Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is gorgeous, gives a great selection of their music., 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
An absolutely fabulous adddition to any record collection. A modern spin on the Portuguese Fado tradition. I first heard of Madredeus on seeing the film 'Ainda' and bought the soundtrack. Someone obviously liked it as much as I did and it duly dissappeared. I was looking to replace that and found 'Antologia', which, for my money, was even better than what I was replacing. It gives an excellent cross section of the groups work and albums, from the first lineup to what we have today. The guitar work and Teresa's vocals are exquisite. Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet and Soulful, 24 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
I listened to this whilst being driven through the Portuguese Alentejo last summer, in the pitch darkness of straight, unlit roads. It was on the cd player in my Portuguese friend's car, and it made for wonderful listening.
The music is absolutely, unmistakeably Portuguese, and some tracks have that typically poetic melancholy feel(saudade), whilst others are prettier, poppier and lighter, almost jazzier. Overall the mix is very good and it's a lovely, listenable album.
I have the live double album 'O Porto' but I far preferred this one.
Madredeus is very highly regarded in Portugal, it's high time their audience was more international. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 27 Jun 2004
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
I am not an aficionado of 'World Music', and I don't, as a rule, buy CDs purely on the recommendation of fellow reviewers but I have got a lot to thank the previous two reviwers for. I had heard some Fado on the World Music Awards and knew it to be probably the most emotional music I had ever heard, I took a chance on it and was wowed, I wasn't really prepared for this CD.
I hadn't even listened to the samples on the Amazon site, and to be fair this isn't the best way to listen, it has to be the intimate setting of headphones or of course driving through Portugal at night! THIS CD IS SHEER BLISS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of heaven, 27 Dec 2000
By 
neil_f@tdaltd.com (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
From the opening O Pastor - with it's Nyman-like structure and breathtaking vocals from Teresa Salgueiro, this is one album you should dare to buy. It charts the path of development of a band little known in the UK - simply becuase they don't sing in English. After listening to it, the only question you will ask yourself, is how much more of this we are missing in our ignorance. Inspirational, beautiful stuff. I bow to Portugal's bright star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O Paraiso, 10 Oct 2001
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
I spent a week in Portugal some years back. A friend had a great idea. Whenever she went away somewhere she bought a CD of music that epitomised the area. At a bar in the Biarro Alto she asked our hosts their ideas for a good purcahse. They recommended buying the band that was playing out of the bar into a warm autumnal Lisbon street. The band was Madredeus, or so I found out much later.
This is a album of undoubted beauty. Plain in its production, reliant on the voice to carry the atmosphere of the music to its listener. If not one track on this album can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, you need help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not really fado, but a beautiful derivation, 25 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
It's a mistake to call most of what Madredeus do fado, even if Teresa Salgueiro has her roots in that music. This works in a very different way, seeming at first more monotonous, yet ultimately haunting. Fado is more emotional. This, like much world music, is more calculated. Like the previous reviewer, I don't like world music, but I am a long-standing lover of fado. Until recently, I have tended to dismiss Madredeus, but for a little while I've been listening much more to their songs, and find myself increasingly captivated. Teresa Salgueiro herself is not just a perfectly modulated voice among precise guitars, but is physically beautiful in a way that brings a definition to her singing: her elegant form, usually clad in traditional fado black, and her remarkable smile help personalize what might otherwise pass the listener by as clinical. Of course, this album doesn't come with film, but you can always go to YouTube and watch the group at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful!, 2 Aug 2000
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
If you like foreign music as well as classical, opera, easy listening ... this is for you! Madredeus are a Portuguese band that mixes traditional portuguese Fado music with Spanish flamenco.
The guitar sound is beautiful and the lead singer's voice is divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ethereal, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
To listen to such a beautiful voice is so good for you. This was Madredeus when they were interesting - with cello, accordian piano and Rodrigo Leao - before the synthesiser took over. Fabulous to trance out to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another five star review, 27 Dec 2011
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Antologia (MP3 Download)
This is sung in portrugese, with a slow musical background. It has a classical feel to it, reminiscent of traditional spanish and portrugese music but with a contemporary feel in how the instruments are deployed.

It has the feel of Penguin Cafe Orchestra or Philip Glass in how it manages to merge old and new.

So much for trying to describe it, try clicking on the samples, they are gorgeous. The songs are all real growers, getting better on repeated listens. Although this is a collection from various albums, they all sit well together, there is no troubling electronic period.

Fans of Madredeus may be interested in the Wim Wenders' film Lisbon Story [DVD] [1994] not only does it feature music from the band, the band also feature, and there is a bonus interview with the band leader recalling their involvement with the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: Antologia (Audio CD)
I strongly recommend this album to everyone - If you havent listened yet you're missing out.. Ohh and of course, its very Portuguese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antologia
Antologia by Madredeus (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews