Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong, very strong
A very intelligent and funny movie. It addresses some very human weaknesses in a very uncompromising way. This is one of the rare movies that shows human behaviour without trying to conform to what is socially acceptable. The only thing missing is the narrative by David Attenborough.
Published on 12 Jun 2008 by C. J. Willemse

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A literal take on coming of age
Never before has a film addressed "coming of age" quite so literally.

This is a dark, dark comedy: the sort of thing that might emanate from the deepest circle of the hell of Woody Allen's nightmares. The titular happiness, in case you were wondering, is colossally ironic. This is a story of loosely related individuals - more loosely related than you'd expect...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by Olly Buxton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong, very strong, 12 Jun 2008
By 
C. J. Willemse (Utrecht Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A very intelligent and funny movie. It addresses some very human weaknesses in a very uncompromising way. This is one of the rare movies that shows human behaviour without trying to conform to what is socially acceptable. The only thing missing is the narrative by David Attenborough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness, 14 Aug 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Happiness. What a strange title for a film that is anything but!
It's one of those films that is almost impossible to sum up. It's really a long collection of short interconnecting sketches that detail the personal quirks of a dozen or so characters and the skeletons in their closets they'd probably wouldn't want us to know about.
The main thread of the plot is the three Jordan sisters who are all dealing with their own individual crisis. Firstly we meet Joy, who is having dinner with the boyfriend she's just dumped. Joy is insecure, vulnerable, naive and a little goofy. When Andy, her ex-boyfriend, commits suicide days later and she receives a nasty phone call from Andy's mother, she quits her job and starts to teach immigrants English, only to fall for Russian romantic Vlad, whose partner attacks poor Joy in the staff room when she finds out.
We then meet Allen who is seeing a therapist about his obsession with Helen his neighbour. Helen is one of the Jordan sisters and Allen's therapist is married to the other one, (with us so far?) Allen starts to make dirty phone calls to Helen, but to his amazement Helen actually enjoys them, which just doesn't compute with sad lonely Allen. He has his own problems anyway with his other neighbour, Kristina.
Perhaps the most controversial storyline is concerning the final sister, Trish. As we've said she married to Bill the therapist, but what Trish doesn't know is that Bill is a secret paedophile who secretly drugs his family to take advantage of his son's sleep-over friend. What makes this section even harder to get our heads around is that in every other way Bill is a regular likeable chap, some of the heart to hearts he has with his own son are very tender and sweet, and yet here is a man who represents possibly every parents' worst nightmare.
The film can be laugh out loud funny, sentimental and sometimes quite sickening. There are tender moments and vile moments and even some heartbreaking moments. The performances are to a man absolutely perfect and although I'm not going to single out anyone for special mention all the actors put in totally believable performances and capture you from the first scene onwards.
It's not easy viewing sometimes and there are going to be some viewers who find this to be unwatchable in parts. But that all said it is clever, singular and challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Film of All TIme, 10 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is my favourite film and, if you open your mind just a little bit, you will be greatly rewarded.
Yes, this movie contains child rape, murder, masturbation, paeodophelia etc. but the film is as masterful as it is because it already assumes the audience knows that these things are bad. This is a rare film that will not preach to your "inner conscience" and respects its' audience.
An connecting tale of family disfunction and sexual inadequacy all joined Short Cuts/ Magnolia/ Pulp Fiction style by one or two events is centrally about three daughters, one a terminally smiling but incredibly unfulfilled social worker (Jane Adams), another an unknowing housewife (Cynthia Stevenson) to a paeodophile and the "succesful" one, a beautiful poet with many sexual conquests but feels emotionally empty (Lara Flynn Boyle) and their parents' (Ben Gazzera and Louise Lasser) breakdown of a thirty-year marriage. The film shows all of these (outwardly) normal people, yet many other detailed and brilliant characters, on their search for fulfilment, love and happiness.
Todd Solondz's incredibly ambitious and emotially shattering third film (see also his last: Welcome to the Dollhouse, almost perfect) is a masterpiece, not only of genius scriptwriting that makes you want to laugh, scream, cry and burn the film all in a single line, but also some of the most beautifully underplayed direction, unlike Sam Mendes' recent Oscar winning helming. The relationships are perfectly portayed with the ending scene between Bill, the paeodophile, and his betrayed son one of the most heart wrenching in cinema history.
The acting is completely perfect. From Jon Lovitz's (yes, Jon Lovitz) initially confusing breakdown at the outset to the now eponymous Phillip Seymour Hoffman's phone sex pervert and Dylan Baker's psychiatrist paeodophile, every one would, in a perfect world, take home Oscars.
Instances in this film may make you want to stop watching and damn the film for filth. Don't. This is one of few masterpieces to come out of America in the last decade. Many will not have the stomach for anything quite so perverse but it simply demands to be seen. Purely unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A literal take on coming of age, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Never before has a film addressed "coming of age" quite so literally.

This is a dark, dark comedy: the sort of thing that might emanate from the deepest circle of the hell of Woody Allen's nightmares. The titular happiness, in case you were wondering, is colossally ironic. This is a story of loosely related individuals - more loosely related than you'd expect given most relations are of the blood or marital sort - all of whom are profoundly at odds with themselves and their environment. Much of their collected oddness manifests itself in sexual dysfunction of one sort or another, but of a far deeper and sicker kind than is commonly found in Woody Allen's material. Indeed, by comparison Allen's neuroticism seems positively winsome.

These people are deeply, darkly, fatally neurotic: Phillip Seymour Hoffman, who seems to revel in these kinds of parts, an overweight, greasy, bespectacled misogynist who has unspeakable fantasies, fantasies which he nonetheless brazenly speaks about, to his shrink and to his victims, through inept crank calls. His shrink Bill Maplewood (Dylan Baker) is a paedophile. Maplewood is married to Trish (Cynthia Stevenson) a woman whose hi-tensile smugness betrays a fundamental insecurity about her place in the world. Trish doesn't know of, but we suspect she may fear for, her husband's ghastly proclivities. Trish has two sisters who, in turn, field Allen's crank calls, and seem to enjoy them. The sisters' parents, holed up in a Florida condo, see their Marriage as a loveless contractual bind.

In the middle of it all is a teenaged boy, Timmy (Justin Elvin), Trish and Bill's son, who is fruitlessly willing on the onset of his own puberty, providing his father a running commentary. His father darkly enjoys.

Could the set-up be any more neurotic?

The narrative gradually displaces itself from early focus on Allen towards the Bill, at which point whatever tacky residue of humour the film had retained is jettisoned and we are let into the paedophile's modus operandi. From there, for thirty minutes, Happiness is unrelentingly grim. Relief comes in the form of the travails of the third sister Joy (Jane Adams), a chronically frustrated spinster, who has stumbled into the arms of a Russian taxi driver (Jared Harris), whom we are invited to like for his uncluttered and direct approach to life, but who also turns out to be a monstrous pig.

The film has as its climax a harrowing exchange between Timmy and his father, now exposed as a paedophile, in which Timmy interrogates Bill about his sexual proclivities and his father answers him calmly and directly. It really is a striking sequence, but as with much of the film, it is thoroughly contrived.

These characters are archetypes we recognise as being profoundly American. Had the film been located anywhere else, the screenplay could would have seemed utterly implausible: you just can't imagine Europeans, let alone anyone else, being this self-involved.

Black humour returns at a stroke in the final scene, in a scene which will have you bent over in mirth or nausea depending on your, well, taste for such things. It seems a little bit of a cheap shot, though that's clearly not how Timmy will have felt about it.

Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still don't now what to make out of this movie..., 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I honestly never write reviews, although I feel like sharing my opinion about this movie.
First of all, the dvd arrived within 2 days and everything was great. As this movie was a suggestion and as I am a great fan of Philipp Seymour Hoffman, I ordered it without having a further look at the synopsis.
It starts off in a quite deliberating and comical mood, although right from the start one can figure that it is not just another independent movie... I won't spoil the ending, although it was really really hard to watch for me... Do you know that feeling when you see something disgusting or horrible although you actually can't stop staring? Well that's how I felt during the whole 2 1/2 hours... I was torn between yelling at the screen, feeling pity and the most deepest disgust I have ever felt for any movie figure. (I'm talking about the dear father) I believe the striking part about this film is simply that it harshly directs the bitter truth we are all aware off, although we try to ignore and ban it from our society. ( pedophilia)
I think it is a very great movie, although I would never watch it again. I must admit that I react very sensitive to harsh movies, however I am also a film student, so I kind of have seen any kinds of "cruel" movies. Well I thought I did... This movie definitely set new limits to direct, tactile and provocative movies, portraying the brutal reality of different characters, failing the American dream. I was depressed for 2 days after watching this, so please have a drink right beside you when you watch it, you'll need it!
Apart from that, one should definitely see the movie, as the actors are breathtakingly convincing and extravagant. A must-see, but for me personally only once, I never want to feel again, like I did after this movie! But it definitely opens up your eyes.
I can totally understand the very different approaches and meaning to the film, as it is not an easy one to digest... Just watch it and decide for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Banality of Perversion & Dysfunction, middle-America style, 10 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is indeed marvelous. Todd Solondz combines really absurd situations and embarrassing moments -some of which most of us do encounter in daily life and some we hopefully won't- with serious issues. Thus, this film provides not only a very high degree of entertainment -Solondz' sense for irony is exceptional-, it gives you a critical view on society without judging or condemning or forcing you to think one way or the other. I am genuinely impressed by Happiness and its cast full of great actors.

It is littered with an assortment of characters that seem to have sexual fetishes and perversions of some sort. Solondz explores some dark subjects and you would think this would make the film harsh and difficult to watch, but it holds your attention throughout mainly because of the excellent performances on show, especially from Dylan Baker as a respected doctor who holds a terrible secret, and Philip Seymour Hoffman as an obscene phone-caller. He is so incredibly versatile - he successfully made my skin crawl here. Before I even go further the very first scene is probably the best work John Lovitz has ever done. This movie looks dead on at some of the most awkward and horrific things in American culture, but never ever ever tells you or suggests to you what you should think or feel, the way most films do. John's Speech will blow you away. Jane Adams, who has a calamitous love life and plays the social reject of three dysfunctional sisters, does a wonderful job in role her facial expressions will get you going. My personal favorite was Cynthia Stevenson as one of those typical housewives with 2.5 kids and a carpool. Her character was so obnoxious, superficial and condescending - she clearly did a wonderful job. I was also a huge fan of Camryn Manheim (what a twist!), Lara Flynn Boyle (she gives new meaning to the role of the phony snob), Elizabeth Ashley, and Molly Shannon's cameo which was HYSTERICAL. And the child actors...simply brilliant and such difficult material. The film's most powerful and emotional scene is towards the end when Baker's character has a trying conversation with his son.

I think it is fair to say that anyone watching this film can identify with at LEAST one of the so-called 'sicknesses' of the characters, therefore, it is the look in to the dark recesses of their own minds that makes them so uncomfortable. The world is a messed up place, and we all contribute to that in our own fashion, some more than others, but nevertheless, we all do, because our lives all clash with one another at some point. The best we can do is to face it and deal with it, not act as though we are separate from it! I suppose what I am trying to say is that this work is an important, unflinching look at the REAL reality in this world and, like it or not, it does affect you in one way or another, so you might as well face up to it by identifying with this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happiness ...... ?, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Emma Fordham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Well......weird is one was of putting it....I've seem a lot of messed up films in my time but this was on another level...still, a good, dark-humoured film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unhappiness, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Paradoxically, I've given this four stars BECAUSE the acting is so good. It's some of the subject matter that caused me discomfort. But if you're OK with child abuse, abusive relationships, and people leading desperate, isolated existences....then watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film but not for the faint hearted, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Great film but not for the faint hearted. It should be described as unhappiness. Interlocked story life's of people trying to find happiness. Some very uncomfortable scenes and very shocking. Great performances. I still hate some characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply dark, funny and painfully uncomfortable., 4 July 2010
This review is from: Happiness [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Though told mainly from the viewpoint of Joy, `Happiness' is essentially the story of three sisters and the characters that surround their lives.
Helen is a successful and arrogant writer of sexually explicit fiction who boasts to journalists of wanting to know what it is like to be raped and abused, but deep down sees her own work as shallow and exploitative.
Trish is a middle class housewife and mother of three, happily married to psychiatrist Bill and on the surface seems to have the perfect life, except one thing, Bill is highly manipulative and active paedophile who preys on young boys.
Joy, the youngest of the sisters, is a sensitive and sweet natured woman who always seems to be unlucky in love and who always manages to get on the wrong side of everyone she meets. After breaking up with a man she dated at work he responds with a malicious and vitriolic rant and then commits suicide a few days later. In an attempt to make a new start she decides to work as an English teacher at an immigrant education center, where she is despised by her students and fellow workers for crossing the picket line during an ongoing teachers strike. The only person who is kind to her is a Russian student named Valdimir who seduces her in order to rob her of her possessions.
I have to admit I bought the DVD of Happiness on impulse about seven years ago and thought it was so bad I switched it off only 20 minutes in and sold it the next day. Since then I've rediscovered the films of Todd Solondz, first with `Welcome To The Dollhouse', then `Palindromes' and then `Storytelling'. And though I through loved `Welcome To The Dollhouse', it was only after watching `Palindromes' that I got what Solondz is trying to do via film. As well creating great characters and stories, Solondz's subversive skill is to create scenarios which at first make you laugh then sharply stab your conscience when you realise your laughing at the most appalling of situations, and his second film `Happiness' is without doubt the most potent with this ability and as a film is thoroughly captivating.
Be warned though, this is a film which in parts is incredibly uncomfortable to watch and often offensive and if you've not experienced a Todd Solondz film before you might be better off trying out `Welcome To The Dollhouse' and `Palindromes' first. But if you like independent cinema and are not easily offended then this is an outstanding film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happiness [DVD] [1999]
Happiness [DVD] [1999] by Todd Solondz (DVD - 2000)
4.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews