Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the man that got away!
Jeff's one, completed solo album 'Grace' is the only album i have ever bought in memory that i loved from first listen yet still grows on me even now. The only disappointment is knowing what might have been if his tragic loss had not occured. However, its not all doom and gloom when you dig into the releases after his death which although may be somewhat a consolation to...
Published on 8 Oct 2003 by DT

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!
As a fairly big Jeff Buckley fan I bought this with high hopes, especially with the idea that anything his mother allowed to be released posthumously would be excellent. But no. First of all, the sound quality is CRAP! These songs were never recorded with commercial release in mind and they should not have been released, the normally brilliant Grace just sounds like a...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by Dobbins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the man that got away!, 8 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
Jeff's one, completed solo album 'Grace' is the only album i have ever bought in memory that i loved from first listen yet still grows on me even now. The only disappointment is knowing what might have been if his tragic loss had not occured. However, its not all doom and gloom when you dig into the releases after his death which although may be somewhat a consolation to his death it is also a great tribute to the man.
For example, 'sketches for my sweetheart the drunk' illustrates what he was working one just before his death (which in places is mind blowing) and then there are live albums of which 'mystery white boy' is up there with the best.
Jeff was an explosive performer, one never to do a song in the same way and often with his band never knowing what it was going to sound like, only looking to their inspirational leader. The results are fantastic. Songs from grace such as 'mojo pin', 'last goodbye', 'lilac wine' sound fantastic in a different light to their recorded versions. This is alongside his selection of covers of which i think 'what will you say' is the pick of the bunch; heart breaking!
Jeff composition, not on grace 'i woke up.....' is a great song which further shows his songwriting ability and his skills as a performer. His vocal range is one ive never ever heard before from an artist and any fan of 'grace' must own a live album to really fulfil the experience of what Jeff's music was about.
Ending on 'Hallelujah' which also encorporates the smiths classic 'i know its over' ends the album beautifully. As far as live albums go, this is up there with the best. It successfully leads to appreciation for talents as a performer and leaves you in the same position after listening to grace; mourning the loss of such a under rated legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckley at his most captivating, 10 May 2000
By 
Nick Hawkins (Epping, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
These live performances, taken from the late Jeff Buckley's 'Hard Luck' and 'Mystery White Boy' tours in '95 and '96, provide fans like me with an insight into how Jeff's music, and inparticular his remarkable voice, transfered from the studio to a stage set-up. And believe me, the result is everything I expected from a talent as unique as Buckley's.
From the atmospheric opening of "Dream Brother" you are putty in Jeff's hands.
Having heard many Buckley live offerings before on previous CD singles, I was expecting to hear the same "live" versions of these songs. But NO, Jeff gives a different performance for each song. "Eternal Life" is brilliantly beefed up with some superb guitar.
Previously unreleased songs "I woke up in a strange place" "What will you say" "Moodswing Whiskey" and "The man that got away" all sit well amongst Jeff favourites. But Jeff's performance of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" with The Smiths "I know its Over" steals the show. Truely magnicent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 12 July 2000
By 
nick g black (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
I edged backwards into listening to Jeff Buckley, expecting something far less mature,thoughtful and lyrical. But this live album is just as good as Grace, an album as much for musicians as anyone else.
The heart of Buckley's extraordinary gift was his intuitive understanding of dynamics - and the way the songs growl, whisper, lope and slam are utterly intriguing. Mojo Pin is still the track that says it all, but there are some awesome performances. If he's new to you, try the studio album first, and then put this on. It is an astonishing, luminous declaration of intent. How sad that we never got to hear chapter two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckley's other face, 6 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
This live album shows you what kind of a musician Buckley was too. When in the studio, he used all the advantages studios offer, searching for well-crafted heartfelt arrangements. But live, it was all about rock 'n roll, power, instinct, guts, dynamics and guitars. He sounded like he fought with his demons right there on the stage. Awesome, scary in a way too. Anyway, "Sketches..." proves that he wanted to rock more.
Jeff's live albums are a must. Because that was what he sounded like too, what he felt like live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only we could have stopped him going for a swim, 27 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
This CD is very different to the work Jeff was working on around the time of the recordings. Although drawing heavily from the songs which made up Grace, here they seem much rawer, a real band at work - one of the things Andy Wallace failed to capture on the debut. The new songs and covers are departures from Jeffs work with Patti Smith, Brenda Kahn and Sandy Bell. Surprisingly Jeffs mother and band decided to leave out the MC5's Kick out the jams, a shame as it was played at every concert. It is one of the live albums which like Neil Youngs Live Rust is actually better than the recordings which the songs were first presented in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best from a God of music, 13 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
Most live albums tend to make me cringe. The music is good but quality lacks in the singing area. This whole Cd is captivating from the very first second right till the last one. This is infact better than recorded Cd's, it captures the true potential of this under rated musical master. The choice of songs is spectacular, 'Dream Brother' and a cover of 'Kanga roo' are simply breath taking. Every live show he was able to variate each song so it was never the same twice. A smpily stunning man, and stunning cd. A most have for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gracing our presence once again, 19 May 2000
By 
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
His Father released nine albums, but all we got from Jeff was the one. Grace was, and still is, a moving, sometimes subtle, sometimes harsh album of great quality. What we have here on Mystery White Boy is Jeff moving in a different direction. In this album there is a harshness to his approach where he tries to push the song and his voice to a different Maxim to what we knew in Grace. A superb album, it may take a few listens to appreciate, however it IS worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do all the good guys have to die?, 12 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
For the discerning music listener, the name Buckley has grown to represent something of a mark of quality. Tim Buckley was one of the old school of late 60s/early 70s rock, and could dazzle with the both the power of his songs and his four octave range. That his son Jeff shares the same instinctive musical ability and extremely emotive and adaptable voice, varying between the choiral recital of Lilac Wine and the totally ROCKING wail of Eternal Life is nothing short of bewildering. Anyone who has heard Jeff's first (and only) proper LP, 'Grace' will be familiar with the bulk of this live CD since the album's core is composed mainly of that material. However, whereas most live albums are the preserve of completists and die hards, there is every reason to get your hands on this even if you already own the studio versions. Each song is reworked somehow, while retaining the haunting beauty which the material possesses. As an addition there are several new songs on this album which tragic Buckley never recorded before his untimely death. I never saw Jeff Buckley live, but more so than any live album I've ever heard, this makes you feel, if you close your eyes tight and open your imagination wide that you may actually be in the presence of the man. Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the CD's, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
Jeff buckley, live! and BETTER than the CD's! Contains tracks you my not of heard such as 'I Woke Up In A Strange Place', 'Moodswing Whiskey', 'Kanga Roo' and my favourite song from the album, 'What will you say', which is beautiful. The album contains the modern classic 'Grace', the brilliant 'Last Goodbye' and 'Mojo Pin' in all their vocal and musical glory. This album contains a brilliant heavy version of 'Eternal Life', which is breath-taking, (how can you improve on an already amazing track?, well they have). The album is lively, with amazing vocals (well it is Jeff Buckley), and has brilliant live music from the band which IS better than the CD's. Jeff Buckley in his true brilliance.Truly a materpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There aren't enough stars in the Universe, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 (Audio CD)
Inspiring. Frightening. Colossal. Graceful. Glorious. Gargantuan - and that's just "Dream Brother", the opening number of this collection of awesome live material, as selected by Jeff's mother and former band mates.

In truth, you cannot describe an album as good as this - you have to listen to it and spend a lifetime letting it sink in. Had this breath taking collection included the version of "Lover You Should Have Come Over" featured on "Live a L'Olympia", then surely many would have been mortally wounded by the over-whelming power of its ecstacy. Jeff's version of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah", wrapping its naked legs around an incredibly emotional rendering of The Smiths classic "I Know its Over", will tear at the finest string of your gasping heart.

Some have said that Jeff Buckley was plucked from this world by God, but on listening to this album, I really don't think so; the competition would surely have proved too much.

This is an astounding body of work and don't let anyone try to convince you otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96
Mystery White Boy: Live '95-'96 by Jeff Buckley (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews