Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2001
Again we see another band consisting of an all male band with a female lead singer. You might think 'Oh not again,' but Guano Apes are unlike anything I have ever heard before, and I've heard quite a lot. Guano Apes seriously outclass British bands such as Skunk Anansie or Garbage. 'Don't Give Me Names', the second album from the German foursome, is certainly better than the first, 'Proud Like A God'. This album certainly caters for most music fans because of its diversity. From 'Big In Japan' to 'Dodel Up' to 'Too Close To Leave', Guano Apes consistancy for fantastic music and great lyrics will amaze even the most scepticle music fans. Certainly a must for music fans off all genre's even if you dont like rock that much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
I bought this album on the strength of seeing their Big In Japan video on MTV a few days ago. I was immediately hooked and grabbed a few mp3's that night. Next day I went and bought the album and I can't believe how good they are! It makes a refreshing difference to hear a female singer as the lead is a metal band, but this is not the average metal band. In fact it is hard to class them anything, let alone compare them to anyone. If you like Korn or Garbage then I think you will definitely like Guano Apes. Big In Japan, No Speech and Living In A Lie are great examples of their skill; I especially like No Speech at the moment. Trust me, just go out and buy it, you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
This new album by The Guano Apes hit the charts directly from zero to #1 in the first 2 weeks, reached gold record sales after only one week and is now heading for platinum sales.
It really is such a great album with great tracks such as the wonderful 'Big In Japan', as seen on MTV2 Europe; 'Mine All Mine' and 'Anne Claire'. I really recommend it, also you shoudl check out their other album 'Proud Like A God'
Trying to liken the Guano Apes to any band is incredibly difficult, they sound like themselves. They are in the Nu Metal genre and I suppose sound a little like 'Garbage'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
The Guano Apes are unapologetically unique, and certainly not afraid to deviate from the commercial. Every song on this wonderful album contributes something precious. This is more than simply rock music- "Don't Give Me Names" has soul and personality constantly evident in the music and vocals. The lyrics are captivating, and their sound has a genuine depth lacking in many rock artists' material. Sandra (the vocalist) has a hooking voice. This is one for every rock fan looking for something beyond the every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2001
This album is phenomenal. The godly combination of Sandra Nasic's sweet yet husky vocals, the powerful guitar sounds and the energy driven beat make the album incredible. The perfect composition of "No Speech", the masterful sounds of "Big in Japan" and the seemingly steroid-fuelled "Gogan" are just some of the brilliant tracks featured on the album. If you have a brain, an appreciation for music and a legal means of obtaining this album, obtain it! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
I believe this "Don't Give Me Names" album is better than the previous "Proud Like A god". The songs in their new album have a more consistant nature, though it doesnt have some of the 'Anthems' like "Lord Of The Boards", some songs like "Mine All Mine" are not far off. Overall It depends what type of music you like, I surpose the second album is a bit more Mainstream and a bit less Hardcore. Buy It! 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
This is the best album I've heard in a long time so I would certainly recommend it - if you're into a mixed bag of styles from a rock band, the Apes are one of them - from heavy thrashing sounds on "I Want It" to mellower reggae-style beats on "Too Close to Leave". The only thing really missing is a half-decent guitar solo - it'll come in later albums, hopefully!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2000
Don't Give Me Names is 'rockier' than Proud Like a God, but that's no bad thing. 'No Speech' and 'Big in Japan' are superb. Sandra shows more refinement & range on this album, and her voice has developed leaps & bounds since 'Proud...'. This is a truly impressive band, just starting to peak - can't wait for their first UK shows!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2000
Alough Not as good As "Proud like a god" Don't give me names, is a good ablum, with the the Guano Apes flare, traks like "don't give me names" and Innocent Greed are great examples of this, overall buy the cd, it's a good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Worked fine for the purpose it was intended. Item arrived swiftly, and was packaged sufficiently. Did its job well enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.58
£12.70

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)