Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2006
Considering this Isle of Wight Festival was something of a shambles, (Ref: BBC2 documentary 'Sink the Island,' broadcast in 2001), it's a miracle any band's played. With Fiery Creations boss, Ricky Farr, then in his infancy at staging such an event, and Mick Farren, (then of It magazine), and friends doing everything possible to turn it into a free festival, (they believed it should be because how can an outdoor event have tickets when the crowd could sit beyond the fenced perimeter and listen for nothing), it was indeed a miracle.

But this excellent DVD has captured The Who at perhaps the best point in their career, and one of those 'must buys' for just about any rock fan. Marred only by 'Magic Bus' cut in as the 10th song when it actually should have been the last, (as Pete Townshend begins guitar demolition, which abruptly stops, then moves to the next song), the balance is masterful. Just a pity the person / people editing such filmed performances don't leave the running order alone; every band's set builds to a peak, and to have it placed somewhere else just isn't cricket! But that gripe ignored this is an excellent buy.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2000
A fitting visual testament to the absolute power of a unique British band forever dogged by an overwhelming sense of their own history.
From the very moment they open with Entwistle's "Heaven and Hell", through their ritual demolition of "I can't Explain", "Young man blues", a lot of "Tommy" and other crowd - pleasers such as "Magic bus", "Summertime blues" and "My generation", the band ROAR to frequent, repeated musical climaxes in a way that only The Who can. For those of us too young to have been there, this release is an absolute blessing.
Roger Daltrey's voice (and microphone twirling) are at a peak, so is Townshend's guitar playing amd Moon's (kit-thrown-down-the-stairs)drumming. John Entwistle - the REAL lead guitarist with The Who shines throughout.
On this release, the original line-up of the band slay 600,000 people, plus all of us TV viewers, in an utterly mesmerising performance that cannot be recommended too highly.
All you musicians out there who think you are really something will be humbled by this! Buy it and learn. This band has - and continues to - influence the world
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2003
I love the Who live, what a band! This, although hampered slightly by the typical unweidiness of the period cameras and probably due to limited room on the stage is a chance to see Moony playing drums like only he could. The Who play well, perhaps Rogers voice could be a little better, but everyone is firing on all four cylinders. I would certainly recommend this dvd to Who (and music) fans everwhere.
Now the ...but. Why, oh why do concert film producers think that the original playing order should be changed? Do they think that the Who didnt know what order to play stuff? The producers of "Live at Leeds" cd did the same. The Who didnt play Tommy last, the last thing they played at IOW was Magic Bus. So why change it? They will be having the shark die at the beginning of Jaws next, PAH
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
Wether you like The Who or not I guarentee you this DVD will make you wish you could go back in time and be there, it just builds and builds making you feel like you missed something special.

It left me feeling like the studio albums of The Who were almost a playdown of their true talent, imagine for one minute a group known for trying radical live music comes together just for one night in a way that was probably as surprising to them as the audience then just relaxing and playing the best live music you could wish for!

Well buy this and you'll soon realise why Keith Moon and John Entwhistle were so special.

Basicly if you see this DVD you will know what's missing from every live performance since 1970.

WOW

WOW

WOW

A magic concert that will never be repeated in my opinion, almost makes it impossible to see The Who live now as dissapointment is the only feeling you'll get.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having read about the concert and all that led up to their performance, I was really looking forward to seeing if it lived up to my expectations. It does. It's Daltrey's singing-bare chested and longhaired, Townsend's guitar, and the fit of pique, Entwistle-steady as ever, with the skeleton suit to hint at the mischievious personality underneath, Moon's drumming -top form, in a wonderfully exuberant performance especially when you think it was 2am. Occasional references to ...Woodstock, where The Who hadn't been at their best, set it historically, you almost feel you are there afterall. My one complaint? Not long enough-could've watched and listened for much longer. Oh, and not being born until two years later, wish I'd been there..
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2003
I was really looking forward to seeing this DVD, but i have to say i am a little bit disappointed with it.
The cameras really are jumping about, I would much rather be able to see them playing as there is a lot of zooming, out of focus shots. Even shots of some people in the crowd standing around a fire not paying any attention to the concert.
A lot of the camera angles are from BEHIND the band, so you cant see their faces.
A DVD like the who at the royal albert hall would be a much better purchase. Windmilling is down to a minimum, and the Whos general stage presence isnt as amazing their standard.
Thats not to say its a bad DVD, its just a little shoddy.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
When you see How The West Was Won, you feel Zeppelin were basically a bunch of musicians who had to get on stage to have their music heard. Watching this, you feel The Who were basically a bunch of nutters who had to produce music so they could get on a stage and make a racket. Imagine this starting up at 2 in the morning...gordstrewth.

It's a bit shambolic, especially at the start; it's often difficult to tell whether they're ending a song, starting one, or just having a rest. Pete Townshend in his white half-mast boiler suit and red socks looks like a creepy plumber (though that could partly be hindsight); Keith Moon drubs away with, as usual, more bluster than rhythm; Daltrey seems ill at ease, outshone by Townshend as front-man and - almost - by John Entwistle as a singer. Entwistle shows them all up, keeping it together with some nicely observed bass playing, a bowl-head medieval haircut and a Skeleton Bone suit. The up-close filming gives little sense of the scale of the event - at the time, a rapid in-out zoom still seemed like a good idea - and the sound isn't fantastic. They don't even smash up their instruments at the end.

Yet somehow they get away with it all. Entwistle is the musical focus that prevents it degenerating into pub rock. As for Townshend, you have to hand it to him. He was little more than a Joe Strummer on guitar yet, far from it being obvious, he could pass for Jimi Hendrix at times; what he lacked in raw talent he made up by intelligence. He could not only write a rock opera like 'Tommy' but perform it live without expanding on the basic power trio - in fact, it was generally better live. 'Tommy' must be one of the most intellectually complex, if often unpleasant, products of popular music; yet it remains good basic rock'n'roll. Moon, maybe a little uncomfortable with the whole thing, sarcastically tells the audience to be quiet for Tommy: 'it's very serious!'. Well, that's drummers for you....

For quality playing, Zeppelin had it covered; The Who score on edge, energy and sheer attack. Between the two of them, I ask again: what did Punk think it was adding? 'An aggressive lack of ambition' is the only thing I can think of.

'Mog', by the way, is minimalist prog - that, and Meg's cat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2004
A definate must by. The Who invented the live performance with wonderful concerts like this. The energy they all show on stage plus the greatness of tommy and the less well known stuff make this a thrill to watch. Best Music DVD I have ever watched in my life from the best band i've ever heard. Pure good old fashioned rocking!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2002
I have always remembered bits of that night well but the DVD (a present out of the blue)brought it all back to me as soon as I put it on the player. A lovely feeling as memories came flooding back. There were many great bands and performers at the festival but the Who stood out as one of (if not) the best. The DVD will be treasured and played regularly for the rest of my life.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2001
This great live Who performance marked the Who's homecoming from their world tour. The video features classics such as My Generation, Water and Tommy can you hear me? Classic moments include Keith hurling his drumsticks in the air and miraculously catching them and the electrifing performance of Who front man Pete Townsend.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)