your already a fan. Ide personally reccomend buying the UK version first, to hear how the abum was meant to be heard.

Considered their best by many, this is the best album to buy if you want to indulge in the world of HIM.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2007
This is yet anothr one of those albums I bought purely because it was on offer having previously never heard anything from HIM.

What a pleasant surprise. Musically it's got great guitar riffs but very few solos, a bit like metal without solos. But yet, Ville's great deep melodic voice is not metal either, making HIM pretty unique sounding.

Most of the lyrics toy around with gothic romance themes, I mean, with titles such as Your Sweet 666, Death Is In Love With US and Join Me (in death) you get the feeling what you are letting yourself into.

The guitar distortions are not taxing on the ear, and the album clocks at just the right lenght with a very finely balanced mixture of softer melodies and harder riff-o-rama.

Even the cover of Chris Isaak's Wicked Game blends in perfectly with their own material, both thematically and musically, an inspired choice for a cover.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2003
All I can say is wow. i bought this albumm a few months ago, and I have listened to it on at least a daily basis since. every track is a work of art, and totally varied unlike some bands. the heavier tracks are mixed in with some beautiful quieter tracks, such as "gone with the sin", without ever losing quality.
The style of the music is quite similar to traditional melodic goth, but with a certain warmth and depth.
buy this album, you won't regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album works on two levels. If you want to be depressed you can concentrate on the lyrics and not really take note of the music. If you want to listen to great music with a gothic twist then listen to the lyrics AND the music. Although there was a lot of criticism surrounding the band's preoccupation with love and death (one usually leading to another, even when the relationship seems to be going well), the overall effect of the album is not one that makes you want to slash your (and your loved one's) wrists, it is, in a bizarre way, rather uplifting and you WILL be moshing your head.
Look out for the excellent cover version of Chris Isaak's 'Wicked Game' (also buy the original because it is fab).
In summary, this is an excellent album. Gothic rock which is not over the top (in a Cradle of Filth way) or depressing.
The reason that it gets only 3 stars instead of 5 is that personally, I have to give this album time out, that is, after listening to it a couple of times, I lay it to rest for a few months and then pick it back up again. This is because the singer's voice can be a little grating from time to time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
This is a very good album, full of beautiful songs in the more typical style of HIM at the beggining. There are well known songs as "Your Sweet 666" or "Join Me In Death" or the sweet "Gone With The Sin".

HIM plays their music in a hard way, but inside his songs its always love and sadness. But the songs are very good, and you can enjoy the subtile sensation of being part of the HIM world.

Ville Valo's voice is one of the more beautiful and sweetest of the rock music world. Is one of the bests things of HIM. Also, Valo is the writer of the music, lyrics and he take care of the artwork in the CD. (Valo is superman!!!) Only "Wicked Game" by Cris Isaac, is not written by Valo, but is a good example to how Valo can sing all kind of songs in a perfect and personal way. I prefear HIM's version of "Wicked Game".

Razorblade Romance is a good way to begin in the HIM's world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)