Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars68
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2011
Most of the reviews below detail accurately the film itself. All I would say in addition is, if anyone thinks this is a racist film, then they're mistaken.

This is a short review of the widescreen version.

This 2 disc version is in the original ratio, there are parts of the film where it isn't too important, the hand-held fight sequences for example, but it comes into it's own in the intimate close up work and particularly in the final scenes. The transfer is good, sharper than the single disc and colours are more natural and vivid. On the Audio side there is Dolby Digital 5.1 with DTS plus a stereo option. There is also a director's commentary.

The extras on disc 2 are fairly meagre, there are interviews with:-
Russell Crowe 12mins
Geoffrey Wright 29mins
Jacqueline Mackenzie 12 mins
Tony Lee 10mins
Paul McDonald 18 mins (an outreach worker with street people)

There are also two galleries and a short clip of a photo-shoot.

If you've the cropped version, is it worth buying again ? Yes, if you love the film.

If you're thinking of buying for the first time, it's the only version to buy, trust me. ;O)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2006
Although mostly remembered now for being the star making turn of Russell Crowe, that would be doing this film a disservice. There is far more on show here than Russell Crowe's rising star power.
Sure, Crowe is unbelievable faultless as Hando, the leader of a gang of skinhead, Nazi worshipping, racist thugs. It is him that provides the film with its first taste of violence and it is mostly because of Crowe's portrayal that the film became so controversial.
However, the film is actually told from Jacqueline McKenzie's viewpoint. She plays Gabe, Hando's new girlfriend, and we see her submerged into this new violent world, where Asians are beaten up just for being there.
And that's basically where this tragic film's downfall really starts. When the gang beat up a couple of Asians, which leads on to a fully fledged street riot, events lead on to new events, and the only real thing that is imminenet is the eventual downfall of the thugs.
There is a lot of violence in this film, but it isn't very gory. Even though at times I was disgusted at the blatant racism and violence on screen I was too compelled to turn it off. It is a sledgehammer of a film, and thoguht provoking too.
Quite morally ambiguous, your not too sure where to stand. You shouldn't be on the side of the thugs, because they're racist. Yet Crowe has some real tender moments, meaning you can't hate him. You should feel sorry for the innocent Asians, but when they plot a backlash against the gang, you suddenly don't feel too sorry for them. It's dubious ground, and leaves the viewer slightly on edge - the best way to view a film of this type.
The storyline is the weakest point of this film. It is slightly predictable, and strained at some points. But with a handheld style filming, the movie will always make you feel involved with it, and the build up tension to some of the film's bigger brawls is almost unbearable.
Superb, essential viewing, but not for the easily offended, or for those seeking Friday night entertainment.
44 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
Well, what can i say about Romper Stomper? First off, its a perfect drama that is realistically presented. It has a low budget air to it, but that does not detract from its beauty ( in fact it is central to its appeal for me). Following a few days in the life of a racist, Hitler-worshipping crew, the film often gives you the feeling that you are actually watching the story unfold as though you are in the room with them. Its simmering tension pulls you in, and there are plenty of moments where I find myself flinching as punches are thrown and recoiling as boots fly. The characters are very believable, and I have to remind myself that this is a movie, not a documentary. There are no moments at all where this film fails, from its claustrophobic atmospherics, to its spooky, Jaws-like soundtrack. I cannot recommend this film highly enough. Watch it if you enjoy the kind of films that have the power to make you feel like you were there at the time.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2001
Romper Stomper is not an uplifting movie, don't watch it if you just want to a fun evening, but if you want to see a first class movie that makes you think, this is the one for you. Russell Crowe puts in one of his finest (out of a long line of fine) performances, as the leader of a skinhead gang. As one has come to expect from Mr Crowe, he puts in a many layered performance, and as the film progresses you understand the vulnerabilty and complexity of the man. Daniel Pollock (sadly no longer with us) puts in a superb performance as his best friend and Jacqueline MeKenzie is outstanding as the tragically disturbed and vindictive love interest. If you want a lesson in good movie making, watch this. If you want to see excellent acting performances, watch this. A truly amazing film, well worth seeing... but it will not make you feel good. By the way, for those who want to compare it with American History X (a very good movie), Romper Stomper is better.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
I'm giving this film five stars because it simply is superb from the beginning to the end with a good story despite what some people might say. I don't think the director really wanted the audience to relate to a bunch of racist skinheads so why people complain about that I do not know, I think he just wanted the audience to sit back and enjoy a low budget masterpiece. The acting is very good and the music is top notch ( even though I'm not racist I just thought it went very well with the film) I do feel this film is as good as American History X and if you are not sure about buying Romper Stomper well I shall solve your dilema by saying buy it! you will be pleasantly surprised I assure you with enough thrills to keep you happy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
If you care for the original aspect ratio, I just wanted to point out that the film was shot in 1.85 : 1, but is presented on this DVD 4:3 - 1.33:1.
There are also no subtitles available.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2007
One of my all time favourite films. The story covers the antics of a gang of neo-nazis who self destruct when a racist attack turns on it's head. The introduction of a new girl to the crew causes one of the gangs leaders to question his loyalty. The violence is brutally portrayed but is necessary in its graphic depiction to create a realism that will have the viewer gripped from beginning to end. The irony of the finale is a fitting end to a truly magnificent piece of work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
An awesome and aggressively shot movie focusing on a group of Melbourne skinheads, led by "Hando" (Russell Crowe), as they wreak havoc amongst the growing Vietnamese community in their town.

The thing I liked about this film was that it wasn't a preachy movie, and it has been critisized for being sympathetic to skinheads by giving them more of a heart, but this adds some realism to the film and makes it more interesting. What "Romper Stomper" is saying is that if you live a life of violence and hate, it will lead to your own self destruction whether you're a skinhead or an Islamic terrorist, it doesn't matter.

This is the best Skinhead movie out there IMO. It sets an excellent pace from the start making sure things are on the move and that it never gets dull - and it certainly doesn't! Very real and well acted performances, brutal, dark humored and unforgettable. OI, WATCH IT!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A young Russell Crowe leads his gang of skinheads in battle against Vietnamese immigrants, hippies and his girlfriend's incestuous father. The result is a great deal of mayhem (the Vietnamese have reinforcements) and a lot of angst as the hippy chick causes ructions in the gang. I am not too sure what is the message of the movie other than don't start fights you cannot win but it rocks along a bit like a Shane Meadows' version of Clockwork Orange.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2006
Romper Stomper is a film that offers no remorse,there are no protagonists here,that may seem hard to believe but when all the dust has cleared,it is clear that racism leads to racism and then the circle is complete.Its a film that seldom offers a moral or anything like that,its a film that is often compared to american history x which is also a special movie but the latter movie has a message and more style than this,this is a raw movie that is set in a blue collared side of melbourne in Australia ,and from that is a gang of neo nazi skinheads.The gang are savages who target a group of chinese folk in the area and the result is shattering.Some say this film is a bloodbath,it isnt really,but the violence is a true depiction of hatred and no stone is left uncovered in portraying this.Love is also featured in this movie but its born of hatred so its hard to feel anything for those involved,its a film that unsettles some as there is no hope,no joy,no beauty in it,but watch this and believe what you want to believe,this is gritty stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)