Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars75
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Mud were very successful for a time in the mid-seventies, having about a dozen hits, of which most of them made the UK top ten and three went all the way to the top.

Their biggest hit was Tiger feet but the song they are now perhaps best known for, Lonely this Christmas, is not included although it can be found on any number of British Christmas compilations. Both of those songs reached number one in the UK, as did their cover of Oh boy, the Buddy Holly classic. Other great hits to be found here include The cat crept in, Dynamite. Rocket, Moonshine Sally and The secrets that you keep.
Of the other tracks, there are plenty of covers that show their musical roots, including Living Doll (Cliff Richard), One night (Elvis Presley), Hippy hippy shake (Swinging blue jeans), Diana (Paul Anka) and End of the world (Skeeter Davis).
This is a great introduction to Mud's music although lacking Lean on me, which was recorded for a different record label, and the aforementioned Christmas song. You can get both of those songs on the comprehensive double-CD Singles '67-'78, which I've already reviewed.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I was very disappointed to find that several of Mud's hits aren't included on this album which is titled 'Greatest Hits'.Only the inclusion of songs like 'Tiger Feet' ,'Dyna-Mite' ,'Hypnoses' , ' The Cat Crept In' and 'Rocket' etc allowed me to give this collection 3 stars out of 5 . The most glaringly obvious omission is their number 1 hit, 'Lonely This Christmas'. Other hits that are missing include the top 10 hit 'L-L-Lucy ', 'Show me You're a Woman' (which reached number 8 ), 'Lean on Me'(which climbed to number 7) and 'Shake it Down' ,which reached number 12 in the UK charts in 1976 and which is one of my favourite Mud recordings ever ! Instead of including these top tracks this collection is cluttered with pretty sub-standard , lame and cliched Elvis/R'nRoll type offerings that do not belong here at the expense of the hits that I have listed .In short ,this collection does not do Mud justice !!!
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2010
Like most people I was only familiar with hits such as Tiger Feet, Cat crept in, etc. But there are some great, lesser known tracks on this album that are worth a listen. I am genuinely impressed at Mud's versatility. Admittedly most of the tracks are rock n roll standards but they cover them with imagination and flare. Hippy Hippy Shake and Tallahassee Lassie are straight down the line rock n roll covers, whilst Blue Moon is an acapella version. There's also the fantastic Crazy, which I had completely forgotten about. The other tracks are covered in Mud's own distinctive style. Les Gray was a great singer and it's a great pity that he is no longer with us. Rock on Les.

As other reviewers have mentioned the two track missing are Lean On Me and Lonely This Christmas which is a shame as Lean On Me is one of my favourite Mud tracks. This is still a great album and there isn't a duff track here. Quite often you buy a greatest hits album with a handful of hits but the rest are really fillers. That isn't the case here. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2009
I guess this must be a digitalised version of a vinyl that Mud put out half way through their career, because it is otherwise difficult to see how they can justify calling it "Greatest Hits". It doesn't include the delightful Elvis-pastiche "Lonely this Christmas" (a UK No. 1) or L-l-l-Lucy (a UK Top Ten) and yet manages to include a number of unimpressive covers of fifties songs that either never charted or which were never released as singles. The real "greatest hits" that it does include however are a lot of fun.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2002
What can i say Mud were just one of the best groups of all time all the songs are classics in their own right.Because of Mud i became heavily involved in music forming my own succesful band Speechless.THE early tracks like Hypnosis, Crazy, Dynamite and of course Tiger Feet are superb. this cd should be in everyones collection. A must buy,Thanks Mud for tons of great times and many more to come.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Disappointed with this collection. Currently collecting best of/greatest hits CDs of nostalgia music from days gone by; got this with other glam rock albums of the seventies but on giving it a play it was somewhat of a let down. Far from seventies glam rock it's very middle of the road. only the first few tracks are true hits and then not as exciting as the original 45 single versions, the other tracks are other songs they did, back then, that never really bothered the hit parade. Half of them are covers of other artists, Elvis, Cliff, the Beatles, the Ink Spots and others and no way anywhere near as good as the original. The overall sound is bland flat and without enthusiasm. Not how I remember Mud who after Slade and Sweet were one of the most exciting glam rockers of the early seventies commercial pop scene. I have the Mud Hits Collection Vinyl LP from the seventies and it's light years better than this pathetic offering. At one point while listening I checked the sleeve notes, to make sure this really was Mud and not some session groups cover version, the sleeve notes are just as disappointing; they tell you nothing but track tittles and registered release dates. This explains the cheapness of the price, had assumed it was because of the age of the recordings, which is more than likely but is also because these are other wise disregarded recording takes that would have otherwise been disposed of as better versions exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2005
A blast back to the rock era of the 70's from "dyna-mite" to "rocket" all the hit's are there. Can you remember dancing at the disco to "Tiger Feet" and doing all the action's. The one thing that was guaranted on any weekend was that every body would soon be up on there feet and dancing to "Mud"
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great CD packed full of classic tracks from the leaders of the late `70s rockabilly revival, Mud.

Track after track of feel good, foot tapping music, played with vigour and passion by a talented band, with some great vocal work.

This is an album of party classics, guaranteed to get any party going with a swing. Get it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
Well, even though I'm only 13 I own this CD myself.
All the track;'s on it are brilliant, the cover of 'The End Of The World almost being my favourite though I also adore the ariginal.
In my opinion, this CD is too short and lack's of the brilliant track's written later by Rob Davis and Ray Stiles, but it does include my all time favourite track, 'The Secrets That You Keep'
and I don't mind admiting I actually bought it on vinyl.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Apart from Tiger Feet and The cat crept in, I have to admit to being abit disappointed with this collection. The hits are good but some of their cover versions are below par, basically anything not written by chin & chapman! The recording itself seems to be somewhat lacking, as if the cd was made using cheap technology transferring the masters to compact. Must be a better collection than this?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.