Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this what evolution is all about!!
What seems to be a mediocre Sci-Fi film turns out to be a thought provoking epic. The two astronauts on arriving back after an "encounter" in orbit appear to be different in certain ways , as if their personalities had been altered. When you realised that not all is right ,events take on a sinister air, and you are left thinking that they have been altered in some way by...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by David H J Ashdown

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Cast in a 3 Star Movie
Now I like Johnny Depp a lot, but I feel that this movie does not extract the full measure of talent he has to offer and that's not any fault of his.
Both lead roles are played smack bang on. Charlize Theron is stunning and well cast as ever.
Perhaps it is because JD's character is wiped out by some nebulous alien entity within 15 minutes and thereafter is a...
Published on 19 Jan 2005 by V. WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Cast in a 3 Star Movie, 19 Jan 2005
By 
V. WILLIAMS "veejaydubya" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Now I like Johnny Depp a lot, but I feel that this movie does not extract the full measure of talent he has to offer and that's not any fault of his.
Both lead roles are played smack bang on. Charlize Theron is stunning and well cast as ever.
Perhaps it is because JD's character is wiped out by some nebulous alien entity within 15 minutes and thereafter is a pretty cold fish and unsympathetic to boot. I suppose that a creature able to travel at light speed without the need for a spaceship or spacesuit will consider Earth's human occupants similar to pond life. It's a wonder such a creature would need to go through the niceties of trying to integrate with us at any level, but this one does supposedly in order to impregnate a human to further its own species - but why would it need to?
I just kept thinking, "Why is it bothering?"
The version I saw was the DVD with "Alternate Ending" and I found it more satisfying than the other ending packaged with it. Quite frankly, by the time I'd got to the ending if JD's head had burst open and a UFO had flown out I would have been quite ready for it and not surprised at all.
It's the script and the anonymous alien that makes this movie somewhat unsatisfactory to me. I'm not sure why JD went in for it after his display of talent in Benny & Joon and The Brave to quote two of his diverse roles.
Not a tour de force piece of cinema in my book but well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this what evolution is all about!!, 8 Dec 2011
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
What seems to be a mediocre Sci-Fi film turns out to be a thought provoking epic. The two astronauts on arriving back after an "encounter" in orbit appear to be different in certain ways , as if their personalities had been altered. When you realised that not all is right ,events take on a sinister air, and you are left thinking that they have been altered in some way by an advanced alien force.
As the film progresses the tension between Johnny Depps character and his wifes (Charlize Theron) becomes palpable , especially when she thinks she is pregnant with, what She thinks is a pair of alien hybrids. However at the conclusion you are left with the thought that may-be there are more so called alien-hybrids than anyone thinks and that perhaps this is what the Human condition is striving towards. I'll leave you to arrive at your own conclusions-- Don't take this film at face value it's a lot deeper than you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great cast can't save a dull movie, 15 May 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A patchy and derivative sci-fi story. The A-list cast give strong performances but they can't save an uninspired movie.

The first half hour of the movie races along at a strong pace, but then grinds to a disappointing halt when the real "psychological thriller" part of the movie begins, after which point it drags along at a snail's pace until the final showdown.

The final showdown is available in two different versions on the disc- and both versions are poor, unsatisfying endings. As we watched it we came up with at least three better endings for the film...

Unless you're a massive Johnny Deep or Charlize Theron fan, you could give this a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Depps, 19 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I have read these reviews with interest and I have to say I m still not sure about this one. I have such faith in JD's understanding of his roles that I think that this so subtle- verging on the not there build up from a sweet all American guy to a ruthless, single minded non human may have been an interpretation of what it could be like to be replaced by an alien- without the movie stereotype we have all grown up with.
Is it possible that the cold looks, the extraordinary transformation over a few minutes in the love scene and the unflinching expression when Jo strokes his cheek further on in the story are all the clues we are meant to get?
Is it just a very subtle metamorphisis- or doesn't it work?
Anyone care for further debate on this one. I would still say worth watching... but odd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Added to my Johnny depp collection was missing it and couldn't find any where else such a good film he is so hot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Something happened up there..., 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A space shuttle in orbit to repair a damaged satellite is forced to return to Earth after NASA loses contact with astronauts Spencer Armacost and Alex Streck for two minutes.

Both were outside the spacecraft when this occurred. While Armacost seems to be unaffected, Streck has a much harder time recovering from whatever happened to them.

Over time, Armacost's wife begins to note subtle changes in him. Egged on by a former NASA employee, she begins to believe that her husband is something else.

And she is expecting his twins....

Considering that the two leads are now two of the biggest stars in the world, they were still pretty big in 1999, but this is a really weird film for them to be in.

If this was made today, it'd be on the SyFy channel, or made by asylum pictures. There was no need to spend 75 million on this, as its nothing more than Rosemary's Baby meets Science Fiction.

But there is this glossy sheen over the film that you cannot help but admire, and Depp and Theron are good, despite the dodgy script and convoluted narrative.

But fear not, if you get confused, Joe Morton pops up every now and again to explain to everyone what is going on.

But any fool could tell that Depp isn't right, and despite a quite good second act (thanks to Morton), the initial set up is silly and the final scene just ruins the whole film.

Do yourself a favour, if you see this, turn it off right after she puts her feet back in the water, and miss the final kick in the nethers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, 5 Sep 2013
By 
ShanRay "Living to Listen" (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Charlize Theron from my home town, is a brilliant actress. I will always purchase her films, and have never been dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Mar 2013
By 
S. G. Stockham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Don't rate this film at all. I know the title is "The Astronauts Wife" and it was all about "the wife" but there should have been a bit more about the husband. There wasn't much of a roll for Johnny Depp in this film, in fact I couldn't see any abnormal behavior to suspect him being an alien.

Also, I got a bit fed up with close-ups of Charlize's mouth. Okay she has nice full lips but come on! What's all that about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff!!, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I love this film!! I would describe it as a Horror/Thriller. Johnny Depp and Charlize Theron are husband and wife. Johnny is an astronaut..hence the films title :P He returns from a space mission and Charlize realises he is now acting very sinister and strange, so she sets out to prove this is not her husband who has returned... but who has?? If you are a fan of the lead actors or this film genre then this is a must watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 13 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
What a great cast! I it when a story line in a movie can meet the great expectations I have for the big stars in it. A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999]
The Astronaut's Wife [DVD] [1999] by Rand Ravich (DVD - 2000)
8.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews