Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Enigmatic 'Lizard'
Robert Fripp provides some skeptical and cynical notes about this album. In 2009, he wrote of "Lizard": "Labour and laboring, mostly joyous, strive effortfully to present appearance of cohesion". He also reminds us that "Lizard" was both not as commercially successful as other King Crimson albums and that he doesn't feel it is the most critically accomplished of his...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by Martin A Hogan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than i remember
When this came out i remember being really dissappointed. After all, there was no Greg Lake vocal, no Ian McDonald flute/keyboards and most importantly songwriting skills and also none of the brilliant drumming of Michael Giles which so characterised In The Court of The Crimson King.
So revisiting the re-mastered 30th Anniversary cd today , i am pleasantly surprised...
Published on 25 Aug 2007 by David M. Harley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This review is about the music - just in case you have never heard the album, 18 Sep 2009
By 
Derick Holcombe (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the third King Crimson album and, possibly, the most overlooked.

It is a bit of one off - this particular version of Crimson only made this album. Lizard is a complex, jazzy, melodic, demanding, beautiful collection of music, played by excellent musicians which, I for one, am really looking forward to hearing, especially in 5.1 surroundsound, but also in the new stereo mix.

All the songs on Lizard are excellent - all very different from each other, but all recognisably King Crimson in as much as anything is recognisably King Crimson - even Pete Sinfields lyrics are not quite as obscure as on other KC albums - those about the Beatles are even quite funny.

Others argue about the pro's and con's of the formats technical limitations, but no one is moaning about the quality of the music and nor should they. King Crimson fans will know this already, but anyone wondering whether to take a punt on Lizard then do - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Concept Albums Ever Made, 10 Mar 2005
This is an amazing album, which on first hearing irritates the ear and alienates the listener. Listen to it again and again and I guarantee you that you will end up loving this seamless classic. The way the music flows and builds is a tour de force of genius. There are no 'errors' in the whole piece. In my book this is one of the best concept albums ever made. Sadly overlooked by most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't make 'em like they used to..., 30 Jun 2000
Ah, now I finally have this on cd after my cassette version was outmoded...along side Larks tongues in Aspic this is definitely the best album these boys ever did. I can't get enough. On cd quality recording you can hear ALL the little bits of magic snuck between the seams, and marvel at how it just whips you of yer feet and drags you dizzilly down Krimson lane...time to put it on again methinks....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beguiling masterpiece, 7 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gordon Haskells vocals on Cirkus is one of the many high points to this brilliant album. also the brass instruments that gives cirkus an almost sinister feel, but mainly down the lines of bizarre, remarkable, intriguing, peculiar, odd, strange, and unusual. Would you go to this Circus?

This album does have a jazz feel, but at times a northern brass band feel. So it doesn't disappear too far into that annoying free form stuff. The ending of Indoor Games is quiet disturbing and it might be the first time He-Hoy has been heard on record. Years ahead of it's time.

Then you have the brilliant Jon Anderson singing away with the baleful and ominous King Crimson supplying the darkest mood. Never knew that drums could sound so threatening and intimidating, and the haunting trumpet.

I think this album might be the poorer relation to the In The Court Of The Crimson King, but in many ways has so much more to offer. Granted it is not as easy accessible as the ITCOTCK, so it might need the odd play. But the song Lady Of The Dancing Water is so moving and enchanting. The flute playing is so good that it could put James Galway to shame. The voice is great, the whole package is Arthurian in nature.

Just buy it, close the curtains and open your mind and find out what you have been missing all these years. Be afraid, be very afraid at times.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Magic, 20 Feb 2009
Stick this on, lie back and let it blow your mind. This album is a blast of rock, jazz and mind melting ethereal mellotron to die for. Nobody can claim to have finished their music education without this being in their collection. If you want something different, rich, melodic and cosy, get this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Crimson"s Lizard - a rock masterpiece, 30 Jun 2012
By 
P. F. Vietri "Phillip Vietri" (Südafrika) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first heard King Crimson's Lizard, I was dazzled. I was a Lance-Corporal in the South African Defence Force at the time, early 1975, and was introduced to the record by a buddy who was a "freak", i.e. a Hippie. We would jam together, he on his Fender,I on my B-flat clarinet, later tenor sax. At the time I encountered Lizard, I was a tight-tailed little classical musician.

I must have lain in my bungalow in the dark and listened to that vinyl copy of Lizard every night for a month. In contrast to so many rock groups I had heard in the background, these fellows could play and compose. Lizard's first melody, "Farewell the temple master's veil", is a beautifully composed, minor key melody. Lizard follows a well-constructed sequence of almost symphonic logic, as I thought then. Its fine lead guitar solo is like a funeral dirge. I still find it a striking work; there is certainly nothing like it in all the oeuvre of rock music, almost classical in its conception.

Similar things can be said of the songs on the first side of the old vinyl disc. "Circus" again shows masterly construction, from its soft beginning to its strong conclusion and expressive harmonies. The melody is motivically built up in a way that a Brahms might have contrived. "Indoor games" is a parody of "games people play" with similarly parodic constructions of old-fashioned jazz, with a saxophone choir.

The other cut which I loved particularly is "Lady of the dancing waters", with its gentle melody and flute solo. What a variety of contrasting styles and ideas! King Crimson never achieved the superstar status they deserved, largely, I think, because their music is too sophisticated and, yes, intellectual for the average rock-music lover. But to those who have "dicovered" them, they remain a great rock group. And of all their music, it is Lizard to which one constantly returns, even at over 40 years' remove. It is, it the purest sense of the word, a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 14 Jan 2011
I first brought this album on vinyl and as a foolish youth initially dismissed it as not being one of Crimsons best.I still love Larks Tongues and Red but this one has really crept up on me, especially what was the side long title track.The brilliance of the Lizard track and Cirkus are the high points of this album, and warrant its five star rating. The other 3 tracks are ok but not standout

There are moments of sublime beauty here such as the bolero section of Lizard. Its one of those albums that just gets better and better with every listen,and truly fits into that rare musical category "original" Its hard to see what or where this album derives from: its such a mixture of styles and influences.The making of it was apparently difficult and various musicians were brought in such as Jon Anderson, Keith Tippett and Mark Charig which may explain in part this unique mix. You wont hear anything else quite like this album in the Crimson,Prog rock or any other musical cannon, and nobody I know of it has done anything like it since.

The CD remaster is excellent bright and clear.

If you're an old Crimson fan who has not listened to this for years, rediscover it, If your're a new listener looking for something different but brilliant give it a spin ( but it may take quite a number of plays)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lizard was always meant for surround, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. Alan "JohnA" (Greater London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last now it can be heard the way it was always meant to be.

The 5.1 mix is not as adventurous as the Dark Side of the Moon, but it has been done very-very well and all instruments are clear and well-placed.
There is more rear-channel action than most other surround releases.
DVD-Audio can show the lyrics simultaneously on screen, but in this case they've chosen not to use this feature. Minor niggle, but hey ho...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 9 Nov 2009
Okay so you have the previous remastered version of Lizard and it is just great; you don't really need this I know but hey this is King Crimson, one of the top 5 bands to have emerged in the past 50 years in the world (The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin and Soft Machine are the others as you ask)

Robert Fripp is nothing if not fastidious in his oversight of the King Crimson legacy and this package offers the most wide ranging and accessible enhanced Lizard experience. I was just 10 years old when the Crimson King was let loose and so I was a bit young to appreciate their challenging sound but I always knew there was something there I identified with. In my mid teens this was the first album of theirs I owned, I think my sister gave it to me. I then got into Starless and Bible Black & Red (40th Anniversary Edition) (well obviously not the new expanded version). I then got seriously into Robert Fripp through Evening Star and then followed Exposure God Save the King and was delighted when the new band Discipline was announced in NME (or was it Melody Maker?) That band turned into the new King Crimson and released Discipline

I now have a largish collection of King Crimson and related music on CD but I see this edition of Lizard as a real must buy as it is where my real love for this band started, petty quibbles about the technology used and alternatives that might have been used don't cut much ice with me this is top stuff and if you are a King Crimson fan you will want to have this, although I know many people cannot, for understandable reasons see beyond, In The Court Of The Crimson King I will always hold this album dear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In praise of classic Crim (or) Audio anoraks look away now...., 14 Oct 2009
By 
R. White (Down, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a critique of the audio format chosen by messrs Wilson & Fripp to release classic sonics from the past of the mighty Crim so hovering audiophiles should gravitate elsewhere.

'Lizard' came at a time when Crimson were staggering from yet another crisis. Crises appeared to be the standard operating procedure for Crimson but also served as their creative lifeblood. I bought this 'album' in January 1971 & was blown away by what I heard. Having already invested in ITCOTCK & ITWOP I viewed 'Lizard' as a major step/trip forward albeit with some reluctant band members on tow.

Fripp's comments whilst those of the informed creator are not necessarily those of the people whom I know bought/listened to 'Lizard'. The music stretched some members of the band to places further than they were capable or willing to travel & that IMHO is what makes 'Lizard' a flawed album. The 'guests' blow a storm with Tippett, Miller, Charig & Evans in immaculate form. Jon Anderson sings like an angel thankfully delivering some welcome respite from the non-committed droning that had preceded. However Mel Collins emerged as the real star amongst the general jazzy weirdness.

'Lizard' (for me) marks the next step of a path not taken. Instead the band changed (again) on 'Islands' & 'Sailor's tale' gave a glimpse of what was to come. 'Lizard' is an excellent tansitional album let down by some pretty expressionless vocals & whilst RF has not reflected favourably, the music does not disappoint. So, for those yet to discover 'Lizard' check out 'Cirkus' - I defy anyone not to be awestruck by the acoustic guitaring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lizard
Lizard by King Crimson (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews