Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What a spanking album!!, 15 Jun 2001
By 
stupid1966@hotmail.com (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
Again we see another band consisting of an all male band with a female lead singer. You might think 'Oh not again,' but Guano Apes are unlike anything I have ever heard before, and I've heard quite a lot. Guano Apes seriously outclass British bands such as Skunk Anansie or Garbage. 'Don't Give Me Names', the second album from the German foursome, is certainly better than the first, 'Proud Like A God'. This album certainly caters for most music fans because of its diversity. From 'Big In Japan' to 'Dodel Up' to 'Too Close To Leave', Guano Apes consistancy for fantastic music and great lyrics will amaze even the most scepticle music fans. Certainly a must for music fans off all genre's even if you dont like rock that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I disagree with the other review :), 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
I believe this "Don't Give Me Names" album is better than the previous "Proud Like A god". The songs in their new album have a more consistant nature, though it doesnt have some of the 'Anthems' like "Lord Of The Boards", some songs like "Mine All Mine" are not far off. Overall It depends what type of music you like, I surpose the second album is a bit more Mainstream and a bit less Hardcore. Buy It! 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For rock fans who have other tastes in music, try this..., 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
This is the best album I've heard in a long time so I would certainly recommend it - if you're into a mixed bag of styles from a rock band, the Apes are one of them - from heavy thrashing sounds on "I Want It" to mellower reggae-style beats on "Too Close to Leave". The only thing really missing is a half-decent guitar solo - it'll come in later albums, hopefully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best female singer since Skin, 5 Dec 2000
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
Don't Give Me Names is 'rockier' than Proud Like a God, but that's no bad thing. 'No Speech' and 'Big in Japan' are superb. Sandra shows more refinement & range on this album, and her voice has developed leaps & bounds since 'Proud...'. This is a truly impressive band, just starting to peak - can't wait for their first UK shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
Worked fine for the purpose it was intended. Item arrived swiftly, and was packaged sufficiently. Did its job well enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bold & Beautiful Music, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (MP3 Download)
The Guano Apes are unapologetically unique, and certainly not afraid to deviate from the commercial. Every song on this wonderful album contributes something precious. This is more than simply rock music- "Don't Give Me Names" has soul and personality constantly evident in the music and vocals. The lyrics are captivating, and their sound has a genuine depth lacking in many rock artists' material. Sandra (the vocalist) has a hooking voice. This is one for every rock fan looking for something beyond the every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Strong Cd, 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
Alough Not as good As "Proud like a god" Don't give me names, is a good ablum, with the the Guano Apes flare, traks like "don't give me names" and Innocent Greed are great examples of this, overall buy the cd, it's a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I give it a name...brilliant, 25 Aug 2003
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
The first Guano Apes album 'Proud Like A God' was a disappointment with only at least 4 good songs that I could listen to over and over. This album on the other hand has all brilliant songs on it such as Their fantastic Cover of 'Big in Japan' and the brilliant 'dodel up'. If you liked Proud like A God you will love Dont Give Me Names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guano apes - Don't give me names, 27 Aug 2002
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
This is such a great album, or should i say band?
guano apes are german, which suprised me, i've managed to get the idea that german bands sound like ramstien... (no offence) but guano apes are... 'obscure' this means they're not that commercialised... they are not full of themselves... (limp bizkit)
anyway, back to the review. i have all of guano apes' albums, this includes Don't give me names, Proud like a God and a special edition of Kumba Ya (not so great). this album is the best so far, followed by Proud like a God.
the insert of the CD is amusing
i recommend you get this album, they are totally original and are not like anything i've heard before. there are some catchy riffs, but in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow-I never thought Germany could seem this good, 1 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Give Me Names (Audio CD)
Wow-aftyer Proud Like A God I thought nothing could top it. The opening track hits you like a freight train, and Big In Japan soon afterwards absolutely rocks. The amount of good tracks are too much to name, however: check out Gogan amongst all others. An energetic song which, no matter where you are, will have you repeating "Oh yeh I'm fine, Ok I'm blind". A stunning album and a recomendation to all. Looks best next to Proud Like A God on your CD rack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Give Me Names
Don't Give Me Names by Guano Apes (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews