Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding sixth album from Seattle legends
The fact that Pearl Jam are practically the only remaining band from the early '90s North-West American music explosion speaks volumes. The fact that they've done it on their own terms further supports their cause. Now they've added another feather to their collective cap by recruiting Matt Cameron (formerly of Soundgarden) and releasing an album that combines the...
Published on 16 May 2000 by alexross42

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam, with such classics as their earlier albums, do moderately well here.
One thing that is good about Pearl Jam is they are not afraid to grow. They do not stand and milk a formula, but move on, growing as musicans. NO CODE is their best example of this. That album recieved the coolest reception of any of them, although personally I like the album. After going to more upbeat rock `n roll with YIELD, they continue this trend into...
Published on 2 Oct 2007 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding sixth album from Seattle legends, 16 May 2000
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
The fact that Pearl Jam are practically the only remaining band from the early '90s North-West American music explosion speaks volumes. The fact that they've done it on their own terms further supports their cause. Now they've added another feather to their collective cap by recruiting Matt Cameron (formerly of Soundgarden) and releasing an album that combines the writing talents of the band more than on any of their previous albums. The single 'Nothing As It Seems' was met with mixed reception. It's melancholoy acoustic strumming overladden with echoeing, soaring lead licks was seen as a bad choice by some but that's just it - Pearl Jam have never wanted radio-friendly songs or unit shifters. They make music for themselves and their fans. Plain and simple. The album opens with three moderate/moderate-fast rockers, full of energy and intensity, written by Vedder (vocals), Ament (bass), and Cameron (drums) respectively. Cameron's contribution (Evacuation) sees PJ dabbling in new areas such as quirky time changes and sudden breakdowns that work magically, even suggesting hints at Cameron's former outfit in places. 'Light Years' takes things down a notch and is a beautiful song about loss and love, the infectious chorus will be coming from your shower before you know it. Other highlights include the Eastern-tinged 'Of The Girl', spacey, thought-provoking and crescending 'Sleight Of Hand', and album closer 'Parting Ways', featuring a small string section. Overall this album marks once again a band that aren't afraid to explore musical boundaries, who fully realise the benefits of teamwork and just get better with every album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent; why does it get so much shit?, 31 July 2004
By 
J. T. Hooker (Albion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
I don't understand this album, it'll always be something of an enigma to me. I can only assume the reason this gets slated so much by critics is because it was too commerical. Other than that it is track after track of modern, coherant, superior rock music. I love it.
Most Pearl Jam albums have a quirky, experimental side to them. This is perhaps the only one that doesn't. Even 'Yield' has "Push Me, Pull Me".
"Gods' Dice" is perhaps the finest fast-rocker since "Animal", "Light Years" is an excellent slow, almost ballady number followed by the single and perhaps strongest hit they've had since 'Ten'; "Nothing as it Seems", which I love. One of their strongest songs both lyrically and musically. This is in turn followed by another classic, beautiful song, "Thin Air", which is a Gossard number. Absolutely beautiful.
There are some other crackers here such as "Insignificance", "Rival" (love it) and of course the excellent "Parting Ways." The only song I'm not overly keen on is "Evacuation" but then again it is a Matt Cameron song, which isn't neccessarily a bad thing, just not classic Pearl Jam style. Finally we have "Of The Girl", probably the least accessible song on the entire album and yet one which I now love thanks to the acoustic rendition on the new acoustic double-CD, 'Live at Benaroya Hall'. If Pearl Jam can make an album as consistent, coherant and altogether brilliant as this again, then then will indeed be the greatest band of the 90's.
Beautiful, poignant and in some parts rockin'.
