Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magnificent blues, 6 July 2008
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The music on this compilation is magnificent, I didn't give it 5 stars only because it lacks the listing of musicians on each track (some of which are true blues legends themselves).
In this period he recorded with Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, Muddy Waters and others, so it would be nice to have the correct info on that.

Otherwise, this is classical stuff; both vocally and instrumentally...

BTW, if my ears don't decieve me, the performer of "Like Wolf" (track 18) is Howlin' Wolf , although the authorship of the song is attributed to Williamson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 22 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
If you've never heard Sonny Boy Williamson before I recommend this album. If your particularly interested in blues harmonica there aren't many better than Sonny Boy Williamson and you could do a lot worse than have this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless blues at their best., 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This is good music. We are not all the same, thank goodness. I personally don't like jazz. And I have tried to like it over and over, I just don't get it. But blues I love it and here is some of the best. There are plenty more out there but this one rates among the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something that every harmonica player must know, 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
If you are a harmonica player you simply must know songs from this album. All songs from this album are great, Sonny Boy was a genius and you can hear it in every track. Wonderful harp and generally great piece of blues music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Sonny Boy Williamson, 10 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
It is everything I expected it to be. If you love the Blues, Blues Harp and haunting Hammond Organ / piano in the background then this is for you.

Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good 'best of' a great blues musician., 15 Oct. 2014
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
When I started to learn blues harmonica in the 1960s Sonny Boy Williamson (II) was a frequent visitor to Britain and one of my early inspirations. Later, critics favoured the original Sonny Boy Williamson and also Little Walter but for me this Sonny Boy Williamson (Alec Miller) has a very original, individual harmonica sound and was also a really good songwriter. This very reasonably-priced CD features many of his best songs "Help me", "Don't start me talking", "Nine below zero" and "One way out" and although there are a few of my favourite songs of his that don't feature it would be churlish to be picky about the selection which offers a great introduction to this truly first division blues musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Glad I bought this CD and a very great artist. I have downloaded it onto my ipod. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roots of the blues., 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
One of the best Blues/rock artists ever. You want to see the roots of blues, this guy does it well. One of my best albums in my collection. Can't get enough of it. As Cash said something or alike, "when you get the blues, get a rhythm". This album gives you the rhythm all right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Master oh the harmonica, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I first listened to this great musician as a schoolboy 50 years ago. I still come back to him sometimes. He is something of a professor of original blues to me (with Muddy and Leadbelly and other 50-60's guys). He's harmonica playing is of course a trade mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album, so glad I came across it and ..., 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Awesome album, so glad I came across it and followed the previous reviews. Got into it having heard the track "Help Me" used in a scene from the BBC series "THE FALL"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by Sonny Boy Williamson (Rice Miller) (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Down and Out Blues
Down and Out Blues by Sonny Boy Williamson (Rice Miller) (Audio CD - 2010)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)   

His Best
His Best by Sonny Boy Williamson (Rice Miller) (Audio CD - 1999)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6)   

Howlin' Wolf: His Best -Chess 50th Anniversary Collection
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27)