Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as good as he used to be, is he?
Hotter Than July might not be up with his very best work, sure, but it's still a masterpiece by anyone else's standards. This is especially true when you consider that it was released in the early 1980s, when popular music wasn't exactly at its peak. Lately is as good a song as his finest 70s work, such as Knocks Me Off My Feet or Big Brother. And yes, Master Blaster is...
Published on 4 Dec. 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who is Randy Silver?
Just read this review. "the reggae-crossover "Master Blaster (Jammin')", an oft-imitated classic (see Elvis Costello's "Watching the Detectives", for one)". Watching the Detectives was released in October 1977, Hotter Than July in September 1980. Does Randy get paid for this?
Published 22 months ago by Paul Kilgour


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as good as he used to be, is he?, 4 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
Hotter Than July might not be up with his very best work, sure, but it's still a masterpiece by anyone else's standards. This is especially true when you consider that it was released in the early 1980s, when popular music wasn't exactly at its peak. Lately is as good a song as his finest 70s work, such as Knocks Me Off My Feet or Big Brother. And yes, Master Blaster is awesome. One more thing though. Elvis Costello is a genius. I already knew this to be true, but now I know it's not just in the field of music! Not only did he rip off Master Blaster as your reviewer points out, but he then jumped in a time machine, went back to 1977 (three years before Stevie recorded the song) and released Watching the Detectives first. Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An important album from the singer-songwriter Stevie Wonder, 12 May 2008
By 
I. Thomson "The music, book and film fanatic" (Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
Hotter than July, is never really acknowledged, in despite of the achievements that Wonder managed to do with it. The album was the best selling of his career to that point and Dr Martin Luther King Jr was granted a national holiday on 26th January 1986 after his plea in the song "Happy Birthday"

Wonder promotes diversity, peace (Master Jammin'-a tribute to Bob Marley's reggae style); anger ("I ain't gonna stand for it"); politics ("Cash in your hand"), love ("All i do" and "Rocket Love") and influence ("Happy Birthday"- the song now even appears in real birthday cards, despite being written as a tribute to the civic rights work by Dr Martin Luther King Jr.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When geniuses made pop, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of Stevie's '70s classics and very recently bought this album almost from a sense of duty. I understood that he was going off the boil at this point in his career but for Master Blaster (Jammin') alone, it seemed worth a few pounds. What I got for my few pounds was an album that was never off my CD player at the time of purchase and one of the very best pop abums of my (large) record collection.

I say pop meaning in no way to denigrate this album. Yes, it's still packed full of soul and funk and fabulous musicianship but ultimately this is "just" a fantastic collection of terrific, accessible, hook-laden pop songs. The opening few bars of Did I Hear You Say You Love Me? leap out of the speakers and the first six songs are staggeringly good. The quality does dip for Do Like you and Cash in Your Face but even these have great funky rhythm tracks - frankly, you could insert two tracks of Schoenberg at that point and the rest of the album is so strong it would still be a pop classic. Oh, and after that dip, Hotter than July comes back with Lately and Happy Birthday.

A few years ago I stumbled across my sister's collection of 7" singles in the attic, bought when she was a teenager in the late '70s and '80s. Masterblaster and Happy Birthday were right there, between The Jam, Frankie and Duran Duran. How brilliant and long ago it seems that an undisputed genius could also make music that teenage girls could and would sing along to in their bedrooms. And music that also promoted social justice messages.

If you love great pop, soul or funk, buy this. If you love Stevie's earlier work, buy this. If you have ears (and feet), buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous album from Stevie!, 1 May 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
This was Stevie's biggest selling album - peaking at number two in the album chart back in 1981, and opens with a great track that is lively, and melts beautifully into the lovely hypnotic disco/ballad: 'All I Do'.

Four massive hits on this; four top twenty singles - including no less than three top 3's! One of these having the very 'unoriginal' title of several hits out at about that time for some reason: 'Happy Birthday'. There's also a beautifully haunting song on this called 'Rocket Love', but this album will be remembered best for producing more chart hits for Stevie than any other in his career.

Stevie Wonder frustratingly would do very few 12" singles, but his style of music would often have been well marketed in this direction. The disco smash 'I Ain't Gonna Stand For It' would have been a great opportunity to utilise this aim in the market with an extended version, instead, he would record the full length version on the 7" release, which sound quality would have been much improved if an 'edited' version had been done and the extended left to the 12". This was of constant irritation to me - an overlong single where a 12" would have been more appropriate and interesting.

The classic 'Lately' is one of the finest songs on this album, and to have ever been released by Stevie Wonder, ironically though, a song that in my mother's opinion was a difficult song for him to sing - he appearing to have problems reaching those top notes - notes where he would seem to 'strain' somewhat. This would contrast, with 'I Ain't Gonna Stand For It', where the same, but in reverse would be apparent; where we he would appear to have difficulty in reaching the low keys which were done in a an extremely low pitch that would have been equally difficult for anyone to sing.

His least popular songs for me would tend to reach as high as position two in the charts, when his more appealing and 'catchier' songs would peak somewhat lower down the chart for some reason.

I never understood the silly kids voices included in the song 'Do like You' on this - a fabulous track that is spoilt somewhat by this pointless intro. and finale.

The strongest and weakest points on this album ironically are slap-bag next to each other; 'Lately' is by far the definite 'peak' here, that goes straight into 'Cash In Your Face' which has to be the 'weakest' track - if indeed it can be called that, since it is still a good song on what is a very wholly strong album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all went downhill after this!, 18 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
From the opening bars of the cooooool "Did I hear you say you love me?" we are taken on a journey through the mind of a genius who was just preparing to give his talent away to an average bloke in the street. "All I Do", "Rocket Love" and "Lately" are all beautiful ballads that bring a tear to your eye but it is the five songs in the middle of the album that do it for me. They are upbeat and nearly as funky as his '70's stuff. Buy "Hotter than July" and think about the great albums that COULD'VE followed this but didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST GREAT ALBUM FROM STEVIE, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
Hotter Than July is the last truly great album from Stevie Wonder ending a run that had started with Music Of My Mind in 1972, after this his albums would contain some great songs but would never reach the heights of the seventies albums and this one. The album contains some fine songs including 'Lately', 'Master blaster [jammin'] ' and 'Happy Birthday', the rest of the album being just as strong with the possible exceptions of 'Do Like You' and Cash In Your Face'. The album is perhaps the most accessible of Stevie's great albums and is in my opinion the best place to start if you are just discovering the back catalogue of this great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who is Randy Silver?, 4 April 2013
By 
Paul Kilgour - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
Just read this review. "the reggae-crossover "Master Blaster (Jammin')", an oft-imitated classic (see Elvis Costello's "Watching the Detectives", for one)". Watching the Detectives was released in October 1977, Hotter Than July in September 1980. Does Randy get paid for this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous album from Stevie!, 1 May 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This was Stevie's biggest selling album - peaking at number two in the album chart back in 1981, and opens with a great track that is lively, and melts beautifully into the lovely hypnotic disco/ballad: 'All I Do'.

Four massive hits on this; four top twenty singles - including no less than three top 3's! One of these having the very 'unoriginal' title of several hits out at about that time for some reason: 'Happy Birthday'. There's also a beautifully haunting song on this called 'Rocket Love', but this album will be remembered best for producing more chart hits for Stevie than any other in his career.

Stevie Wonder frustratingly would do very few 12" singles, but his style of music would often have been well marketed in this direction. The disco smash 'I Ain't Gonna Stand For It' would have been a great opportunity to utilise this aim in the market with an extended version, instead, he would record the full length version on the 7" release, which sound quality would have been much improved if an 'edited' version had been done and the extended left to the 12". This was of constant irritation to me - an overlong single where a 12" would have been more appropriate and interesting.

The classic 'Lately' is one of the finest songs on this album, and to have ever been released by Stevie Wonder, ironically though, a song that in my mother's opinion was a difficult song for him to sing - he appearing to have problems reaching those top notes - notes where he would seem to 'strain' somewhat. This would contrast, with 'I Ain't Gonna Stand For It', where the same, but in reverse would be apparent; where we he would appear to have difficulty in reaching the low keys which were done in a an extremely low pitch that would have been equally difficult for anyone to sing.

His least popular songs for me would tend to reach as high as position two in the charts, when his more appealing and 'catchier' songs would peak somewhat lower down the chart for some reason.

I never understood the silly kids voices included in the song 'Do like You' on this - a fabulous track that is spoilt somewhat by this pointless intro. and finale.

The strongest and weakest points on this album ironically are slap-bag next to each other; 'Lately' is by far the definite 'peak' here, that goes straight into 'Cash In Your Face' which has to be the 'weakest' track - if indeed it can be called that, since it is still a good song on what is a very wholly strong album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Last Truly Great Stevie Album, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
Stevie was really cooking around this period. It contains three classics Masterblaster, Happy Birthday and Lately. It is unashamedly commercial music for sure but the songwriting and musicianship are top rate and the whole enterprise is truly versatile and satisfying. Stevie's albums have generally been patchy affairs since. This is well worth an exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotter than July Ablum - great!, 29 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotter Than July (Audio CD)
A fantstic collection of meoldies. A timeless piece - What a talented artist Stevie Wonder truly is? The musical arrangement, the lyrics.....brilliant! Master Blaster Jamin, Happy Birthday is on there. I had this vinyl album when it originally came out and lost it at some point, the quality of this CD makes up for my original loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hotter Than July
Hotter Than July by Stevie Wonder (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews