Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant blues
Bill Wyman and the Rhythm Kings have produced an album of comprehensively top quality blues music. If blues is your bag, you'll utterly enjoy this. If you buy oneCD this year - make it this one!
Published on 19 July 2001 by r_a_cant@yahoo.co.uk

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad and growing on me !
I bought this because I had heard the track Groovin' and it's still the best track on the album. The rest is OK and I am beginning to appreciate it, take your time and listen before you buy......
Published on 21 Jun 2000 by J. M. Douglas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant blues, 19 July 2001
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
Bill Wyman and the Rhythm Kings have produced an album of comprehensively top quality blues music. If blues is your bag, you'll utterly enjoy this. If you buy oneCD this year - make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very, very good, 9 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
After 'Anyway the Wind Blows' and 'Struttin'our Stuff', Bill Wyman shows that he really can keep up the good work. Great songs, jazzy blues and a joy to listen to again & again. Can't wait for his next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad and growing on me !, 21 Jun 2000
By 
J. M. Douglas "JMD" (Alvechurch, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
I bought this because I had heard the track Groovin' and it's still the best track on the album. The rest is OK and I am beginning to appreciate it, take your time and listen before you buy......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groovin' lives up to its name, and then some!, 6 April 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
Third of a trilogy, and at first hearing it is the best. For this album the full ensemble has been augmented with Tommy Emmanuel as the guest guitarist and Dave Hartley on piano, and the music blends beautifully as the whole band play off each other's strengths.

Over the years I've listened again, and again, and again, and now perhaps the US version (16 tracks) of the second album Anyway the Wind Blows feels slightly more polished. The first album Struttin' Our Stuff took the most getting used to because of the new treatment of old favourites like `Spooky'.

This exuberant music has a joyous grin right through it, carrying the Wyman quality blend of rock solid R&B and swinging jazz. If you have swinging soul in your blood then you need this album to keep it flowing. All the tracks are excellent, but if I had to pick one it would be `I Put a Spell on You' which Beverley Skeete has developed into a show stopper at their gigs.

Since I first wrote reviews on these three CDs in 2000 they have produced a lot more. You might also like to hear Double Bill and Just for a Thrill, and there are several 'Bootleg Kings' CDs (recorded at their concerts) on the Bill Wyman website as well, with an excellent selection from these on the compilation Jump, Jive and Wail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains some excellent tracks, each album gets better, 9 July 2000
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
Having seen Bill Wyman and the Rythm Kings I immediately bought this album from Amazon(What fantastic delivery time -1 day). I am not disappointed. Some excellent tracks with superb musicianship and the great voice of Beverley Skeet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a first-class collection of covers and new material., 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
This, the third album from the rhythm kings, contains some absolute masterpieces of jazzy blues. This collection contains one of the best vocalists around in beverly skeete. 'Groovin', an old young rascals hit is the first of many highlights, others include hole in the wall, rhythm king, daydream, and oh! baby, but the crowning glory is a spellbounding version of 'i put a spell on you'. Another beverly skeete vocal extravaganza, you're unlikely to hear a better blues cover this year. The only downer is the sombre, depressing and frankly dull 'yesterdays'. To round off, if you buy one blues album this year, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of great groove, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
Tis is MUSIC!!!! Love the groove. Perhaps shows my age but good things never date. This item arrived very promplt and
I recommend this supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
A great combination of some great musicians, getting together and belting out a few songs.

If you like this genre, and you know the musicians, you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wy...man?, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groovin' (Audio CD)
Dissapointed in this album I'm sorry to say. I will have to check out his other solo stuff as a guide but as a stand alone album I found it boring and kept track hopping in the hope of finding something fresh. Sorry Bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Groovin'
Groovin' by Bill Wyman (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews