Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch film making at its best
Ah, here we have a true classic. Think the zombies in 28 Days Later were tough? Well, these zombies (or "demons," they're basically the same in principle) can not only run fast but also are suddenly transformed in to trained gymnists upon being infected who are capable of somersaults and aerial acrobatics, as well as having acid blood (!) and being nigh on impossible to...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by M. Franklin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Diminishing Returns Law
Although I enjoyed 'Demons 2', I didn't think it was a patch on 'Demons', maybe it was a case of feeling that I'd seen it all before, I'm not sure.
It starts with a clever plot of various people watching a film on TV about the events in 'Demons' before one of the fictional demons lurches through the TV screen and gets stuck into a bit of savagery, it's a domino...
Published on 4 July 2011 by Duluoz Lautrec


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch film making at its best, 2 Jun 2010
By 
M. Franklin (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Ah, here we have a true classic. Think the zombies in 28 Days Later were tough? Well, these zombies (or "demons," they're basically the same in principle) can not only run fast but also are suddenly transformed in to trained gymnists upon being infected who are capable of somersaults and aerial acrobatics, as well as having acid blood (!) and being nigh on impossible to kill. I watched, glued to my chair, as one demon first survived an explosion and a fall from a height, then was beaten and impaled with a metal pole, and then finally came back again one last time to terrorise our heroes. I fully expected this demon to then get up again and need to be put through a grinder or trash compactor to finish it off once and for all -and even then I wouldn't be sure if it was really dead or just faking it. And that was just one demon!

The dubbing in this is pretty abominable from memory and the voice over on the tv sequence was cheesy, but given the cool effects and aggressive nature of the demons I'm willing to forgive just about anything that goes on in this film. There is one particularly cool scene where the demons eyes were lit up and glowing in the dark -you just don't get quality film making like that any more! And did I mention how tough the demons are -I was kept on the edge of my seat, teeth chattering, as two demons were run over by a car three times (3) -that's not a misprint, it really was three -and finally being squashed in to a wall before they would stay down. I wish every move was like this.

If you haven't seen it then you've got to get a copy of this movie. It's fast paced, has lots of jump-worthy moments and best of all it's violent. It's pure entertainment all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Diminishing Returns Law, 4 July 2011
By 
Duluoz Lautrec (Dewsbury, Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Although I enjoyed 'Demons 2', I didn't think it was a patch on 'Demons', maybe it was a case of feeling that I'd seen it all before, I'm not sure.
It starts with a clever plot of various people watching a film on TV about the events in 'Demons' before one of the fictional demons lurches through the TV screen and gets stuck into a bit of savagery, it's a domino effect from then on in through the apartment block as neighbours, kids and even the pet dog gets a dose of the demons.
Although you don't need to see 'Demons' to get this, I'd recommend you do because it's the better of the two films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE DVD TRANSFER, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This film is AWFUL in Sound quality and i mean VERY BAD. the picture quality is so so. the film was Good in 1987 on VHS but unfortunately the transfer has spoiled it hence i have exchanged in at CEX store thats how bad the DVD of this film is AVOID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars avoid, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
well well well well, this is a truly awful film.
after the intensity and claustrophobia of the first film about a horror movie coming to life and demons terrorizing a room full of cinema goers, this one attempts to replicate that same feel with a the same film coming to life and infecting a tower block full of people and turning them into demons.
everything about this film is wrong, and dated.
unsurprising that its dated, but some films can age well, this on the other hand is a walking,talking cliche of bad 80`s horror.
the soundtrack is cheesy not creepy, filled to the brim with bad 80`s rock music, it really just doesnt gel with feel of the film.
too much hair, too much tack, everything that is bad about 80`s horror is present and correct in this film.
the terrible acting and bad direction are the cherries on top of the steaming pile of unspeakable stuff that this film is.
avoid it at all costs, you will not get the hour and half back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Demons 2, 28 Oct 2010
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
A group of tenants become trapped in a 10 story high rise appartment after a 16 year old girl becomes infected by a demon who has come out of her telivision and goes on a rampage killing everyone she comes incontact with and infecting them as she goes on.

From what I can tell this film is set about a month or so after the incidents of the first movie. As with the first film this is plagued with horrible dubbing and terrible acting but that is what makes these films all the more amusing.

There were a few good scenes (most notable the battle between the humans and the demons in the garage) and there are also some very bad ones (were the lead actress is attacked by a tiny demon that looks vertually exactly the same as something from the movie 'The Gremlins').

Director Lamberto Bava mainly focuses on the action aspect of the film and not the story but that doesnt really matter as atleast he keeps things moving at a fast pace. Bobby Rhodes who plays the Hank the Gym instructor also starred as the Pimp in the first Demons film and look out for Lino Salemme who starred as one of the gang members in the previous film, this time playing a security guard.

Overall if you liked the first film then you will love this one, it has great makeup effects and alot of gore if you didnt like the first one then stay well clear of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth having, 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Although not as memorable a film as the first Demons, this is still a must for fans of Italian horror, not least because the film is superbly presented in widescreen and surround sound. Fans who have the old rental VHS version may remember a dialogue scene in which the soundtrack goes out of sync - this has been sorted out on the new print. Like the Demons DVD, the extras include commentary from director Lamberto Bava and behind-the-scenes footage of Dario Argento and his movies. The Demons 2 DVD also includes a short (15 min.)suspense film made for Italian TV by Bava and Argento in 1987 - surprisingly this isn't mentioned on the DVD's cover. Like the UK Demons DVD, you should be pleasantly surprised with this unheralded release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ZOMBIE FEST, 15 May 2005
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This is a real good film well worth watching, late at night.
a film thats not main stream but should be, its up there with evil dead etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Demons meets Gremlins, 21 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
This is rather like the thrash metal of horror films.

The soundtrack is truly appalling - it goes from barely audible to just audible, with dialogue hardly discernable. Sometimes the picture flickers so you assume it has been transferred from a VHS tape.

I guess the story revolves around a birthday party for a young woman held in high-rise apartment. Quite why she shuts herself away to watch a horror film on TV when her pals are partying in the next room is confusing. Anyway, the demon who enters her life (via the TV screen) and her own transformation into a maleviolent creature are suitably horrible.

There are periods in the film where little happens and should have been edited out. For example, one of the party guests is left standing outside and we see too much of him doing nothing.

Another major let-down with the film is the ridiculous and childish creature that erupts from a demonized child. It looks like it is straight from the Gremlins films and ends up in some unfunny chase in a sequence that had me thinking of a Laurel & Hardy film. If only it was of that quality.

As for the extras, I could not find any commentry but there is a short film that is more interesting than the main feature. It ends suddenly so I guess its a taster - but there is nothing to explain its inclusion.

I saw Demons 20 years ago and remember it being better than "2" - like the other reviews here suggest it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never to be topped, 31 May 2003
This review is from: Demons 2 [VHS] [1987] (VHS Tape)
Unbelievable movie never to be topped. The king of zombie flicks out did himself with this project obviouslt i am talking about George Romero.If you get a chance to see this movie horror fans grab a beer park your butt and take the phone off the hook and prepare to indulge in film you will NEVER forget, oh and if u can watch part 1 first , the only other movie which comes within 10 miles of this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demons 2 - The Nightmare Returns: Director's Cut [DVD] [1987]
£1.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews