Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graham expands upon his first album.
The Golden D is a lot like the older, more rebellious and spottier brother of "the sky is too high", there are tracks like "jamie thomas" and "leave me alone" which are so brash and raw, that merely make Grahams earlier tracks like "I Wish" and "Who The Fuck?" seem like nursery rhymes. But it is not all loud and fast,...
Published on 15 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite like this
Took a while to get into this one but when I did I loved it. Great to hear Graham do something so different to Blur and creating his own sound.
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by kelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graham expands upon his first album., 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden D (Audio CD)
The Golden D is a lot like the older, more rebellious and spottier brother of "the sky is too high", there are tracks like "jamie thomas" and "leave me alone" which are so brash and raw, that merely make Grahams earlier tracks like "I Wish" and "Who The Fuck?" seem like nursery rhymes. But it is not all loud and fast, there are quieter more reflective moments such as "Dont think about always". This album will appeal to alternative music fans, from blur fans to slipknot fans, I challenge everyone not to find a track on this album they like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graham's skateboardin album!, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden D (Audio CD)
This was one of my favourite albums from last year. Graham Coxon's second solo album was a real shock for me as he went into overdrive on this excellent 12 song set and it was a real departure from Blur. Although it seems like some of the songs are just cheesy metal tunes (like Fags & Failure and Jamie Thomas) he infuses his own terrific guitar style to make the songs special. The cover songs of "Fame and Fortune" and "Thats when I reach for my revolver" are without doubt the best songs on the album and feature great vocals from Graham. Although my favourite was the gloomy but powerful instrumental "The Lake" with its momentous buildup. All in all this is one of the best albums from last year and it shows Graham Coxon's strength at writing solo material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars toffee and tv?, 12 Jun 2000
By 
I. Mackinnon (Cochabamba, Bolivia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden D (Audio CD)
the best thing about 'the sky is too high' was the raw, can't-sing-for-toffee kinda style. 'the golden d' is still good but it's a shame there isn't more acoustic strumming and fewer samplers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite like this, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Golden D (Audio CD)
Took a while to get into this one but when I did I loved it. Great to hear Graham do something so different to Blur and creating his own sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of and most consistent of Grahams solo albums, 23 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden D (Audio CD)
After the mellow and lofi debut this is the P-U-R-E R-O-C-K solo album we all expected. Some good tunes on here, but also some bad ones: "Leave me alone" is just cheesy metal parody, "Oochy Woochy" is skippable cod Jazz, "Satan Gaten" attempts to prove that he can use samplers too. He can't. It's awful. But the good tunes more than make up for it: The super distortion of "Don't think about allways" and the instrumental "Lake" are good examples. The cover of "Reach for my Revolver" is pointless. It's identical to the original down the missed snare in the verse. It makes you wonder what Graham was trying to achieve.
Overall the best of all Grahams solo albums by a long way. Only one mellow song on the whole album makes for a good album to jump around to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oww! oohh! ARGH! Music to break bones to, 14 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden D (Audio CD)
Okay, you're directing a film, with a provisional title of'Skateboarders falling dramatically, somehow managing to get it in thegroin, big time!'. Well, the edits done, and you've got all the best shots from all the best angles, perhaps you need to look at the film title, but now you're after a soundtrack. One with downright thrashed out, smashed up, mommentous attitude. Well, you could try this. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden D
The Golden D by Graham Coxon (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews