Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2001
The first four albums from Portland's trio saw them coming on by leaps and bounds, so much so that this, their fifth album, is their masterpiece. The feminist theme still runs through the album, spiced with a dry humour on songs such as "Milkshake 'n' Honey"which does them much credit. Corin Tucker's howl is more powerful than ever and blends perfectly with Carrie Brownstein's softer harmonies, with the twin guitar counterpoint adding to the overall effect. Janet Weiss's drumming is spot-on as ever (hello Alan Leach of Shed 7) creating the perfect framework on which to balance the melodies. Ballad Of A Ladyman is a well-crafted rant about the pressures to sell out, while single You're No Rock'n'Roll Fun is the most pop track on the album. There's even a thinly veiled reference to the publicity surrounding Princess Diana's death.
This is a perfect album - start from here and you'll have to get the rest.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
Sleater-Kinney just get better and better. That`s really all I have to say, this record is simply stunning. I didn't think they could improve on 1997's "Dig Me Out," but they've done so - for me, AHOTBO is the best album of 2000, let's hope these three ladies have plenty more like this up their collective sleeve.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2000
Sleater Kinney, 5 records into their personal rock crusdade, seem to be able to produce astoundingly important records, almost effortlessly, and "All Hands on the Bad One" is no exception, being a testiment to their intelligence, humour and above all to their unique sound. Corin Tuckers voice has to be heard to be believed, and it is this, along with Carrie Brownstiens increasingly skillfull adventures in guitar riffs and Janet Weiss's muscular drumming, that makes songs such as "youth decay", "male model" and "#1 must have" such a joy to listen to. The heartfelt, sometimes satyrical lyrics are excellent too, providing a welcome alternative to the bland pop dominating the charts, and also the agressive male rock of korn, limp bizkit etc. "All Hands on the Bad One is an excellent record, well up there with their critically acclaimed efforts, "The Hot Rock" and "Dig Me Out", and one which will surely be remembered as one of the years best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2000
Can this band do no wrong? Since their inception Sleater-Kinney have steadily and incredibly, kept on growing into one of the greatest bands around. This isn't about sex, it is about songs that make you want to hug yourself.
The opener introduces us to some fantastic new vocal stylings by Corin which I can only describe as "yelpy" (but in a good way) which as the album progresses, mutate into Liz-Phair-esque low growls which tickle your senses.
The drumming by Janet is, as usual, impeccable and Carrie and Corin's guitar manipulation further establish the Sleater-Kinney sound as something seperate from anything you have heard.
Highlights for me include "The Professional", "Ballad of a Ladyman" and the VERY Sleater-Kinney, "Leave you Behind".
Buy this and then work backwards through their catalogue and while you're there try some Throwing Muses, Patti Smith and Pixies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2002
I love this album. Their songs are so individual and are great to listen to whatever mood your in. You cant get bored of it. It is an easy listening girlie, guitar band. If you like that sorta thing, youll love this album. Most of the songs are upbeat but a couple are quite mellow. They also have really cool lyrics adding to their brilliant songs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
I had this album before so getting the remaster only re-invigotrated my interest. It is one of their poppier albums but it still has their familiar bite as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
still a great album and a good quality pressing. Not had a bad vinyl from sub pop yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2000
Immediately gives you the sense that something's not quite normal, as if you're viewing reality from a slightly different angle.
Rock not quite rock?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Ok, I hoped for more Slits than Riot Gurl. It's good enough but the Slits actually meant it, this band 'want' to mean it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.51
£9.99
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)