5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pearl Jam classic, 1 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam are one of the few bands who can 're-invent' themselves and do a good job of it! I have to admit that the first time I heard parts of Binaural on their web site I had doubts as to how good it was going to be. Having borrowed it from a friend (and subsequently bought it from Amazon) for a couple of days I was pleasantly suprised at the depth of the CD (like most PJ CDs they take a good listen to to love!). Full of familiar Pearl Jam riffs and lyrics. All hail Eddie Vedder for his excellent voice. There are some Great 'up' tracks like Gods' Dice and Evacuation and some haunting and frankly scary tracks like Light Years and Rival. Soon Forget despite being slightly odd (Eddie Vedder on the ukelele) is a brilliant track - listen to Eddies' voice and those lyrics! I hope the recent Roskilde tragedy hasn't dampened their love of music. In my opinion they are at their peak in their art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw edge returns as Pearl Jam churns out yet more quality, 15 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
After the stunning return to form that was Yield, PJ have delivered another 13 tracks of pure, heavenly quality. The maturing tone of Yield continues into Binaural, with the bonus return of their unmistakeable raw edge. Vedder sounds as fantastic/harrowed as ever, and contributes his staple rougher tracks to the album (the stunning opener Breakerfall and pounding Grievance) while Gossard's writing reaches new heights with Of The Girl - as good a song as you're likely to hear all summer. Nothing As It Seems sounds as good as it did on first listening and the remainder of the tracks hold their own without a weak link in sight...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam have still got it!, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
Although not quite as instant as Ten or Vs (which will probably always be PJ's best albums), "Binaural" is very striking in it's own right. The choruses linger enough to bring you back, but the songs have an almost Tool-like tendency to keep themselves just unfamiliar enough to still surprise you on subsequent listens. A mesmerising and addictive album, which just gets better and better the more I hear it! Also, "Nothing as it seems" has a guitar solo very reminiscent of "The Thin Ice" by Pink Floyd, so anyone in love with Dave Gilmour's guitar work (like myself) should check that out sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid enough...I think?, 23 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
For someone like me who is pretty much a die-hard Pearl Jam fan, I was perhaps a little disappointed with Binaural the first time I heard it. But in true PJ tradition, their wirey riffs, understated growling guitar distortion and airy vocal lines just, well, hook into you somehow and don't let go. The brilliant GOD'S DICE uses seemingly random overdriven chord sequences in really fruity progressions and has a very catchy chorusline. LIGHT YEARS is probably the best track here though, whilst NOTHING AS IT SEEMS and INSIGNIFICANCE are true PJ classics too. Evolving and cutting edge. Another new PJ sound has arrived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Pearl Jam sound..., 14 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
Once again, Pearl Jam manage to take their influences and produce another great sound. They seem a bit more mellow these days, that's not to say they can't still rock, tracks like 'God's Dice' and 'Breakerfall' certainly prove that, but in general I found the album more relaxed.
Matt Cameron has added an extra dimension to the band with his awesome drumming. Eddie Vedder's lyrical content remains strong, the McCready, Gossard guitar combo remains super productive, especially on tracks such as 'Sleight of Hand' and 'Nothing As it Seems'. THIS ALBUM IS VERY GOOD! GO PURCHASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten was a one off - get over it, 6 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
this is the amazing stuff Eddie and the guys keep coming back with time and again. Could everyone stop comparing it to Ten, es Ten was good, great, even fantastic bit for those of you who jumped on the Pearl Jam bandwagon because of Ten get over it - they are so much more than that. Listen to this CD and others and you will notice the same magic Pearl Jam creates running through all of the them. For those too young to have been with Pearl Jam since the beginning you can't go wrong starting with Binaural but do not overlook No Code et al - masterpieces one and all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Pearl Jam, 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam's latest album 'Binaural' although very different in styles is getting back to the roots of 'Ten' & 'Vitology'. Although all of their albums are in my view brilliant, they have changed their style & varied with every one. Binaural has the same mix of quality mellow tracks & rockin grunge anthems as the ultimate album in their impressive catalouge, Ten. I recently saw them live in Cardiff & the mix of classics & new material was awesome. Another quality album from the Seattle kings, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best band in the world, 19 Aug 2000
By 
Mr. Jacob Mayfield "nocode198" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Binaural (Audio CD)
It's great to see such an established band evolving and not sticking to their formula. I saw them live recently and they were absolutely amazing, so relaxed and basically jamming on stage, you can really feel the groove in this album, no perfectly crafted pop songs here, just great rock/grunge/folk/metal/punk et cetera played with a rarely seen genuine enthusiasm for their art, this album was written to please the band and this results in an effortless delivery which isn't contrived like so much of todays rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Binaural
Binaural by Pearl Jam (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews