Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Truth is This is a Great DVD
a great dvd..how could it not be..but there are some things which could have been better.. i have only watched it once..(i only got it a few hours ago)it seems that some tracks arent really showing how they where made. rather just clips of john an yoko, with the song in the background..but then it gets to "oh my love, gimme some truth, how do u sleep and how" and then...
Published on 4 Feb. 2004 by Samuel L. Lovell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truth is we've seen it before
1971 Imagine film which was rehashed for the 1988 Imagine 'The Movie'... and here again for a 21st century repackage as Gimme Some Truth
Published on 11 April 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Truth is This is a Great DVD, 4 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
a great dvd..how could it not be..but there are some things which could have been better.. i have only watched it once..(i only got it a few hours ago)it seems that some tracks arent really showing how they where made. rather just clips of john an yoko, with the song in the background..but then it gets to "oh my love, gimme some truth, how do u sleep and how" and then much more footage is shown. its great to see george recording with john..u can see the respect john has for george.
the bonus interview is also great..it goes for about 35 mins so there's plenty to hear.
overall, i give it 4/5..the only prob is its too short, and its annoying casue there must be more footage out there.
A Deff must for a lennon fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic artist, fantastic album and great unseen footage, 29 Nov. 2000
By 
any fan of john lennon will love this video! it focuses on the making of the classic 'imagine' album, and shows the superstar at home working in his studios, with amongst others george harrison. it offers a great insight on how lennon lived and worked in his fantastic tittenhurst mansion. some great versions of tracks from the album include, imagine, jealous guy and gimme some truth. what a fantastic opportunity to see one of the all time greats rehearse and preform the songs from his legendary 'imagine' album..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is History, 3 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Now we are lucky that they once filmed the making of Imagine album by Lennon. You can almost touch the atmosphere here on this DVD. You see Lennon and his guests singing, recording, swearing, eating, smoking and joking. Now the album is a classic. But there is also a feeling here that they know what they are doing: they are making rock and roll history. I am only complaining about the length of the film: it is too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme some truth, 12 Jun. 2003
By 
timbo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
An excellent fly on the wall rockumentary on John's Imagine album.
Filmed in 1971 just a year after the Beatles breakup you can see there is still much hurt in the air from the split.

Along with George Harrison who sits in on the sessions also,
we see John and George working on the thinly veiled song about Paul in the song "How do you Sleep".
Yes, the wounds were still very much open during these recording sessions!
It is pretty obvious that the pressure is very much on John during this film as he blows up a few times, and on one occasion he gives an hapless recording engineer a load of stick for replaying the wrong section of a track that he is overdubbing with Phil Spector.
Despite the pressure in the studio at the time, there are some softer and truly beautiful moments in this film when we see John working on the tracks "How?" and "Oh my Love".
Of course the big climax of this film is the last track on the disc with John performing Imagine, it's almost worth buying the DVD for that one clip alone!
Yes, 10 out of 10 for this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history . ., 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Agree with all the good reviews above. I have seen much of this footage already on the 'Imagine' DVD, though 'Gimme Some Truth' shows much that was edited out of Imagine, and will be of interest to any Lennon aficionado. One criticism: Yoko Ono clearly had some say in the editing here, in that her interfereneces and ramblings have been left in, to appear that she is giving artistic advice!!??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truth is we've seen it before, 11 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
1971 Imagine film which was rehashed for the 1988 Imagine 'The Movie'... and here again for a 21st century repackage as Gimme Some Truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Knew He Was GOD anyway!!, 17 Dec. 2000
By 
Mr. A. Downes "I Was The Walrus" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This DVD film highlights the true genius of John Lennon. Imagine was and still is a classic LP... Long live John Lennon, the genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Saint John is king of his castle, 13 July 2012
This review is from: John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Highly sanitised version of the truth, where Saint John is king of his castle but sings as if he's everyman. Sadly I loved "Imagine" at the time but all the reality got edited out. Enjoy the music but don't swallow the hype.

Another Lennon Disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Lennon - Gimme Some Truth [DVD] [2000]
£36.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews