Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea of Names
A beautiful album. I'm glad it dosn't look as if they'll record another as I don't think a second could ever live upto this one. I've heard APC being described as metal, but this is absurd, there's nothing metal about them. They're an alternative rock band through and through. Maynard's voice is completely without vibrato and as a result the vocal-lines are always very...
Published on 16 Jun 2003 by Matthew Alexander

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WEll..what can I say...
After Hearing Thomas on the Radio I was convinced that this band would go far..but it's gone way beyond my expections.The hard hitting beats to Judith to the wonderful almost ballad like propertise of Magdelena.Having experienced them live..it's safe to say that this band will be around for a couple of albums yet.The masterful hand that these guys have got have...
Published on 4 July 2000 by ben.howard@ntlworld.com


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea of Names, 16 Jun 2003
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
A beautiful album. I'm glad it dosn't look as if they'll record another as I don't think a second could ever live upto this one. I've heard APC being described as metal, but this is absurd, there's nothing metal about them. They're an alternative rock band through and through. Maynard's voice is completely without vibrato and as a result the vocal-lines are always very smooth and delicate. The music itself uses a variety of techniques and its clear that Billy Howerdel is an innovative guitarist. Each track sounds different yet similar in certain ways. 'Judith' is perhaps the rockiest track on the album and 'Orestes', '3Libras' and 'Over' all display the bands softer side, which is always much more evident. Stand out tracks: (Its difficult to choose) 'The Hollow', 'Magdalena', 'Juith' and 3Libras'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A music fan from Nottingham, 19 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
If when you listen to music, you like to be completly immersed by what you are listening to, then this is an album for you. The first time I listened to the album, it didn't strike me as anything special. But, after listening through the album a few times, I was completly indulged with the emotion and brilliance of it. Maynard is a fantastic singer and brings a side out of the music any other singer would struggle to do. The music accompanies his voice brilliantly. 3 libras is my favourite song off the album, but I do not dislike any song on it. The whole album seems to merge together to make an experience rather than a collection of songs, which listening to past music I had never really experienced before. I also think A perfect circle are some of the best musicians in rock music today. The only thing left to say is buy this album and if you like it check out Tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a tie-over until Tool release something else..., 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
I think comparing this band to Tool purly for the lead singer being the same person is unfair. This album does everything in it's own way, and boy does it do it well. Half of the tracks will not come instantly, but all will come with multiple listens. 3 Libras, Judith, Brena, Rose, Sleeping Beauty, eta al, will probably come fairly quickly, and keep you listening to the album.
The Hollow, Sleeping Beauty, Magdalena, Thomas, etc. will probably take more time but when you are hooked, the cd will not leave the player. All songs have emotion and a sense of meaning behinds them.
This album has it all. The songs people relate to, the songs where people can feel Maynards pain, and all songs have great musicianship, where each member of the band play their instruments so well. The songs are also very well written, and do not turn into one blurb of noise, but stand out from each other, yet complement each other beautifully.
An example for all to listen to and realise what can be done with music (specifically rock) in the world today. Truly a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impeccable!, 27 April 2002
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
This is simply one of the best albums I've heard in years. Maynard James Keenan here teams up with Tool and Nine Inch Nails guitar technician Billy Howerdel, Failure guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen, Big Milk/Camerata Tango bassist Paz Lenchantin and Vandals/Guns'n'Roses drummer Josh Freese for a simply stunning record, taking a similar musical stance to that of the Smashing Pumpkins rather than Maynard's more familiar band Tool. From the opening bursts of "The Hollow" to the slow, mournful "Over", not one single duff track can be found on there. Involving certain themes to some songs (the imagery of Mary Magdalene in "Magdalena", Greek mythological figures in "Orestes", masturbation in "Thinking Of You" and unrequited love on "3 Libras" being prime examples), no other supergroup has come close to making an album this good. If you don't have this album now, you really should get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath-taking, 14 Nov 2000
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
How wrong is Andrew Mueller's review. Since when was A.P.C Maynard's ticket to the stadium rock status - he evidently doesn't realise the ethics behind the band. Described by Terrorizer as "the feminine side of Maynard", this album is utterly incredible, and easily the best debut of 2000. For starters, this sounds nothing like Tool, apart from maybe heavy passages in certain songs (eg Judith). Much of what is played here is reasonably simplistic, but Maynard's voice does not fail to mesmerise on 3 Libras, Orestes and the grandiose emotion of Sleeping Beauty. His ability to use his voice and phrase his words is incredible, while the range is also fantastic. Of course, one cannot mention A.P.C without saying something about Billy Howerdel. Expressing the band as something that goes beyond the usual posturing of metal (which still has it's place methinks), Billy has come up with a classic album of emotionally swirling anthems that makes you listen to the album again and again. Forgettable this is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Cd to hit the stores in 4 years, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Clean) (Audio CD)
This album will blow you away, this is what music is supposed to be - inspirational. For a rock album this is in a different league to anything else(except tool), I have been moved to tears by its sheer brilliance. Every time you play mer de noms it grows on you and all other cd's will pale into insignificance in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Tool, 19 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
Ok so its not Tool - but its the closest you're likely to get until (I hope) the next Tool album arrives. The first half of the album seems to have a lot more grit to it. Listen to the sample of 'Judith' on this site and you'd think it was Tool. The second half is more mellow, but still good. Best described as Tool meets Jethro Tull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RADIO FRIENDLY TOOL!!!!!!!!!, 2 Feb 2004
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
Hard to belive an album like this was released in 2000. This is a time when Californication was in the charts and new metal was emerging from the minds of fizzy pop loving teens in America.
When i first heard Maynard was working with artists from bands such as Smashing Pumpkins and Marylin Mansons band, I was very interested. Tool had always kept this non mainstreame feel to there music, and to this day you can still ask most "rock" fans whether they've heard of Tool and they'd say no.
With APC, they create this amazing melodic prog rock feel to there music. Mer de Noms has some amazing production too, expected if MJK is involved. The tracks complement each other on a first listen, but draws you closer to it everytime you listen to it.
If your thinking its gonna sound like a Tool album then your wrong. MJK wanted to give the dark art metal a rest for while and go for something a little more smoother, and this is achieved.
Stand out tracks on this album include Magdalena, Thomas and 3Libras, not to mention the powerful single Judith. If I was to draw simalarities then i'd choose a band like Incubus or My Vitriol at times, and also some Tool influences, only some though. Howerdel uses alot of chorus/ distortion guitaring with harmonics and MJK carries his voice in the songs allot more then he did with Tool. This mix of guitaring and vocals is perfect, eh herm.
The structure of the songs seem to be very 'normal' too. This is in comparison to anything Tool have done. The songs on this album are set out with simple verse/chorus/verse bridge structure, whereas Tool's work were all over the place, in a good way.
Also suprising are some acoustic guitaring areas on the album. MJK's voice goes beautifly with this style of guitaring, eg on Renholder. The drumming on this album is also phenominal, giving a new feel to this dying genre.
Overall, this album is outstanding and deserves some fantastic reviews. If your a Tool fan then buy it, if your not then try it out. If youv'e not heard of either then stop reading this review and making out you know stuff about rock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should own a copy, 26 Jan 2005
By 
J. Ball "Joshua Ball" (Valencia, ES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
This album is the most raw, extreme, beautiful enjoyable album i've listened to in a long while. I can't really say too much as words cannot describe the journey this album takes you, this album will surely go into the top 100 albums of all time.
I recommend you buy this album, even if you only have 10 left in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rebuff, 16 Aug 2002
This review is from: Mer De Noms (Audio CD)
First things first, as everyone here has said, this is not stadium rock for Maynard. And this is most certainly not Tool, only the less musically educated among us would confuse the two. This must be taken at face value - a record designed not to appease those in metal circles (and I use this term loosely when it comes to MJK's usual band, for too many genres are encompassed in Tool's work to lock them down to one description) nor to introduce the unwashed masses to the finer points of modern rock. It is just a damn fine album that demands careful listening and acceptance for no other purpose. Why does it have to be designed to "be" anything other than that. I cannot stress how much easier this is to listen to than Tool, but that's no bad thing on Tool's part, they are a different kettle of fish altogether, but that's another review - and let's not forget that tool was a pretty big departure for MJK anyway, does anyone here remember Green Jelly and Maynard's occasional vocals?For those who don't please find a copy of "House Me Teenage Rave" - an (apparently) Maynard piece. From Orestas and 3 Libras to the harder edges (still plastecine compared to forty six & 2 or Stinkfist, mind) of Judith, this is a great record for people who enjoy just listening to music and appreciating it, rather than having to decide where the hell it's supposed to have come from, artistically. Great orchestral style pieces accompanied by songs that can't fail to be "MTV" yet still carry significant weight and seriousness to please the most critical musico. Marginally better production would have been nice, but we can't have everything in this world. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mer De Noms (Clean)
Mer De Noms (Clean) by A Perfect Circle (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews