Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all!
Mike never really had much luck with vocal albums - although "Discovery" is cited as his best vocal album, I felt some of the B-sides surpassed some of the album tracks (if you've heard "In the Pool", you'll know what I mean).
"Heaven's Open", however, showed signs of consistency. Mike sings (!) all the vocal tracks himself - despite...
Published on 26 Sept. 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contractual Obligation LP
This is an important record. It deserves an audition , if not purchase.
Firstly,it is an historic record- the artist's first record was famously the first release on the nascent Virgin label, broke any number of sales/chart records, and accelerated Mr Branson's rise to global domination. Heaven's Open, by contrast marks the end of this association. It is Mr...
Published on 27 Nov. 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contractual Obligation LP, 27 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heavens Open (Audio CD)
This is an important record. It deserves an audition , if not purchase.
Firstly,it is an historic record- the artist's first record was famously the first release on the nascent Virgin label, broke any number of sales/chart records, and accelerated Mr Branson's rise to global domination. Heaven's Open, by contrast marks the end of this association. It is Mr Oldfield's last offering on Virgin, and bears all the hallmarks of contractual obligation. It is short,the material falls far short of the artist's usual standard, for all Mr Oldfield's prodigious talents he cannot sing for toffee (although he does curiously do well on Don Alfonso, Froggy went a'courting, Horseback, Rite etc) and the record even had careless typo errors.
Secondly it demontrates that even genius has limits. Who else has produced such a canon of work over such a period, while having command of almost any instrument he touches, and being a virtuoso with so many styles of guitar playing? Yet he cannot sing. I realise that it is similar to saying that Shakespeare could not spell, or that Pele wasn't the fastest down the wing, yet it is the realisation that he is fallible that makes the quality of the rest of his oeuvre so astonishing.
Listen, and appreciate how miraculous the rest of his body of work truly is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all!, 26 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
Mike never really had much luck with vocal albums - although "Discovery" is cited as his best vocal album, I felt some of the B-sides surpassed some of the album tracks (if you've heard "In the Pool", you'll know what I mean).
"Heaven's Open", however, showed signs of consistency. Mike sings (!) all the vocal tracks himself - despite his powerful voice, he does lend the formidable "No Dream" a lot of intimacy whilst blasting your eardrums with the title track.
"Music From The Balcony" stands out merely on its length (let's face it - it's what all MO fans look for and wet themselves over), but it does take the eccentricities of "Amarok" just one step back. It's good, it's also very different - but it won't click as easily as Amarok.
In a perfect world, Virgin would have re-mastered this album along with the 7" single remix which is also quite an interesting find. It's a shame there was no other singles or out-takes. Still, on its own merits, it's worth investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated, but well worth listening to., 16 May 2001
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
One of mike's less well known albums, Heaven's Open is very different to his earlier works (tubular bells, hergest ridge, ommadawn etc...), featuring six tracks under 7 mins in length. this album also manages to escape the title of 'mood music' that is commonly attached to much of his other work; the track 'Heaven's Open' is Mike's answer to the metal popular at the time, and while it is not metallica, it does make a change, while still including the guitar riffs and solos that make his music so popular. There are also some more thoughtful tracks; 'No Dream' and the reggae influenced 'Gimme Back' are slower, yet still very memorable, mike's simple guitar work shining through in particular in 'Gimme Back'. for those who prefer Mike's longer tracks, 'Music from the balcony' is in a similar vein to 'the Lake' off the album 'Discovery', or 'Crises' taken from the album of the same name. All in all, an album that is surprisingly catchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 29 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
I like it, but a little like one of the earlier reviewers, I am finding it something of a slow-burn. This is not exactly Oldfield as I've known it, and so I am trying to be careful not to judge the album based upon preconceptions. I bought the album at the same time as 'Songs of a distant earth', and I must confess to finding the latter rather easier on the ears - but I am persevering!

Mike's voice is surprisingly good. One is left wondering why it has not featured on previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not good enough, 25 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of Mr Oldfield's work but this just isn't good enough - lacklustre melodies, cringeworthy lyrics and a complete lack of imagination or inspiration

Must do better

And thank the lord that he has
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough Guitar, 12 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Heavens Open (Audio CD)
Upon first listen, track 1 impressed me. Track two had some excellent guitar riffs. Tracks 3 and 4 were a little, well, not good. However the title song, heaven's open is absolutely unbelievably excellent and I aggree, it is almost worth buying the album for that song. His 20 minute track we've come to expect does not have enough guitar playing in it! He is a exceptional guitar player and composer, but that doesn't shine through here. It just sounds like someone mucking about on a keyboard. Buy 5 miles out instead, or Ommadawn - even Crises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Heavens, 6 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
This is a strange Mike oldfield CD, the first time you hear it. It sounds like nothing before, it took me a couple of plays to get into it. But it was worth it, the first 5 tracks have Mr Oldfield singing. What a fine jobs he does, if I have to pigeon hole the sound, sorry. This is for the people who don't have it of course! Sacrilege I know forgive me, it is Mike and the Mechanics at their best. All the vocal songs are very good, No Dream: has some nice violins sawing away in the background, Gimme Back: is not reggae[a bit Carly Simon WHY-ish] the best vocals and lyrics. Heaven's Open: starts with an almost Jim Steinman piano feel.

Music From The Balcony all 19 minutes 44 seconds. It starts off well and has lovely tunes punctuated with harsh loud guitar and drums. There is a lovely bit where a monkey and a parrot in the jungle have a duel using their calls end up sounding like a female opera singer. Or that is how it sounds to me, maybe I should take less medication as the rash has cleared up? Overall it does work in bits and pieces, but in my view it is too fractured, splintered and disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below average for Mr Oldfield, 10 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Heavens Open (Audio CD)
Perhaps we get a bit spoiled by the general excellence of Mike Oldfield and so expect more of him than we get from this album. Overall the quality of the songs is not what you would expect apart from the magnificent title track which almost justifies purchasing the album on its own. Some other tracks stand out such as 'No Dream' and 'Music from the balcony' is quite passable but overall, not one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice singing, Mr. Oldfield!!, 19 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
...after 18 years of largely instrumental music, Mike Oldfield's last LP for Virgin in 1991 features songs sung by the great man himself, and a typically eccentric/genius long instrumental, similar in some respects to the previous year's "Amarok".
He does a fine job in my opinion, particularly on "No Dream", and the soaring title track. The lyrics, music, and of course musicianship on this record is great. I'd like Mike singing again, how about his own rendition of "Moonlight Shadow"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven's Open (Audio CD)
Had a brief look inside, but it hasn't drawn me to read on yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven's Open
Heaven's Open by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews