Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Killed The Vinyl CD Bonus Track P2P Format Marketing
If you're a fan, you'll remember this...no CD bonus tracks, no commercialisation, extremely little radio play, videos (This Charming Man/The Boy...) made because of Rough Trade/US pressure, others (The Jarman trilogy) made despite their pressure. And still they managed so many Top 10's, doing so despite the ridicule of fools like R1 and Smashy and Nicey, despite the poor...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by Indie Kid

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still awaiting the definitive collection
I found this collection dissapointingly typical of many of the "official" Smiths videos and memorabilia being released. It's a good collection of their popular/best songs, but sadly recycled from old BBC tapes in the form of Top of the Pops performances and the like. Most of these videos appear on VH2 with such frequency, you'd be wise to have a night in and capture all...
Published on 7 Dec 2004 by Paul Knights


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Killed The Vinyl CD Bonus Track P2P Format Marketing, 12 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
If you're a fan, you'll remember this...no CD bonus tracks, no commercialisation, extremely little radio play, videos (This Charming Man/The Boy...) made because of Rough Trade/US pressure, others (The Jarman trilogy) made despite their pressure. And still they managed so many Top 10's, doing so despite the ridicule of fools like R1 and Smashy and Nicey, despite the poor distribution of Rough Trade and despite the fact that they fought video as advertising resolutely and, with the Jarman film, became one of the first to see it could be a medium with artistic integrity. The TOTP footage is class - they look what they were, the awkward, unwanted kids reluctantly invited to the party because they were too clever and wouldn't sell out - and worthy because it's the only footage there is anywhere. A historical document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite perfect..., 4 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
...but considering The Smiths did very little TV, this is a corker of a DVD. You could say more "real" videos would have been appreciated but this is the fault of the band, not the DVD. Personally I quite like having the TOTP performances on one disc. Yes, the band do look awkward and Morrissey's dancing leaves much to be desired (didn't everyone's in the 80s?), but this is part of their charm. I particularly love their performance of "The boy with the thorn in his side" and a clip of Marr teaching Morrissey the guitar in "How Soon Is Now?". Definitely an enjoyable DVD to put on when you need a visual Smiths fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still awaiting the definitive collection, 7 Dec 2004
By 
Paul Knights (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I found this collection dissapointingly typical of many of the "official" Smiths videos and memorabilia being released. It's a good collection of their popular/best songs, but sadly recycled from old BBC tapes in the form of Top of the Pops performances and the like. Most of these videos appear on VH2 with such frequency, you'd be wise to have a night in and capture all of these videos on your trusty VHS for next to nothing.
However, if you are new to the Smiths and been unable to see any of their videos, buy it, not least for the improved sound quality. But, if, like me, you are tired of the same material being reissued, you are wasting your money buying this, which is a shame because I'm still waiting for something a little bit more revealing.
For reasons that are unknown to me, there is some brilliant material on the smiths that is available on bootlegs and from other performances on TV that are rarely aired such as Morrissey interviews, and numerous performances from the Tube, etc that rarely get a mention, not to mention some good quality concert footage.
Can we have something new and different please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth it, 27 Jun 2003
the top of the pops appearances are mimed shamelessly (morrissey doesn't have a microphone, guitars aren't even connected to anything) and the videos are mimed also, but nevertheless i still completely love this video. it really gives you an idea of morrissey's amazing stage presence, and i was really impressed with the music videos which i had never seen before, especially how soon is now. classic footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Music... Poor Videos, 4 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As a big fan of The Smiths' music I had wanted to get this DVD for quite some time, but everywhere I saw selling it had it priced at roughly 19 - 20. I picked it up in Sainsbury's when I saw they had it cheaper, but unfortunately am quite disappointed by the content of the disc. If I had read the back of the DVD case properly before I bought it, I would have noticed how tracks "2, 4, 6, 8 & 10 Licensed courtesy of BBC Enterprises LTD". That's right, *every other* video is a Top of The Pops performance. The other, 'professionally produced' videos aren't much cop either, the only notable exclusions being This Charming Man and Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before.
The ToTP performances are pretty embarassing to watch, Morrissey minces around the stage flailing his arms above his head and pulling silly faces like someone having a stroke. After you've watched the disc, I don't think there's really any reason you'd want to watch it again. I'm just grateful I didn't spend twenty quid on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL SMITHS FANS SHOULD HAVE THIS, 8 May 2010
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As there is not much out there on DVD this is got to be a must have by all Smiths fans. I know that Morrisey didn't like doing vidios and thats why there is not much out there for the next generation to see what a musical genius Morrisey and Johnney Marr were. And to be honest if it were not for the Tube on C4 showing a film by Derek Jarman showing three vidios which are on this DVD (Panic,ask and The Queen is Dead) I would have never got into the Smiths.
Right so whats on this DVD to start with there is the first vidio which I think was done by the C4s The Tube. There is also a few songs taken from top of the pops. Which I rember in an interview with Johnney Marr before they went on stage the producer or top of the pops told them it was time to get changed as they were on next and she was shocked when they told her that they were going on like this. I don't think they liked going on top of the pops as Morrisey never holds a microphone while he sings. There is also a few song where the group did have a bit of say in the production, and then there is the Jarman vidios and the best vidio on this disc is the Queen is dead which was done by Jarman and when I saw this on friday night on the Tube I went out on saturday to buy the album the album the Queen is dead and I've never looked back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely not more over the top praise for the Smiths, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Im afraid it is more over the top praise for the Smiths. The Smiths were the most brilliantly original and magically musical band of their generation. This DVD is a "Hobsons Choice " for anyone looking for released Smiths material in this format. It could have been so much better had other footage been included but This Charming Man on its own is worth 5 stars. I wouldnt recommend this DVD to anyone who hasn't enjoyed the songs beforehand. To those that have apreciated the Smiths already, this is definitely better than nothing and probably better than everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the tin!, 28 Mar 2000
By A Customer
When I bought this video I wasn't sure exactly what would be on it, but I thought that because it was the Smiths it would be worth the gamble. Anyway, it is 12 of their videos all on the one tape, and not bad at all. Most of them are live performances where they probably mime, but you still get a good idea of what type of band they were. The videos which stood out for me were 'How Soon Is Now', which was one of the more adventerous ones, 'Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now', in which you get a good insight into Morrissey on stage, and 'What Difference Does It Make', this video actually made me realise just what a good song this is. All in all a good buy if you already like the Smiths, or if you just want to know more about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As good as is on offer., 15 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. HUNTER "snakehunter" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I found it staggering the lack of DVD's to do with one of the most influential bands of all time. This DVD is as good as you can buy when it comes to The Smiths. It features a selection of TOTP appearences (which are obviously mimed), some music videos and a strange compilation at the end. This will give you an insight into the style and manner of The Smiths but it all seems very lacking. The main problem was that none of the songs were being performed live. Surely there can be some live material that can be released on DVD? What about the gig which Rank was taken from? This DVD was interesting but was a far cry from the complete picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best available - get it!, 25 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
There's very little Smiths material on DVD/VHS and this is the best you're going to get. As previous reviewers have said the TOTP material is pretty excruciating but this is worth buying for excellent visuals on "How Soon is Now" and "Stop Me" with Johnny Marr showing Morrissey the guitar, Salford LC, Morrissey on his bike etc. If you want some visual Smiths material this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001]
The Complete Picture [DVD] [2001] by The Smiths (DVD - 2000)
12.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews