Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Burning Questions, 30 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
In attempting to write a review for Mwng I've basically answered the three questions that I wanted to know before buying it. Firstly, what's it like? Well its SFA on a shoestring budget. That is, you still get the top-notch quality songs/production but they come with a more limited instrumental/vocal scope (still its SFA so you still get more than your average band). Secondly, will the fact that its a welsh language album bother me? I don't know. One earlier reviewer seemed to suggest that you could listen to Mwng as a chill out album, and thus overlook the melodies. However, I have found this not to be the case. Gruff's melodies are just as poignant as ever, if not more so, to the point that on many occasions I have found myself singing along to the songs not knowing what the hell he, or I, are on about. Stupid heh? And finally, is it their best album? No, that honor goes to the superb Rings Around The World (especially the DVD version). Nevertheless, Mwng is my favorite SFA album as it has been crafted in such a beautifully manner, with an abundance of breathtaking brass sections that, coupled with the reduced instruments/vocals, give it an unmistakable warm feeling. My only word of caution is that Mwng is a slow starter/burner (albeit this does seem to be the case for most SFA albums).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is everyone so defensive about Welsh lyrics?, 26 Jun. 2003
By 
S. P. Maxwell (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
Looking through these reviews, it seems that many people feel the need to mitigate the fact that this album is in Welsh. I understand this - they are trying to win over people whom they are afraid will be put off by this feature, but I have to ask: how often do lyrics enhance pop songs? In my view, except with a very few bands, most lyrics are either indifferent or, at their worst, actually harmful to songs. It seems musical talent is more widespread than poetic talent. I don't know how it is, but lyrics often seem better when you can't understand them. Perhaps it's like a magician on stage - he mustn't reveal too much, or the illusion is spoiled. That's how I feel about this album. The mystery and wonder generated by Gruff's singing in a language I don't know, yet somehow still communicating, is far more valuable to me than knowing exactly what words he is using. I don't need to know the lyrics - his voice, the music itself, tells me, and you, what they are saying far more eloquently than words could. Well, that's what I think, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool as ever, 26 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
The music's classic indie, but it's SFA so it's never going to be boring. The album's extremely varied in style, although not as experimental (or just plain mental) as previous album Guerrilla. As for the language, if you don't speak Welsh there's no problem because the music speaks for itself. Besides, in all honesty you never understand a word Gruff Rhys is saying when he sings in English, do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Hansard Parliamentary Record, 7 June 2000, 8 Jun. 2000
By 
abegoa (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
"This House congratulates Super Furry Animals on their chart topping new album 'Mwng'; notes that this is the best selling Welsh-language album of all time; notes that the Welsh language is re-establishing itself as a central part of popular youth culture; and that that this album is a celebration of Welsh culture embracing the new wave of confidence in the Welsh nation."
It's true. Plaid Cymru members of parliament congratulated the Furries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good, laid back album., 17 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
This is much more laid back and traditional than the last Super Furries album "Guerilla", which was quite wild and experimental, but it's not just boring indie. Unless you understand Welsh then the music is left to speak for itself. It also makes it quite mellow and easy to listen to. The tunes are mostly really nice and warm, but there's a couple of quite dark ones too. It's still an innovative album, but these are generally what you might call "good old-fashioned songs". I think it's most similar to "Radiator" in style, and to songs like "Hometown Unicorn" and "Gathering Moss" off "Fuzzy Logic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I struggle to even say its name, but it is a must have, 16 Jun. 2000
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
The most welsh I had ever heard before buying the album was the really long name of that train station, but with having all the other SFA albums and loving them I had to see what it was like. Listening to the album the first time was weird, normally you pick up a few words of the songs, but all I picked up were some weird noises! The language adds an even quirkier dimension to some fantasically written songs, with track 7 being the best of the album with some funky distortion of some already odd vocals. Once you get into it you see what a great band they really are, even with vocals you can't understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best welsh language album I have ever listened to!, 29 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
I love this album. In fact I'm going to buy the 2CD US import today for the extra tracks.
The music is rich and diverse, sounding like the Beach Boys in one moment and then Neil Young the next. The fact that all the songs are in Welsh adds an extra dimension to it.
It's just a fantastic album - way ahead of Guerilla. Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cryptic, convoluted, and gorgeous., 17 May 2000
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
Releasing an entire album in Welsh is a bold step for arguably the most innovative of the current crop of bands from Wales, but it's another great album nonetheless. Initially the most difficult SFA album to get into, even more so than the cryptic Guerrilla, Mwng nevertheless delivers the trademark of furry lyricism and animal aggression.
At no point does the language barrier deter the listener, perhaps surprisingly. The songs still has the fabulous infectious bite,but instead of the lyrics, it's the melodies that capture the attention. The vocals still have that range from the plaintive to the epic, but it's the melodies with their swirl of smoky keyboard-heavy Floydiness or snappy guitar bite that are brought to the forefront.
It's not an easy album, but it's great. I might not be able to pronounce the titles, let alone understand the songs, but I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, do we need to know what they are saying ?, 2 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
As usual the Super Furries do not disappoint. This album, which is ludicrously ambitious, delivers the same quality that SFA's fans have become accustomed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Super Furry masterpiece, 16 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mwng (Audio CD)
Mwng is the sound of a band at ease with their position in the alternative rock world.From the blank sleeve to the Welsh verse, this is a bold statement of intent from one of the finest bands of the late Nineties.The sound veers from glam rock stomp to wistful folk with accordians,harmoniums and trumpets drifting in and out of the mix.The final track is an incredible mix of singer Gruff's voice and an eery stylophone. Simply another SFA masterpiece stamped "MADE IN WALES".Sublime........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mwng
Mwng by Super Furry Animals (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews