Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impulse purchase!!
I bought this on the strengths of the reviews above, and I was definitely not disappointed. It is a chilled out blend of funky sounds and lyrics with excellent jazz undertones. Complete with a perfect lack of monotony and pretentiousness, you can stick this on repeat play and not get bored. Perfect summer CD, which will also get me through the winter. I really think that...
Published on 30 July 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent jazz-inflected dance music
One should not read 'nu-jazz' as 'the contemporary incarnation of jazz', but as 'jazz-pop/house fusion'. For many decades there has been very worthwhile incorporation of current music styles into the genre (see for example the essential Hancock Headhunters funk recordings of the 70s). 'Tourist' is a similar endeavour, and a pretty good effort it is too, but it is...
Published on 29 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impulse purchase!!, 30 July 2001
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strengths of the reviews above, and I was definitely not disappointed. It is a chilled out blend of funky sounds and lyrics with excellent jazz undertones. Complete with a perfect lack of monotony and pretentiousness, you can stick this on repeat play and not get bored. Perfect summer CD, which will also get me through the winter. I really think that this album will appeal to an array of people who might be anything from Jazz fanatics to complete amateurs like myself. I had never heard of St Germain, or any of his music. I read a review in a magazine, looked it up, and ordered to see what it was like. I urge you to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discovered !, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
Out there in musicland’s vaults there’s some great albums just waiting to be found… and here’s one! A shuffling, bustling fusion of acid-jazz & blues based on clever sampling and superbly tight playing that demands attention first time through and, like all great records, just gets better & better with repeat listening. And… if you’ve got the extra cash and your dancing shoes on buy the Limited Edition version for it’s second CD containing three excellent club re-mixes – in particular the extended version of “Sure Thing” with it’s quite marvellous John Lee Hooker sampled vocals. Wonderful stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz for beginners, 21 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
This was my first purchase from amazon ever. I bought it on the strength of the first song, Rose Rouge. I loved every minute of it. It has a good house-music leaning, but is very much jazz-influenced. Buy this album if you are quite open minded, and like a good jazz tone to your music. I had never strayed into jazz orientated music before, being a child of oasis etc. This album opened my eyes to many new arenas. A great chill out CD, and, depending on circumstances, a good party album too. Buy it, it is great. If you are loking for more house orientated stuff, see some of Ludo's eariler work, like Boulevard or Detroit to St. Germain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saintly!, 29 July 2001
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
What can I say, simply sublime. An eclectic mix of dance, funk and soul and it will have your head bobbing and feet tapping for hours after you hear this!
you MUST see them live as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! It's so jazzy!, 5 Aug 2000
By 
Mr. A. B. Nathan "ascher" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
From Detroit to St Germain was the second full length release from Ludovic Navarre and was just a retrospective of everything he had done previous to his debut album Boulevard. Boulevard was great: chilled, funky and jazzy. But with Tourist, Navarre enters even more funky territory. He has lost the over-long tendancies of Boulevard in place of a raw, funky jazz sound. He has also shown that his beats are more diverse than the average 4-4 he is believed to represent. Whilst Boulevard did show this off on a few tunes, (most memorably sampling Tribe Called Quest beats) Tourist goes even further in throwing of the shackles of the "house" beat.
But forget all this jargon, this is simply a great album that launches jazz into a new, more approachable sphere, and that has to be good. I have been a big fan of Navarre's production, but this album has gone even further than I thought he was capable of. I'm not a huge fan of jazz, but I was drawn into the excellent live capabilities of the St germain band, as well as Navarre's crisp, fluid and raw production/
If you love your funk or your jazz, or if you are a house bod who wants to take some rest from the hardcore lifestyle of clubs clubs clubs then this must be an album to consider. Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paris, 1952., 5 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
One of the original French dance artists, alongside Laurent Garnier, long before the likes of Daft Punk and Air, Ludovic Navarre, or St Germain as he is better known, has waited five years to produce a follow up to his first album. With Boulevard, he was already spicing up his deep house with blues, gospel and jazz, long before Moby. But Tourist is in a different league altogether. First, the man has landed a deal with the jazz masters' label, Blue Note. Second, with Tourist, Navarre takes his bluesy deep house further into jazz land. From the opening track, Rose Rouge, with its infectious groove, to the last, it is groove all round. On every track, you can feel the influences. Hampton, Armstrong, Monk, they're all there. But Navarre does use these influences in style. Here, the masters are at his service. Tourist is one of the most enjoyable albums of the year so far, and St Germain is slowly but surely becoming one of the major talents on the international dance scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unique Jazz dance album of the present and future, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
After the compulsive opening track which is irresistably diverse Rose rouge a mid tempo perecussive belter, sheened with Nina Simone style vocals and the smokey tinges of Miles Davis and Coltrane ,the track carries a fifties jazz juice feel The album gets better. The whole collection is a fuse of latin, reggae. African drumming and every other extension of quality dance music,New fresh street sounds for a post millenium . Ludovic Navarre's Tourist lies somewhere between Buck shot Le Funk and an advanced Nuyorican Soul. Nonstop party or dancing round the living room. St Germaines Tourist is a must!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A laid back selection of jazz based dance grooves, superb, 22 May 2000
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
An excellent second album from St. Germain with the stand out tracks "Rose Rouge" & "Sure Thing". Easy listening for the modern day, lay back and enjoy the musical wanderings from Ludovic Navarre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent jazz-inflected dance music, 29 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
One should not read 'nu-jazz' as 'the contemporary incarnation of jazz', but as 'jazz-pop/house fusion'. For many decades there has been very worthwhile incorporation of current music styles into the genre (see for example the essential Hancock Headhunters funk recordings of the 70s). 'Tourist' is a similar endeavour, and a pretty good effort it is too, but it is separated from really good jazz on at least a couple of points. The best groups are distinguished by seemingly telepathic interplay between soloists and rhythm section, resulting in texture and cohesion unmatched in most modern music, and solos containing new, unclichéed, musical ideas. On 'Tourist' most of the backings are programmed and looped, so variation is near impossible. The repetition begins to grate after a few minutes, particularly on the tracks 'So Flute' and 'Sure Thing'. 'Latin Note' is better, and 'Rose Rouge' is an enjoyable track, but the problem permeates the entire album. The soloing on the album is ok (and it is well judged, fitting neatly with the grooves), but you won't get much better than average. For interesting and accessible contemporary jazz proper, try some Brad Mehldau or Joshua Redman. Take your time, listen hard, approach it with an open mind and it will reward you.
Yes, get this album, especially if you are coming from the side of pop or electronic music, and you will probably enjoy it. It is very good as jazz-inflected laid-back dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sophisticated urban soundtrack, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tourist (Audio CD)
This disc is an absolute marvel. Whether you're into jazz, deep house, blues (the knockout John Lee Hooker-voiced "Sure Thing"), you'll love it and go beyond the bounds of your usual listening pleasures. Aural sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x113b8f0c)

This product

Tourist
Tourist by St. Germain (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews