Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Titter ye will missus!
No extras and a straightforward transfer to DVD of a video release from the 90's but this compiltion of great clips from the legendary Mr Howerd will have you laughing.
Sketches, clips from Up Pompeii and excellent chat show appearances this is a good summary of the talent that was Frankie Howerd.
Published on 2 Oct 2004 by Freddie Valentine

versus
18 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like that � and not like this, either
The BBC has produced some crackers in its Comedy Greats series - you only have to take a look at Morecambe and Wise. Sadly, this compilation lets us all down.
True, there's plenty to laugh at, but the video raises few of the belly laughs we'd expect and concentrates too much on Tommy's appearances as an after dinner speaker or chat show guest. The sight of Michael...
Published on 8 Dec 2000 by Bassman99


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Titter ye will missus!, 2 Oct 2004
No extras and a straightforward transfer to DVD of a video release from the 90's but this compiltion of great clips from the legendary Mr Howerd will have you laughing.
Sketches, clips from Up Pompeii and excellent chat show appearances this is a good summary of the talent that was Frankie Howerd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FUNNIEST MAN EVER, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ITEM ARRIVED IN GOOD TIME AND ORDER. THIS SERVED AS A REMINDER OF THE GREAT WIT AND HUMOUR OF ONE OF THE FUNNIEST MEN EVER. I JUST MANAGED TO SEE HIM LIVE JUST BEFORE HIS DEATH AND THIS SERVES TO KEEP HIS MEMORY ALIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of standup, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is also part of the BBC DVD The Frankie Howerd Collection which includes both BBC series of Up Pompeii (good) and an elderly Frankie in Then Churchill Said to Me (embarrassing). That set is 13.98 at the time of writing, so you may want to go for that. But this compilation has a generous amount of Frankie in standup mode - and not measly clips either, so for some people (me included) this is the essence of Frankie, although I'd still like to see the complete famed TW3 appearance on DVD sometime...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From The Past., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Max's Mam (Crook, County Durham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5 stars for this item, a journey back in time, they don't seem to make comedians like they used to (not sure if that's good or bad). I'd recommend this to anyone who likes a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It takes me back to when it was OK to make jokes about anything & everything with out be told you can't say that it's racesat or something else. A lot of laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute Frankie, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny, funny, funny...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic look back at the great comedy of Frankie Howard, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A first class, nostalgic look back at the great comedy of Frankie Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titter yee yes, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Frankie says the most outrageous things with a straight face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will love you forever, 27 Sep 2014
For a man through my eyes he was still and will be Why because he doesn't pretend to imitate or copy other comedian.You are the men Frank. Will love you forever. No questions asked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ageless Eric Sykes, 1 April 2003
By 
pwilkinson (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comedy Greats: Eric Sykes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For those of us who remember The Eric Sykes Show on TV in the late 60s, where his “sister” Hattie Jacques accompanied him, this video is a true blast from the past. Eric’s mastery of understatement is still a joy. He doesn’t need to shout, swear, use crude allusions or any other more modern comic props to ensnare his audience. The Eric Sykes Show usually took a simple situation and then exploited it, exploring every possible, and many impossible outcomes. Often these shows were sheer gems of delight and this video manages to capture the range of humour and unexpectedness I had all but forgotten. The video, which is a mixture of colour and black-and-white segments from past shows is held together by a typical Sykes storyline: a presentation from the Boss. Which is the best bit; no single gem outshines the rest, but I admit to having special pleasure watching the actors, especially those in the background, laughing along, ever so discretely. The video captures the pure delight the comedians themselves have in bringing to life their delicious story lines. Possibly the most memorable part is a brief interview with Eric, who must be in his late 70s, commenting on the pure chance of his first comedy job after the war. Thank goodness he got a start, so that we can enjoy the fruits of his efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comedy Greats: Eric Sykes [VHS]
Comedy Greats: Eric Sykes [VHS] by Eric Sykes (VHS Tape - 2000)
Used & New from: £2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews