Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a "grand declaration"!
"GDOW", as it's known to so many Mayhem fans, is the flagship of the "new Mayhem", the band forged after the deaths of Euronymous and Dead. In truth, it's officially the sequel to "Wolf's Lair Abyss", the first EP outing of the band, born again after the blood-thirsty loss of two of its members, and it carries on mightily in the same tradition.

Gone is the...
Published on 13 May 2006 by John Free

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Something new...
A new Mayhem release should get every "true" black metal fan excited. This however, is not the Mayhem you remember from the classic De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas-album. This is totally different from what you would expect, after hearing their 98 allout black metal ep Wolf's Lair Abyss. Mayhem is headed into "alternative" area. There is even a well done...
Published on 22 Feb 2002 by foli@larsen.mail.dk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a "grand declaration"!, 13 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Grand Declaration of War (Audio CD)
"GDOW", as it's known to so many Mayhem fans, is the flagship of the "new Mayhem", the band forged after the deaths of Euronymous and Dead. In truth, it's officially the sequel to "Wolf's Lair Abyss", the first EP outing of the band, born again after the blood-thirsty loss of two of its members, and it carries on mightily in the same tradition.

Gone is the snowstorm sludge of "DMDS", replaced by the razor-edged guitar of Blasphemer, the "Hammer Horror" vocals of Maniac and a rejuvenated Hellhammer and Necrobutcher, drawn together once again to create the defining, blitzkrieg black metal rhythm section of all time.

This is uncompromising music as you would expect from the godfathers of black metal. Experimental? Yes! This is most definitely a new direction in black metal.

Listen with your ears, not just your eyes or your memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, but give it a chance!, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Declaration of War (Audio CD)
When I first put this CD in my player I was disappointed. It did not sound very interesting, indeed, at first I was bored to tears with it. A lot less heavy than their earlier release.
But it grew on me. A lot. Awesome drumming and great guitarwork, accompanied by haunting shrieks. The music has a 'hollow', 'chilled' feeling to it, which I think fits the album perfectly.
This is one of those CDs that you can't judge on one listen, especially since Mayhem have had such an aura of 'black metal incarnate' around them, that everyone "knew" what to expect of them. They are doing something different now, which will probably scare off some of the people who thought they'd do another "De Mysteriis". They did not. They changed. But to me, it's a change for the good once you've accepted the fact that Mayhem could not ever make another "De Mysteriis" and get away with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abyssal Review, 6 May 2007
This is the album that got me into Mayhem. Between this and wolfs lair abyss, you have Mayhems greatest offerings. Its hard, grinding, occasionally subtle, but all encompassing in its unnerving hatred and anger. Do it like this boys! Its the way to re write sin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Mayhem but literally mayhem!!!, 5 Feb 2005
This is in no way a continuation of the string of fantastic albums that Mayhem once had going, in fact far from it. No atmosphere, and its got an electronic trackwhich is diabolical. But when you leave the old Mayhem aside and look at it as an album on its own technically it is absolutely epic. The first 3 tracks stand out and believe with the speed of drumming and guitar playing and constant time changes this really does live up to its title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Something new..., 22 Feb 2002
By 
A new Mayhem release should get every "true" black metal fan excited. This however, is not the Mayhem you remember from the classic De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas-album. This is totally different from what you would expect, after hearing their 98 allout black metal ep Wolf's Lair Abyss. Mayhem is headed into "alternative" area. There is even a well done trip-hop track (A Bloodsword and a Colder Sun), but don't worry. Mayhem can still play black metal when they have to. Just listen to "In the Lies Where Upon You Lay". An overall solid album, from some of black-metals true pioneers. Buy it if you think your ready for something new. Good, but not a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GDW, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Declaration of War (Audio CD)
Although not as traditional as most of their previous work, mayhem are doing what they always strove do do- break back boundaries, replacing them with innovative new forms of the black metal they single handedly invented. This is very different to what most of us were expecting, but it grew a lot on me, and the brutality is there, but it is accompanied by extreme technical talent also. This record is highly original, and an interesting musical experience. I recommend it thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best death in history, 16 Sep 2004
By 
Dave (serbia and montenegro) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Declaration of War (Audio CD)
after hearing this album i got so pumped i nearly kicked my mom in the face:i popped like sixteen boners at once in front of my mom. she was trying to turn that shizzle down and i was all like "no way, you cant control this sh**" cos you cant, as my brethren well know. cave canem, fratre!!!
ive gotta go eat some brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was very dissapointed and that`s swearing, 13 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Declaration of War (Audio CD)
On listeneing to the CD I found my jaw dropping to the ground, the words `what the hell is this` first sprang to mind. I mean where has the brutality gone, I bought it today and I`m taking it down to the second hand shop tommorow. Maybe they`ve all turned into sensible sorts and by the photo you`ll agree. Although I`m giving this 2 stars instead of 1 because there is a cool photo of a dove stuck on barbed wire inside. Musically though I suppose if you`re looking for somnething new it is not bad but if you`re into black metal of the traditional style then this is not for you. Euronymous would turn in his grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Declaration of War
Grand Declaration of War by Mayhem (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews